We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coco Bongo(Bahia de Caraquez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saiananda(Bahia de Caraquez)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cerro Seco(Bahia de Caraquez)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Xanadu(Bahia de Caraquez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Buenavista Place Hotel(Bahia de Caraquez)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmazul Hotel & Spa(San Clemente)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
80
23
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
23
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstained glasswonderful hotelswimming poolnice placefacilitiesdockcourttennismangroveswoodfurniturebahia
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 111 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We've been to Casa Ceibo for 1 day and night and this was a very good stay.
Nice and clean pool much things to do and great food.
Only one thing for improvement is: no one speaks english, most guests are foreigners......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankBastiaansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I travel all around Ecuador providing tours and bringing people to the best places in Ecuador. I will not be returning to Casa Ceibo. Due to a lack of communication we arrived with our dog - a very well trained dog that travels around Ecuador wherever we go. We stay in many very nice places and have never had a problem. We were surprised to arrive and be told that she was not welcome - but not in a pleasant way or polite way. Instead of being polite and offering a solution - we had fingers waved in front of us and we were spoken to like criminals. We had just brought 8 people to the hotel to stay for 2 nights, a revenue for them of over $4000. Its not just that they have an inflexible rule - its the way they handle themselves that was very disappointing. They acted as if they would have been pleased to see us kill the dog on site to prevent any problems with their management. The employees behave as if they are trained only to obey rules - not to think for themselves. Its a soul-less experience, to say the least!

We left the place feeling rather cheated and poorly treated plus completely eaten alive by the mosquitoes. The place is basically built in a very poor, run down area of Bahia (not on the beach) and surrounded by swamps. Very little is done to control the mosquito population and getting a night's sleep is very difficult as they fly in under the doors and get you while sleeping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Court593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaCeibo, Propietario at Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

The guests writing the review visited Casa Ceibo a week before their stay for an inspection as they are trip leaders or the organizers of the trips, that day they brought a dog with them and we told that we do not take pets, they didn't like that. Since they where very rude about it, we contacted the travel agency that they used to book their stay and also told them that please make sure they don't bring the dog for their stay.
A week later they come with the group, and they BRING THE DOG! No miscommunication there.
We could have the police there taking the dog out, but not to disturb our other guests and their own passengers, we let them stay with the dog.
We are located in a beautiful mangrove area in the estuary of the Chone River which is a Ramsar protected area, and we have wild iguanas, little mammals and more than 100 species of birds around the property, so we don't take pets for that and other reasons. (and yes you can call it a swamp )
We are very proud of our location.
There are mosquitoes all along the tropics and more during the rainy season, we fumigate the entire property at peak hours 6 am and 6 pm. And recommend repellent if you are outside during those hours. When you have a dog in you room and sleeps with the outside door open theres is not much we can do.
We don't think this is a fair review.
Please read others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's unusual because the hotel and its facilities are enclosed away from the water but it does have a private pier that extends into the river --along with kayaks, boat trips, etc. Excellent water birds. Beautiful garden, pleasant pool though it could be bigger and cooler. Recommend large, high-ceilinged room on the upper floor facing the pool terraces.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Casa Ceibo is truly a top-class boutique resort; a rare gem in the Ecuadorean coast. The resort is located in the outskirts of Bahia on the river banks along wild mangroves. It's not a beachfront property. That being said the local beach is 10 mins away and Canoa beach 20 mins. The property is gorgeous with quality furnishing and tasteful, modern decor. The service level is extremely high. The attention to detail is excellent on some aspects but poor in others.

Excellent
- jazz music and ambient lighting upon check-in (I suggest they do this upon turn down service)
- nice DVD rental selection

Poor
- despite a gorgeous pool it was infested with bugs. I'm talking thousands! I've never seen anything like it. We had to ask the hotel to sweep clean the pool with a net and only then did they do it. The next day it was the same. Honestly this is a small but very important detail.
- the coffee station served horrible cold coffee brewed many hours earlier. Another easy fix.
- the menu for lunch was great but for dinner lacked variety of manabita food. Breakfast was a total bore! how would you like your eggs? no variety at all. Hotel La Piedra offers a better menu.
- no questionnaire to ask for feedback. A missed opportunity
- no fresh beach towels every day nor fresh water in room


In all quick easy fixes to get a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This Hotel is located in a small town called Bahia de Caraqez in Ecuador . From the moment you enter the Hotel you feel welcome, The hotel is about 8 kilometers from dowton Bahia y soen't have a beach, but the facilities, the pool, the rooms and the personal are first class.
I spent the end of the year, and beginning of new year at the Hotel, and every moment I was at the Hotel I felt the people treat as I was the most import guest, .The people of the Hotel did the same for other guests. If by ac hance you want to spent 2 or 3 days and completly relax please visit the Hotel. food was very good, and with my family we had a wonderful time

Room Tip: If you want a nice room please ask for the suites, but any room will be good there are only 18 rooms , i.e is a Boutique Hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews