We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only - excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week. We had a long drive to Malpensa and an early flight. I am an incredibly fussy traveller and I make no apologies for that - the bottom line is I want a clean, quiet place to sleep. If you need a bed at the airport, and you want value for money, I would thoroughly recommend the Holiday Inn Express. Ok - the reception area is about as sterile and unwelcoming as you can get but the staff are efficient and friendly enough. Don't expect any extras here but our room was spacious, immaculately clean with the bonus of good quality bed linen and totally sound-proofed. The bathroom was perfectly adequate and, once again, extremely clean. I would definitely stay here again - one night before an early flight or after a late flight - excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this nice hotel before catching a flight back to USA. It is conveniently located near the airport and has a prompt shuttle bus that services the terminals and runs twice an hour. The room was small but very clean and with a comfortable bed. It had a very modern shower in a good sized bathroom. The staff was most friendly. While it does not have a full restaurant, we were able to order a mini-dinner from a limited menu. it tasted very good and was more than adequate. A full size restaurant is available in a nearby hotel. The breakfast was good.
If pasing through Malpensa, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commodoreaustintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

OK, this hotel is a short shuttle bus or mini bus ride from Milan Malpensa airport. You have two option of getting to and from the airport terminals. Firstly, you have the big shuttle bus that goes near the hotel. If you use this service, you have to ring the bell on the us and get off at the nearest stop on the main road near the hotel. The location of the bus stop is 'Case Nuove'. From there, it is a short five minute walk to the hotel (which you can see from the main road). This big shuttle bus is very convenient, as the stop is just outside of the terminal building and it runs continuously. Secondly, you have the 'custom' hotel minibus. You can call the hotel on arrival at the terminal and they will give you an approximate time when the minibus will pick you up. This minibus drops you off directly outside the hotel, so no walking necessary.

Check in at the hotel was smooth. Although I do speak Italian, the eastern european receptionist was multilingual and spoke very good Italian and English.

The room that I had was on the 2nd floor and had a nice king size bed. As with all Holiday Inns, you have a choice of firm or soft pillow. They are even marked up for you, so you know which one is which. The wardrobe area had plenty of clothes hanging space and the room lighting options were adequate. The room, bathroom and shower area were all clean enough.

The night that I stayed at this hotel, the pizza restaurant in the local village nearby was closed, so I had to have my evening meal at a restaurant attached to a small hotel in the village. I wasn't sure what to expect as this was what Italians would call a 'locale'. However, I was pleasantly surprised as the main course salad that I ordered was superb. One word of warning. The nearby village looks a little run down, so may appear unsafe to certain travellers (especially in the dark). However, don't let this put you off.

Breakfast at the hotel the next day was equally as good. All the usual continental food choices, plus warm bacon and scrambled eggs, if you wanted it.

Wifi was not free at this hotel. However, I was able to obtain free wifi by joining the Holiday Inn Priority Club rewards scheme on the premises. Just a little trade off.

The bottom line is that I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near a lift, as the lift makes a beeping noise everytime it stops on your floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soloman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stopped here to be ready for an early departure from Malpensa airport.
Prompt shuttle bus service and freindly staff.
Decend size clean rooms and very good bed.
Lovely local restaurant nearby (a good reason to choose).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nothing really to write home about - nice, clean and near airport

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I'm not a huge fan of hotels like this (mid-level chain hotels near major airports in Europe). The rooms are incredibly basic and I think you even have to pay to watch TV (fortunately, I didn't spend much time inside the room). There is next to nothing around this hotel except, of course, for Malpensa airport. Therefore, if you have an early flight, this could be a good option. Because of my schedule, I chose to eat dinner at the hotel and I was surprised by the quality and affordability of the meal - just goes to show that you have to do something really wrong to have a bad meal in Italy. I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is the second time I stay in this hotel. Very nice room bigger than the usual holiday inn express rooms . Very nice and clean bathroom. Good breakfast. Big free parking. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menashebarnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
1.4 km away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,473 reviews
0.5 km away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,210 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#4 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
958 reviews
3.8 km away
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing