We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Its hard to disagree with any of the previous reviews, as this hotel has it all in terms of excellent rooms, great food quality and quantity, with plenty of choice etc, an unbelievable amount of sunbeds around the 5 pools and a welcome change to the usual sun bed wars. Although a bit isolated its only an 8 minute bus ride into Kos Town and well worth the 2 euros but at least its nice and peaceful around the hotel at night. The entertainment as discussed in other reviews such as the "jersey Boys" and "il Divo" were as good as anything i have seen on these types of holidays, with il Divo on stage for 1 hr 35 mins and providing first class entertainment. Just a shame that there were a handful of inconsiderate guests who just wanted to sit and talk for most of the time. I wish we had been there this week to see the Drifters, Soul Sisters and the Beatles which by all accounts are also very good.. The staff work so hard and the hotel itself is really first class, with an impressive reception area, main staircase, and even more impressive floating lagoon restaurant. However, from our weeks holiday these are some observations which i will share. I believe that the hotel lets itself down with the price of the drinks which are vastly over priced in my opinion. 10 euros for two milk shakes around the pool is scandalous and equally 12 euros for a cocktail is just far too expensive. OK you are on holiday, but who enjoys being ripped off? Also the hotel management need to decide upon the "no shorts" ruling for gents during the evening meal. This is clearly listed in the brochure, web site, the menu outside the restaurant and at the welcome meeting, but not enforced by the hotel. Each night several guys were allowed entry in shorts and even a couple in "vests" which looked as though they had been worn during the day around the pool. I prefer to wear shorts at night but i am equally happy to wear long trousers in the restaurant and then slip into shorts later. On previous holidays i have seen people turned away and reappear 10 mins later correctly dressed. Its amazing how a guy can suddenly find a pair of long trousers when required to! Also as others have said whilst i am not the "child catcher", far too many little ones running all over in the restaurant and clear safety issues, as everyone including the less infirm struggle back to their table carrying hot food and drinks. I wonder what the attitude would be of the parents if any off spring were hurt by either being bumped into accidentally or had drinks dropped on them etc. My guess is that it would not be the kids fault! Some of the parents need to take more responsibility for their kids. Having said all of that i also have to say that it was on the whole the Brits who were more observant of the rules! Final observation, apparently all of Thomson guests are allowed free tea and coffee facilities in their rooms which is good, however we only found out this by chance on the final day and were forced into buying expensive coffees to take back to our room each day. The blame for this lies equally between Thomson and the hotel as we were not informed as we should have been both on checking in and at the welcome meeting the next day! None of the above is enough to prevent me from returning to this great hotel, but i would expect to see some of the points raised resolved by my next visit. So to the hotel management - do i need to bring long trousers, yes or no? As for the rooms we had 251 and had a long extended balcony and a good view over the top pool and across to Turkey. I would think twice about the bungalows as most of these whilst having their own sunbeds seemed to have large trees and bushes over their patios and didn't seem to get much sun, plus the usual cats etc wandering about. My room tip would be to go in the main building or higher up, although i did fancy the rooms with their own pool - maybe next time! In summary all of the reviews i have read are accurate and we had a great time, weather of course makes it but slightly disappointed that the lazy river was not in operation as this is one of the selling points in the brochure and we were looking forward to that. The WiFi was not great, but can't we survive without that for a week?

Room Tip: Go for the Main Building, not too far to walk to reception, bars, dining room etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Harle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas D, Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear "Harle 2011"

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay here at Grecotel Kos Imperial and your compliments on the overall operation. I was most disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your holiday had not met with your expectations and run as smoothly as you had wished and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

in refer to the entry on shorts at the restaurant i can assure you that dress code is valid and well kept at all restaurants at dinner. However this sometimes can be a headache especially when it comes to new arrivals which, on their first day, have not yet become familiar with the house rules and in this case we are a bit flexible in order not to create conflict with our guests from day one. We do understand your point and rest assure that we are doing whatever necessary to uphold the house rules.

In refer to the poor Wi-Fi connection, it is clearly stated on the website "Wi-Fi connection is available in public areas (lobby, pools) free of charge." however, this is something that we currently work on it and will be improved shortly.

At Grecotel we pride ourselves on excellent standards of service and hospitality therefore rest assured that all your comments have been discussed with the relevant departments of the hotel and that action has be taken as a result of your feedback.

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and to apologize for any dissatisfaction experienced. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that we offer quality holidays during a future visit either here at the Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso or any other of the Grecotel Hotels & Resorts in Greece.

Konstantinos Dendrinos
General Manager
Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2015

Hotel was just what we needed for a relaxing seaside holiday. Room was adequate comfortable and quiet with lovely views of the coast. The grounds were well maintained and plenty of room around the pools for everyone.i swam in the sea every day which was great, the beach is shingle so you will need water shoes to get in the water. The restaurant is roomy and food and service is excellent our waiter was EIRON he was really efficient and cheerful, he made our holiday special. The only complaint We have is...the brochure said 'the main pool is salt water' this led us to believe at least one of the others would be fresh water...all the pools are salt water. This was an issue for us as my husband cannot swim in saltwater.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel that goes into Kos town which is a very interesting place to visit with many restaurants and shops...

Room Tip: Ask for sea view it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas D, Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear "Claireoflynn"

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay here at Grecotel Kos Imperial. I was most disappointed to learn that certain aspect of your holiday had not met with your expectations and run as smoothly as you had wished and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

I must say that it took me by surprise reading that you were misinformed about the smimming pools. It is clearly stated on our website and the travel agencies brochures that all pools are with salt water except the children pool which is fresh water. Therefore i would kindly ask you to assist us and inform us on which brochure you read that as this is false and needs to be corrected.

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and to apologize for any dissatisfaction experienced. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that we offer quality holidays during a future visit either here at the Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso or any other of the Grecotel Hotels & Resorts in Greece.

Konstantinos Dendrinos
General Manager
Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

My husband and I have just returned home after a weeks holiday here and we had a wonderful break. The welcome was great with a surprise room upgrade, fresh fruit and chilled wine in the room on our arrival and a fun little buggy ride to the room with our cases! Without exceptions ALL the staff were extremely friendly and approachable and great at their jobs - a real testament to the hotels recruitment and training - I would love to pay special mention to Valerie who is a trainee waitress at the pool bar, it was her first week there and she made us feel so welcome and was super lovely.
The food was great, plentiful and delicious, a good choice of drinks too. I would highly recommend paying the extra for Premium Plus ( All Inclusive ) it makes life easier and its not limiting at all in terms of choice like some hotels.
The rooms were very clean, with a huge double bed and a good sized bathroom - we had a pool view bungalow room which had a lovely patio with padded chairs and also our own loungers. They provide all the fresh pool towels for you daily.
There is no shortage of pool loungers around all the lovely pools on the complex or the private beach.
The gardens and landscaping around the complex is beautiful, with some amazing plants and trees and exotic palms ( look out for the Gorillas!!) and they take great care of the every aspect of the complex, we saw gardeners and staff constantly working away ( again all with a smile and a hello as you pass them by)
As a couple we aren't big fans of cabaret style hotel entertainment but I thought that the singers were great ( the Three Tenors and the Jersey Boys) and when we wanted to avoid the entertainment we went to the stylish lobby bar for evening drinks instead!
So simply....if you need a relaxing stress free break if you are in a couple, or a family then I would recommend Grecotel Kos Imperial, it ticks all the right boxes and you wont be disappointed.
I wish I was back there now.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view lower level, but I suspect all are good anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This hotel is good for families, couples, friends,...for lazy vacation. Huge garden with well maintained pools which are never crowded; lot of parasoles and sun loungers. Great variety of food and every evening different type of menu (greek, asian,...). Animation team is excellent and my children enjoyed Grecoland mini club and teenage club. They realy make kids feel happy and amused all the time. Amazing. Service at bars and restaurants is good although sometimes slow. Downsides are slow wi-fi, available only in main parts of the hotel and not in the rooms; swimming pools cold in the morning; no tea and coffee making facilities in the room; furniture in the room is not 5 star quality; beach which is pebbles and stone; wind all the time.

Room Tip: We booked family bungalow with the garden view and got the room 701 which looks at another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jelena976976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We didn't expect this hotel to be so gorgeous - food is amazing as are the staff. the pools are great and the overall experience was just fab. We were a week here in June 2015. I can't stress enough how good the food is.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to the separated pool - it's calmer and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Can't really complain with this hotel, great hotel. Great rooms, great food. Can't remember the porters name although he was outstanding, really tall over 6ft is how I remember him. Great banter every evening. Romeos tavern opposite was a regular visit and he soon learned our regular drink. Cocktails are expensive in the hotel, can go into kos town and pay half the price. What we paid with Thomson it just kinda missed the wow factor.. Paradise beach is worth a visit and was nice to get away from the resort.. Done the volcano experience which I'll never forget although it stunk off egg so be prepared. Captain Hook island cruise was a laugh and also got to see Dolphins, You can book this with Thomson or go into Kos and you will see him docked up. Had a lovely holiday although it just seemed pretty pricey for half board and never had the wow factor about it. Lovely pools and beach, lovely rooms it just had something missing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We stayed 7 nights at this lovely hotel. Special mention for Christos and Spyros in the main restaurant as nothing was too much trouble for them. Always welcomed us with a smile. Fabulous room with a view of pool area. I can highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 578 had a lovel view of pool but limited sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
2.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
10 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#30 of 48 in Kos Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
7.5 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.8 km away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: C$157 - C$468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing