We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable dinner!”
Review of Pat Cohan’s Bar

Pat Cohan’s Bar
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pat Cohan's Gastropub as featured in the 1952 Classic Movie " The Quiet Man". Restaurant committed to using fresh local produce from artisan suppliers crafted by our chef. Wholesome Irish Food. Full bar menu, fine wines & crafts beers. Open 7 days for Lunch, Dinner Friday Saturday & Sundays. Groups bookings parties , weddings, corporate etc available on request.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our small family (two adults, two children) had the pleasure of being the first booking for the 2018 season of this charming historic restaurant in Cong. Peter took great care of us during our visit, and the food was absolutely delicious. The portions were very generous, and everything was cooked perfectly. My husband had the lamb shank and I had the supreme of chicken. The children had chicken goujons - surprisingly tasty for a children's menu item! We also had vegetables on the side, which everyone enjoyed. The staff was very attentive, and we loved being able to experience this famous Quiet Man location. Thanks for a terrific evening!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Patricia_Mora_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatCohans, Manager at Pat Cohan’s Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Patricia,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are delighted to read that our very first 2018 patrons did enjoyed their experience with us! There's nothing more satisfactory than to read the start of a new year of business was a success!

I will take this opportunity to personally thank you for your kind words in regards of service provided during your dinning with us. We all do our best to provide the best service in the area and we are so happy to read that it all worked well.

I will pass on the comments to our team and I can assure you from now they will be above the skies to get such a lovely feedback in regards of their first day at work.

We are waiting for your returning at Pat Cohan's on your next visit to Cong and hope it will be very soon!

Again, thank you very much for your time to review us!

Kind regards,
Peter Tanase.

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 563 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

We showed up at the spur of the moment and it only went uphill from there. Our server took tremendous care of us from beginning to end. We had the salmon and the lamb and it was fabulous. The homemade vegetable soup was to die for. We had the dessert sampler plate and all of it was delicious. It had a very at home atmosphere and we stayed long past finishing our meal. We even made friends with other guests in the restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank rangelcruz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatCohans, Manager at Pat Cohan’s Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear RangelCruz,

Thank you so much for your time to review our Restaurant.

It is with pleasure to read that your entire experience with us was a lovely one!

We are glad that you liked the atmosphere created in the restaurant as we are working very hard to keep it friendly, cozy and relaxed for all our patrons. Is very important for us to make sure our customers enjoy their time here at Pat Cohan's and they will come back for some more.

Thank you for your lovely feedback in regards of service, as well. We are happy to read that you've been well looked after by our friendly and professional team.

Again, thank you so much for reviewing us and we are looking forward to welcome you again here at Pat Cohan's!

Kind regards,
Peter Tanase.

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

This is an amazing place and a great location to fully appreciate Irish hospitality. The food was excellent and the staff did a wonderful job handling our large group. Thank you also to Peter for his graciousness and to Sharon for her excellent communication regarding reservations etc. Loved it and hope we can return one day soon.

.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GailG532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatCohans, Manager at Pat Cohan’s Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Gail,

Thank you so much for your lovely words about our Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you consider Pat Cohan's a place to fully appreciate our hospitality. It means a lot to us and we are so happy to get such a nice compliment!

There's nothing to much to handle for us in regards of service and quality provided and we do take pride in this!

Thank you personally for your comments in regards of the service and attentiveness provided by myself and the Staff during your dinner. As well as a big thank you for your comments from Sharon. She was very happy to read your review as well!

Again, thank you so much for your time to review our restaurant and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Pat Cohan's in the a not to distant future!

Kind regards,
Peter Tanase.

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Was there only last night for meal, fabulous atmosphere, nice, warm and pleasant. Very attentive service at the start but went down hill fast.
Food was.. Good, not fantastic, I had supreme of chicken and chips on the side(which were never brought out)
Chicken was overcooked.
Decided to have dessert ask for menu, after 10/12 minutes finally got menu(restaurant was not very busy)
Ordered dessert with coffees, eventually got the coffee, but no dessert then after some wondering looks got served.
Paid, left and will not return

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatCohans, Manager at Pat Cohan’s Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Rob,

Thank you for your time to review our restaurant.

Firstly let me say that I am happy to read that the atmosphere in the restaurant was fabulous as we continuously work to improve it as much as we can.

I am sad to read the service was great at the start but went down hill after that, as this does not reflect our usual service standards, as you can read from other reviewers comments. In regards of the food quality, we always encourage our patrons to let us know immediately if any of the dishes are not to their liking so we can rectify it straight away. Our target is always the satisfaction level of our patrons therefor we do take on board every feedback and we do our best to improve even more in all aspects.

I will be more than happy if on your next visit to Cong you will reconsider your position and you will visit us again in order to avail of our usual high service and food quality standards that we are very proud of.

On your next visit, feel free to contact me directly via e-mail at managerpatcohans@gmail.com and I will make sure to look after you personally.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Pat Cohan's.

Kind regards,
Peter Tanase.

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We had 14 of us for a special dinner 2 nights ago to celebrate our last night at the Ashford Castle and our last night of our Ireland trip. The staff was terrific -- warm, friendly and attentive. The owner was such a character, and he took excellent care of us that evening. He even drove my parents back to the Castle personally so they didn't have to walk! The food was memorable -- excellent with almost too-big portions. It was some of the best fish and chips I've had anywhere, and perhaps the best brownie ever. If your travels take you to Cong or nearby, you have to visit Pat Cohan's for its "Quiet Man" history, the great food, and authentic Irish hospitality.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatCohans, Manager at Pat Cohan’s Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Scott,

We are all delighted to the Moon and back by your lovely feedback!

We cannot express more our gratitude for your time to write such a nice review. It means a lot to all of us, here at Pat Cohan's.

I would like to personally thank you for your comments in regards of the service provided by myself and the team here.

Just a little mention that I am not the Owner of Pat Cohan's but I can guarantee that if the Owner were there she will have done the same things that we've done to make sure your experience with us will be a memorable one. All staff are doing their best and go the extra mile to provide the Pat Cohan's quality and professionalism. I am very happy to see that our guests enjoy our service and food quality as this is our main target.

I will take this opportunity to thank you again for your time to write the review and of course to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter Tanase.

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pat Cohan’s Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pat Cohan’s Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing