We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$812
View deal
Hotels.comUS$812
CheapTicketsUS$812
Orbitz.comUS$812
LHW.comUS$861
TravelocityUS$812
TripadvisorUS$812
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
2,406
176
55
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,406
176
55
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george v afternoon tea hawk walk once in a lifetime like royalty falconry school front gate boat tour bucket list drawing room lough corrib quiet man prince of wales turn down service heated floors the main dining room zip lining
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,753 - 1,758 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2016

We have been to Ashford a number of times over the years. It has always been an incredibly special place - the castle itself, the stunning location, the people who work there ... everything. These charms made it special even when it needed some attention in past years. Not having been there over the last four or five years, we took the opportunity to stay for a night when passing through the area this week with our teenagers.

Ashford has been given a whole new lease of life, it has been dramatically and lovingly restored. It feels like a totally new chapter for a fantastic hotel. Our rooms were excellent - dramatic and rich decor and great facilities really suit this historic building - and the staff seem massively enthused by the huge sense of change and renewal. The food was very good, the cinema was great for late teens (and parents). Everything is top tier. The Red Carnation Group has taken Ashford to an entirely new level - it is really excellent. We will be going back for a longer stay soon.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016

just back from staying two nights at ashford castle what a wonderful time we haded the rooms we lovely the staff was just fab everyone haded time to talk to you it has the best feel good factor about the hole place each morning the dogs came to the castle which was just great afternoon tea was the best a have ever haded it is wonderful food in the castle is just great can't wait to go back

Room tip: rooms looking over the front of the hotel so you see the lough
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J24265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

Visited Ashford castle for my birthday... Just loved it. It is just magical. Staff so friendly and accommodating in everyway. The afternoon tea was one of the high lights beautiful room.. Beautiful sandwiches scones and desserts. Even though it is a big castle it still feels very cosy and comfortable. The bed was very nice but a bit on the short side for my partner! Only slightly disappointed with dinner in the dungeon it didn't live up to my expectations as regards quality and flavour. My starter was bland and my main which was monkfish was very over cooked. Breakfast was the best I have ever had the choice and service was excellent. Will be back again !! Better start saving....

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emo-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016

The castle is quite exceptional, the rooms are beautiful and the dinner service is brilliant.I do have a few small criticisms and only put them forward for the hotel to improve...these issues have been discussed directly with the hotel.
We stayed as a group of 6 in 3 different rooms, while each room was amazingly opulent one room had heating issues that the hotel tried to rectify. The issue was not fixable but the decision to offer a room change was not made until very late at night and one guest was awoken to move rooms. It was noted that Sherry was available in the rooms but only 2 of the 3 rooms had been stocked and one of our party asked for sherry to be delivered to the 3rd room....it never arrived.Breakfast service was the biggest let down with this hotel, the food on the buffet was exceptional but the cooked to order meals left some room for improvement. The service level was below par especially considering the high standard at dinner .
While these small things were noticeable in no way do I feel that they ruined the overall experience. If you are looking for an amazing fairy tale experience book yourself a beautiful room at the castle.

Room tip: Pay a little more for the mid level rooms in the historic parts of the castle
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jakamoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

We have wanted to spend a few nights at Ashford Castle for a long time now but due to busy lives have not been able to arrange it. However last February we finally managed to spend two nights at the Castle and we had a really lovely break.
We enjoy old historic buildings, long walks and great food so we were in the right place.
The hotel is really beautiful. Old and creaky in places but meticulously decorated and with every modern convenience you may require. Full of charm. The staff are absolutely superb!
The grounds are really lovely and there are lots of interesting short and long walks in the area.
The food was five star! We enjoyed afternoon tea, a real treat!
Dinner in the dungeon was great and dinner in the George V restaurant was as good as it gets! For me the breakfasts were just magnificent!
Overall we loved our stay, well worth waiting for, and we are already looking forward to our next stay!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JRaphaelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews