We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time !! Great people !!! Don't listen to the whiny grumpy losers who think it's supossed to be a 5 star resort !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lac des Roches Resort
Reviewed 20 July 2011

After reading numerous horrible reviews we were thinking that we booked a place in hell. I'm not sure what people expect when you go camping but everything was how we expected it. Remember people it's a place at the lake not a five star resort. Yes the bathroom looks like it should be a closet but it is a running toilet. Some places have outhouses that you have to walk to. It was obvious that the toilet and shower was added years after the cabin was built so I'm sure they did the bet they could. The owner Luka was FANTASTIC !!! Extra towels and sheets were brought down right after we asked for some and the free DVDs were a nice touch. We were there for two nights and two full days of fishing and he only charged us for one day boat rental. So please people don't believe all the complainers that write things on here because they are just that COMPLAINERS !!! Thank you again Luka !!! Fishing wasn't great but that's not his fault. He actually gave us a trout of his own to take home.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Middenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We are happy to read that you had such a good time at our resort and we appreciate it that you took the time to let other people know about it. As you say we always do our best to make every guests stay enjoyable and in the end we can not change if we still not meet the expectations of some people. It is great that you still gave us a chance after reading the bad reviews and we are happy that you weren't disappointed. Thanks again, Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Lac des Roches Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 6th anniversary in the honeymoon cabin. It was rustic, and quiet, with a pretty view of the lake. The service was fantastic and the hosts made our little overnight vacation one of the most welcoming and warm we have ever had. The food from the restaurant was delicious and authentic. They went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful meal for our anniversary dinner. I didn't feel that it was overpriced, as it was good quality, with fresh ingredients and prepared with care. We rented a canoe and enjoyed several hours floating on lake with little patches of yellow lilies on the edges, which was rather beautiful. We will be coming back often for fantastic service and wonderful food and coffee !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful comment. It is really great to read that you enjoyed the Honeymoon Cabin and our food and service so much. We are looking forward to see you again. Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were at this very very nice place a couple of years ago, Luca and Laura are wonderfull people and we had a great time, if I could i would make the trip only for the Italian Cofee!! so good

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilcotinlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We love to read how much you enjoyed the coffee and we appreciate it that you took the time to let other people know about it. Thanks a lot Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nice setting by the lake, a welcome stop and reasonably nice food but BEWARE! Check the prices very carefully BEFORE ordering coffees,etc or you will be seriously ripped off here! No printed menu will be offered so watch out...you have been warned. Unless of course you think $5 .75 plus tax is reasonable for a pot of hot water and small jug of milk!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank mgb767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your comment.
As you are not the only one complaining about our prices we can just say it again:
We do not try to rip anybody off, we honestly believe that the quality of our food and coffee is worth the prices. And thousands of happy, repeat, regular customers confirm it as we can see in other comments a lot of people do understand and appreciate that. We do have a menu printed and we are always happy to answer questions about prices. The price for our cappuccino is slightly higher than Starbucks, but we do serve it on a patio with lake view, homemade cookies and high quality ingredients. It is sad to read that the price was decisive for your bad experience. Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We were highly disappointed, the website was nicely put together, but thats about it. The descriptions of the chalet were extremely deceiving. The front door lead into one of the bedrooms, which you had to walk through to access the rest of the place. The "sleeps 10" was a joke, the upstairs loft had 2 queen beds and 2 single beds all pushed together to make one long bed... the loft was to accommodate 6....
The doors wouldnt close all the way, the oven didnt have an element, the frigde light was burt out, the plug in light cord was broken and a fire hazard, dvd player was broken... etc, etc etc. It was terrible. I honeslty dont understand how these people are in businss.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanCritik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
Usually you enter the Chalet trough the door on the porch which leads you into the living area, the entrance you took is the back door.
The beds are set up for 10 people and they are not pushed together to make one long bed. It is physically hard to put them together due to the presence of night tables which separate them.
If anything was broken we always appeal everybody to let us know so that we can fix it.
For example the dvd player, during the peak season we often don’t have the time to check between check out and check in if the dvd player or tv still works, cause we focus on cleaning and expect the guests to let us know if anything broke during their stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you had.
Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Heading for Clearwater we saw an inviting road sign for this place. A nice cappuccino was something we indeed liked after a few hours of driving. When we entered the restaurant there was nobody there but a women greeted us (sort of). It did not feel that we where wanted guests at this time in the afternoon. We should have left then... We ordered 2 cappuccinos and a slice of cake. Without asking what the prices where. How foolish of us. After a long wait the drinks arrived. The coffees where oke, but when the written by hand bill arrived I was shocked. 25 Dollars for 2 cappuccinos and a slice of cake! Absurd. I paid and left with the feeling of really being ripped off. This is something I do not have often and luckily this was the only time in beautiful BC. Do not go to this place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michiell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Michiell,
thank you for giving us a review on our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor and we are trying to reply to them a long time after the fact happened.
As you are not the only one complaining about our prices we can just say it again:
We do not try to rip anybody off, we honestly believe that the quality of our food and coffee is worth the prices. And thousands of happy, repeat, regular customers confirm it as we can see in other comments a lot of people do understand and appreciate that. We do have a menu printed and we are always happy to answer questions about prices. The price for our cappuccino is slightly higher than Starbucks, but we do serve it on a patio with lake view, homemade cookies and high quality ingredients. It is sad to read that the price was decisive for your bad experience. Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We did not stay at this place but we were there for a coffe asking information about the resort, chalet, price and fishing possibilites etc.. The italian boss was very nice and very friendly. Coming from another lodge we were interested to stay on our return trip or for a next trip. We have ordered 2 cappuccino and 2 hot chocolate with 3 pieces of cakes. At the end, the bill was 63 $ and the boss said with a large smile that 60 $ would be ok. we left without any complain but after visiting tripadvisor on this place and all bad comments, we can only advise travellers not to stop there, owners are not correct.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank MagicTitof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for giving us a review on our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor and we are trying to reply to them a long time after the fact happened.
As you are not the only one complaining about our prices we can just say it again:
We do not try to rip anybody off, we honestly believe that the quality of our food and coffee is worth the prices. And thousands of happy, repeat, regular customers confirm it as we can see in other comments a lot of people do understand and appreciate that. We do have a menu printed and we are always happy to answer questions about prices. The price for our cappuccino is slightly higher than Starbucks, but we do serve it on a patio with lake view, homemade cookies and high quality ingredients. It is sad to read that the price was decisive for your bad experience.
Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Butte
11.7 km away
Wettstone Guest Ranch
Wettstone Guest Ranch
#3 of 9 in Bridge Lake
8 reviews
13.9 km away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
4.7 km away
Cottonwood Bay Resort
Cottonwood Bay Resort
#9 of 9 in Bridge Lake
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#16 of 51 in Cariboo
43 reviews
36.8 km away
Attwood Creek Ranch
Attwood Creek Ranch
#1 of 6 in Lone Butte
5 reviews
19.7 km away
Beaver Guest Ranch
Beaver Guest Ranch
#1 of 9 in Lone Butte
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac des Roches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac des Roches Resort

Address: 8428 24 Hwy, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range: $97 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac des Roches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is accessible year round directly off of "The Fishing Highway 24", nestled within the heart of our "Beautiful BC" wilderness. Lac Des Roches Resort hosts and boasts the most activities and adventures in the area, with a view of the most photographed lake in British Columbia. Choose from a variety of our fully modern accommodations; whether one of our suites or a cozy lakefront log cabin, there will be nothing between you and the lake except your personal picnic table and bonfire pit. All units come equipped with hot and cold running water, electricity, 3 piece washroom with shower, bedding , towels, kitchen and cooking utensils at no extra charge. We are Pet Friendly. Situated on 47 acres and surrounded by crown land's finest forests, we have 6 campsites and 12 accommodation units; ample enough room to accommodate both large and small groups while maintaining a relaxed and comfortable environment/atmophere/ experience. Ideal for a family vacation and reunions, activities include: sand volleyball; badminton; bocce ball court; swimming; hiking; horseback riding and much more inlcuding a childrens' playground. Lac Des Roches is well known for its trophy Gerrard Rainbows up to 19 pounds and for its big burbots ( freshwater cod ); ice-fishing enthusiats can easily catch in the winter. Anglers from all over the world come to Lac Des Roches to enjoy fly fishing : massive mayfly and caddice ( Sedge ) hatchings make Lac Des Roches a paradise for fly fishermen. With over 100 pristine lakes within an hour's drive of Lac Des Roches, our resort houses a multitude of fish: rainbow trout; brook trout; kokanee; lake trout; making Lac Des Roches Resort the ideal fly-fishing and ice fishing destination. Our true Italian restaurant combines southern European hospitality with our expert northern Italian chefs. All our entrees are prepared fresh daily on the premises(repetitious). Internet WIFI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lac des Roches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Des Roches Hotel Lone Butte
Lac Des Roches Resort Lone Butte, Cariboo, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing