We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange company policy?”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Checked in on Sat 2nd Dec 2017 at 11.15 after a long gruelling day and an evening meal at a nearby establishment. Because of driving commitments we were relieved to check in drop off our bags and treat ourselves to a well earned drink. Iwas told at the bar that the bar had stopped serving although there was people still clearly sat at tables with unfinished drinks.I explained that we had checked in as residents but appeared to make no difference at all. It was explained away as 'company policy'
\
Please please management of the Talardy, I have stayed in far smaller hosteleries than your establishmentand even a few bigger and everyone to a point has extended the licencing hours to cater for the late arrivals/residents. Company policy doesnt cut it with me so I will be taking my business to places that will cater for late arrivals

Such a shame as the hotel looked really nice

Room Tip: Do not get the family room on the ground floor corner towards the A55 if you like fresh air from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback although I am sorry that our licensed serving hours did not suit your personal requirements and that you say this would prevent you staying with us in the future, especially when you thought the hotel was was otherwise really nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Myself and three colleagues had a great stay - nice range of food, good wifi in our rooms. The staff were particularly helpful in arranging our transport for the next morning - there were no taxis available to take us to the business park so one of the staff (Andy) took us in his own car - really kind of him as we would have had to walk, with all our luggage, otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your stay and I am so pleased that you felt you were well looked after by our team. I shall pass on your gratitude to Andy and we hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Welcomed by lovely staff but on getting into our room was disappointing we had two 2ft 6 beds instead of two normal 3ft such a shame as the room was lovely and clean and plenty of room for normal beds ,only thing shower curtains are a no no .
The staff are wonderful ! meal at night was lovely and breakfast was average

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the bed size and that you are not a fan of shower curtians, I am however pleased that you found your room to be lovely and clean, that you enjoyed your evening meal and thought our team members were wonderful. I hope you will come and join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Had a one night stay here and the room was spotless.it had everything we needed
The staff we all helpful polite and very warm welcoming
Everything was explained to us
Security was also excellent
We would defo recommend and use again
Also a great value breakfast

All in all a very happy stay and we weren’t rushed or pushed to check out

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you so much for your recommendation and fabulous comments which I shall naturally share with the rest of the team - they will be as delighted as I am, that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we hope you will come and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a family get together.Service was good.Meals reasonably priced and ok (usual pub grub).Really friendly staff.We stayed in the new building apart from the main pub and hotel.Room was clean if basic for the cost (no separate shampoo or conditioner).
Unfortunately it seemed the heating in the room wasn’t working and the windows aren’t very thick so we could hear the traffic on the main road.There was no hot water in our room and despite checking in as a couple there was only one towel.This wouldn’t be so bad but there was no phone in the room so you couldn’t notify reception.All in all could do much better!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback although I am sorry to hear that our hotel facilities did not meet your requirements. I was disappointed to read that you had a problem with your heating and water and that you were lacking a towel, we would have rectified this for you immediately had you brought it to our attention at the time. We have an intercom system in the foyer of our hotel annexe and we have someone on duty 24/7 - apologies if this was not explained properly to you on check in. I am however pleased that you found your room to be clean and that you enjoyed the food and service you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Stayed one night at the Talady and was very impressed. Check in was swift and we were allocated room 108 in the block adjacent to the main building. The room was spotless and modern. The bed was superb one of the best i have ever slept in .Tea/coffee and biscuits available also. I must be honest though i had a poor nights sleep because the hotel is alongside the main road namely the A55 and being a light sleeper i was kept awake by the traffic noise. The windows are double glazed but the noise still kept me up. We also had an evening meal and breakfast both excellent although my good lady had to send her cooked breakfast back as it was not very warm. Replaced with apologies so no issue. Staff friendly and efficient. Still marked hotel excellent as traffic noise is out of hotels control . Would probably return armed with ear plugs and have a few beers to block out the noise. NB. im probably old fashioned but if i was the manager all staff wound not be able to wear jeans and trainers to work very unproffessional.Staff looked scruffyBlack. Trousers and shoes would be much better.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room totry and avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbb1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay with us - I am delighted that you felt you had a 5 star experience inspite of the few little issues you mentioned and I hope you do come and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Fantastic freshly cooked meals, good choice on the menu. When our meals arrived they were well presented on the plate making them look very nice. The staff were very friendly. The restaurant was clean & tidy.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wyn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for your brilliant review. We are so happy that you had such a positive dining experience. The team ae so focused on delivering a great customer experience and will be delighted to have once again met high expectations. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
2 km away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
574 reviews
7.3 km away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
660 reviews
17.5 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
8.7 km away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe with the option of adding a delicious continental or freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St Asaph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing