We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Marques de Tojo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marques de Tojo
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Purmamarca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2014

The interior is maybe a bit conventional and as such not really "boutique", but the hotel is reasonably new, very clean, and comfy; the location is not exaclty in the centre of the village (which in any case only takes 5 minutes to cross...), so a bit quieter. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the courtyard is nice to chill out in the afternoon (the roof terrace tends to be too windy for that). The most pleasant surprise was the food: dinner was less costly than in the other restaurants in town, and of really good quality - a very pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: All rooms have windows to the street, so there isn't really a difference - you get to choose bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KasoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the most unusual I've stayed at. However the rooms are large, the staff are friendly and helpful and we had a terrific view from our room. Breakfast in the dining room was very enjoyable.The only issue we had was with the air conditioner which didn't seem very effective. Nevertheless we recommend this hotel as part of an unforgettable stay in Purmamarca.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blakemanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This hotel is great for couples or families. Nice pool and located inside the small town. Quiet street with self parking right in front. Clean rooms and large baths. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Very friendly staff, very good location within the village. Don't forget to have a drink on the roof terrace, it has got beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Spacious rooms and a quiet location.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This a nice hotel, very clean and comfortable. Our room was big and the en-suite was clean and large too. We ate here on one night and the food was pretty good although a little expensive. The views from the terrace are great and location is perfect for visiting Purmamarca and getting out into the surrounding mountains. The one issue we had was that we left a passport behind here and the hotel really weren't very helpful in locating it for us and helping us out in a bit of a difficult situation. Our fault of course but the customer service slipped a bit once we weren't there anymore.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just spent one night in the picturesque village of Purmamarca. This hotel is well located near the centre, and the lobby & breakfast area are nice. Reception staff very pleasant & helpful. The rooms are fine; quite basic furniture, style bit old-fashioned, Wi-Fi not great though bathroom quite spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeTY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Purmamarca has a handful of gorgeous boutique options, so do your homework and find one that meets your interests. This one is on the town side of the major road (rather small at any rate) as opposed to the few that were separated out and had a bit more wandering room in their courtyards. If I went back I would consider another option, except for the fact that we barreled in with three toddlers and the staff bent over backwards to meet our demands, including late check-out, room service, and allowing us to commandeer the entire downstairs to keep the kids from bothering the other guests – they even delivered our food down there! The hotel is small and beautiful with a front-row view of the Cerro de Los Siete Colores.

Room Tip: The rooms were very hot. Not sure what you can do about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purmamarca
0.1 km away
Colores de Purmamarca
Colores de Purmamarca
#1 of 10 in Purmamarca
304 reviews
1.9 km away
Mirador del Virrey, Cabanas Boutique
0.7 km away
Hotel La Comarca
Hotel La Comarca
#4 of 10 in Purmamarca
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Huaira Huasi
Huaira Huasi
#2 of 10 in Purmamarca
337 reviews
21.0 km away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
260 reviews
0.5 km away
El Manantial del Silencio
El Manantial del Silencio
#5 of 10 in Purmamarca
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques de Tojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques de Tojo

Address: Santa Rosa 4, Purmamarca 4618, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Purmamarca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Purmamarca
Price Range: $125 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marques de Tojo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Marqués de Tojo you can go back to the past, enjoy the present, and feel the magic colors of the Quebrada of Humahuaca Unesco World Heritage. In our hotel design, details, confort, technology, luxury live together in harmony with art of the last four centuries. Experience a journey without time in each corner of the hotel and enjoy your stay with a comfort of a Marquis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marques de Tojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing