We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Joe Bloggs - CLOSED

Joe Bloggs
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Thai Tum at The Wharf is housed in a Grade 2 listed building on the River Parrett. A large restored wharf-side building with seating for up to 80 and a beautiful lakeside terrace.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Thai Tum is a real bonus to the small town of Langport. I have now eaten there twice and the food was excellent on each occasion. The owner guided us through the menu and suggested a set meal as we were a large group.

The food was tasty and there was plenty of it too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The lovely setting by the river the barn is very welcoming we popped over on speck they kept kitchen open for us ,wednesday night at 8.30pm a quite night ( floods may have put a stop to people traveling) we were the only two customers dining.

The waiter was very helpful explaining the menu, the starter was not good rock hard battered veg parcels we did tell both waiter and manager even banging one on the table to show just how hard they were and when I smashed one open the batter was so thick it was totally uneatable and was left on plate ( we had reduction of half price for them!) I decided to have a chicken dish which was fresh and delicate the jasmine rice one pot between two was quite enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 227jenny555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiTum, Owner at Joe Bloggs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

So sorry the Thung Thong were not to your liking. I recall that we did have some difficulty finding dishes on the menu that would fit around the many items that you were not fond of eating. If you ever decide to eat with us again please do talk to me personally in advance when booking and I will discuss with my wife and try and create some special dishes that may be more suitable to your very specific tastes.
As a side note we were happy to oblige you with a discount as you only ate half the Thung Thong but this dish was served to you as intended; curried vegetables in a crunchy pastry shell. Clearly your reference to 'batter" in your review illustrates your confusion. This is a Thai style, deep fried pastry version of a popular Thai hawker dish, not a tempura style batter. The menu description does not mention batter. They are one of the most popular of our Hawker dishes and while they may not be to everyone's taste that does not necessarily mean that they are inferior, or "not good", merely not to your taste or not what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not many restaurants in Langport worth seeking out but this one is, Good food from a wide and varied menu and friendly attentive service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MTFTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Another great meal at the Thai Tum. We had a lovely relaxed meal with very helpful attentive service and a great bottle of wine! The restaurant seems to adapt to whatever the occasion, whether celebrating, dining with friends or having a meeting over food; I think this is down to the fact that the tables are well spaced and the atmosphere is cosy and relaxed. Thanks for a being consistently enjoyable treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OurFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiTum, Owner at Joe Bloggs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thanks for the great review - much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We really enjoyed our banquet meal. The atmosphere was very nice and relaxed and we were helped to choose from the menu.
Some of the dishes were a bit too hot for the younger members of the group but I think we can ask next time for some of the milder dishes. And we will definitely be returning soon I hope!

Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiTum, Owner at Joe Bloggs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Glad you enjoyed your evening. Certainly we can help with less spicy dishes for the kids. In Thailand children will usually eat dishes such as satay, crabcakes, pad Thai and masman curry until they are old enough to try more spicy dishes. Just talk to me next time you come in and we will make sure we don't blow their little socks off!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe Bloggs also viewed

 
Langport, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing