We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seems to be improving since spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“seems to be improving since spring”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

we stay every few months as we go through Malpensa with early flights. Last spring we had a horrible experience with the hotel and thought the place was going downhill in a hurry... we complained and it seems someone must have been listening. Much better this time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-and-s-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    295
    180
    58
    42
See reviews for
74
240
59
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed one night before flying out the following morning. The Staff were fantastic, very friendly with great service. We stayed in the quiet area in the hotel and loved the little extras to get to sleep (Aromatherapy sprays etc) It was relaxing before having to sit on an Aircraft for hours. The beds were so comfortable we sank into it before blissfully falling asleep. We were really impressed with the whole experience.
We will book this hotel again next time we go to Italy. Thanks Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The non-smoking floor room we had was modern, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Malpensa Airport and includes shuttle service to and from the airport. The hotel restaurant is good, prices were typical of airport restaurants, with excellent service. The bar is fine but the table service was infrequent and snacks were mediocre. Lots of tour groups seem to stay there so there were large waves of travelers coming and going.

Room Tip: For non-smokers, specify a non-smoking room/floor. I could smell the cigarette smoke BEFORE we open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We routinely go back and forth from Florence, Italy to South Florida. This last trip about l week ago (0l December) we took the 2pm train directly from Florence (eurostar) and 1 3/4 hours later you arrive in Milan....but STAY on the train and in about 35 minutes you arrive directly at Malpensa airport. It is a very convenient and fast way to go. You actually see the Sheraton there, but we opted for the Crown Plaza having stayed a few years ago ...decided to re-try and it is still a winner. The price for the quality of the room is excellent. Many business people, but also airline people. Food is not terrific, but certainly not bad either. Service is pleasant. Our only complaint...those hard pillows! Anyway, we called directly from the terminal and in 5 minutes they come and get you and in the morning there is a free shuttle back to the airport. Breakfast was included and internet, but we have no status with Intercontinental, we just booked a straight rate from the site. About 110 euros including tax, which is an excellent rate. We are staying there again in about l month. Rooms are quiet, very, very clean and the general area is farm like, although in reality it is a small village not far from the airport. We would recommend anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here upon recommendation from colleagues in Italy. Nice hotel, but overpriced. The services is great, but the hotel itself is priced 100 euros per night more than other hotels of equal caliber. Great service, great atmosphere, but not enough better to justify the price. They are on the right track, but need to reconsider the price points. As far as service, I can't say enough nice things about the staff. The staff is fabulous from check-in throughout the whole experience. A very good trip, just not priced competitively.

Room Tip: Definitely want to book the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
470 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed one night in September after arriving late in the evening. Arrived outside the airport at the appropriate bus stop to see the hotel shuttle just about to leave and as it was full settled down for a half hour wait. To our surprise however it returned about 10 minutes later. It drops off and picks up at 2 hotels.
Check-in/check-out was smooth and efficient.
Room and bathroom were both fairly large and comfortable and there was no aircraft noise. Room had a safe but internet/wifi was expensive. We did however discover that if you bought a drink at the bar they gave you free wifi for an hour, albeit it was somewhat slow.
Also slow was the service in the bar, we had to ask at reception for someone to come and then still waited about 5 minutes.
Breakfast was a reasonably ordinary buffet and the two staff on duty were not all that helpful.
Shuttle service back to the airport was again timely and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear westy54,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I am happy to know that the room was satisfactory for you. I am concerned about the service you received at the bar and during breakfast. Your concerns will be relayed to our staff. We do strive to achieve excellence and the feedback we receive helps us to determine what areas we need to work on. So again I thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Nice Hotel , about 1 mile from the Malpensa Airport . I was to travel to Genoa the next morning and arrived into Milan after a long flight . The Hotel has cosy sound proof rooms and a good Resturant serving mainly the Italian Cuisine . It provides a free Shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes . The Breakfast is also fairly widespread with great choices .
The hotel also provides Bycycles for rent in case required . Since i am an Accor member it also provided me with free internet acess .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.7 km away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 km away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.6 km away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
5.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Address: Case Nuove Via Arturo Ferrarin 7, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport, an upscale 4 star superior hotel located just 2 minutes away from Milan Malpensa International Airport. Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle running to/from Terminal 1 on a scheduled basis and Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively, the airport offers a 24hr free shuttle service between the two Terminals with a bus stop just 500m from the hotel. Choose one of our contemporary and elegant rooms and stay connected with your family and colleagues using Wireless and Wired internet connection. If you need to work while dining either in our bar or restaurant, Wi-Fi connection will be on us! Treat yourself to a mouth watering Italian meal in our restaurant La Brughiera , recently awarded the Food & Beverage Excellence prize for 2008. The bar I Celti with its variety of snacks, healthy options and international drinks, represents the perfect place to do business or to enjoy moments of relax. After a tiring working day or before a long flight why not to unwind or exercise in our complimentary Health & Fitness Centre featuring cardio-fitness circuit, sauna and Turkish bath. Whether looking for a breakout room for interviews or a location for your next annual conference Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel boasts a modern conference centre equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing