We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
185
135
22
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
135
22
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutside pationice hotelrooms are spaciousde loshillcoloresvillagemountainsloungereceptionisthumahuaca
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 349 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is exceptional ! Located in Purmamarca with a fabulous of the colorful rock formations, we felt as if we were the guests of the Marquis himself ! The porperty is beautiful. Very elegant , warm and comfortable. I had booked a "standard " room which had twin beds and was on the lower level. We were disappointed that we did not have a double bed, but Fernando, the most obliging manager offered to move us the next day. so, we moved to a beautiful room with great views and a large King sized bed. It was actually a superior category room, but we were not charged any extra.
Breakfast was very good . I'll let the pictures speak for themselves !

Room Tip: Spring for a superior room facing the rock formations
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent several nights here. Were met at check-in by a very unfriendly woman at the front desk (who seemed to think all the restaurants were closed at 2:15pm, which we found when walking around 15 minutes later to be completely wrong - every restaurant we saw was open). The rooms are all along a sunken corridor off the 'living room'. Sunken means that they were all below ground level and when looking out the window street level is eye level for guests. Not safe to open windows and the rooms (we had 2) had a musty smell. They did not do a good job in designing the door knobs - they did not turn so it was impossible to close the door quietly - a hard pull was necessary with a loud bang as the result. Multiply this times the 10 rooms in the morning and it was not quiet at all.

Switched to a superior room (#9, but also #10 across the hall might be a superior as well) the 2nd night and had a better experience. These two rooms are up a staircase and just off the small (shared by all) balcony one can see in the pictures. #9 had some view of the mountains and was much much larger with a non-functioning but very large jacuzzi. Management could not fix it in the 3 days we were there. Nice large-screen TV with Directv for those interested (small boxy, old TVs in standard rooms).

Breakfast was standard Argentine fair, nothing 'special' about it. The pool area was small but well done. The pool itself dirty but well heated which is necessary even in summer. The biggest advantage was it being in Purmamarca itself so it was easier to just pop back in after walking around, but overall I would prefer one of the hotels along the main road where we've stayed before.

I tried to make a reservation via email before traveling but couldn't. Had to have a contact in Argentina call to make the reservation for me. None of my email inquiries were ever answered.

Room Tip: Skip this choice unless booking a superior room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpcvx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Purmamarca was one of our favourite places in Northwestern Argentina. The village is pictursque in an incredible setting. We had no reservation and our first choice was Marquis de Toyo, despite the fact that the hotel had no available rooms over the internet. We arrived and met Fernando who was incredibly nice and helpful. We learned that few rooms are given to internet sites, so they have plenty more to rent (tip: contact directly hotel if room is not available through internet). The hotel is very nice, in perfect condition, rooms are spacious, nice decorated, very comfy beds, and quiet. The hotel is just a few blocks from the center of the village, which is very convenient (this is why we preferred this hotel over La Comarca, which is also very nice, in a beautiful and quiet setting, but 2 klms out of the village). In fact we returned to the hotel for a further night, after visiting Iruya. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good (be careful when giving instructions on how you want your steak to be cooked; in Argentina they tend to cook it always well done). Breakfast was also good. In general one of the best hotels we stayed in Argentina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirius99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Muy lindo hotel, habitación amplia, muy bien ubicado en la muy hermosa Purmamarca. El personal muy agradable.
Very nice hotel, big room, very well located in the very beautifull Purmamarca. Very warm personell.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A lovely place to stay in Purmamarca. Very new, nice service, big rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews