We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in British Coumbia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lac des Roches Resort
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation in British Coumbia”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Nice Cabins, Great Hosts, Excellent Food and Fishing.
Despite the cold temperatures we spent two beautiful weeks, Excellent Ice Fishing For Burbot ( Freshwater cod ), but we caught just a few rainbows. The italian resturant and the food was good : it felt like home, 10,000 km away from Italy. We enjoyed X-country skiing and we skated on the lake : brrrr very cold.
The cabins are cozy and nice : don't expect a 5 star hotel, but you have everything you need for a winter vacation.
Our Kids had lots of fun tobogganing and skating on the lake, and tried a freedom we can just dream of in Italy.
We hope to be able to come back in the summer to try some fly fishing and catch the big rainbows.
Grazie Luca and Laura, speriamo di vederci presto!
Isabella, Cristiano, Ginevra,Benedetta e Alberto
[--]

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabella p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Isabella, thank you for taking the time to write this great review. It is nice to read, that you had such a good time at our resort and your comment shows that you can also have a really nice vacation during the winter. We look forward to see you again. Grazie mille Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    10
    12
    21
See reviews for
30
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

just spent 7 wonderful days at the Lac Des Roches Resort. The owners Luca and Laura were very friendly and helpful. All of the meals were excellent! (You'll leave the dinner table full and happy) The location was beautiful with plenty of activities to keep you busy during your stay. If you do stay there and can honestly say you did not enjoy your time, you're probably a yuppie who should stay away from remote resorts run by friendly folks. I left the resort feeling like part of Luca and Laura's family.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comment.
We appreciate it a lot that you let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
And we are flattered how you stand up for us.
Thanks again, Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

the Cariboo is a wonderful area and Lac des Roches Resort reflects the beauty of the scenery and the people who live there. Lucca and Laura are wonderful hosts who truly go above and beyond....My daughter and I stayed in a 2 bdrm cabin right on the lake with a great view and sounds of the wildlife...including the cry of the Loon in the evening. The cabin was cozy, clean and well equipped. Lots of hot water, warm and quiet...what else can a person ask for. And the food is 5 star...you would not eat better in Whistler, for sure! Not a fancy or luxury resort but then it is rustic country, and that's the charm. Thank you Lucca and Laura for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauragrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us such a great comment. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in the cabin and our food and we appreciate it that you take the time to let others know about it. Thanks again Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I thought despite all the bad reviews I would form my own opinion and stay at Lac Des Roche. I should have listened to all the reviews! The hosts were very snotty and stand offish, the food was a rip off and we were given a $100 bill for two pasta dishes, two desserts and an appetizer. The fridge in our room didn't work, the shower door was taped together and was falling off/apart, the door to the cabin didn't close or lock and was 1/4" open and only stayed closed when u locked the handle. The bed had about 20 springs coming up throughout the entire thing it creaked and everytime one person moved the other person would roll into the middle and when we woke up (after only sleeping 2 hours the entire night) our entire bodies hurt SO badly from head to toe!! The water stinks and is not only not drinkable but it smelled so vad i didnt even want to use it to wash my face. There was no privacy in the back where the fire pit is and when we decided to only stay the one night because of the horrible sleep they were very rude and seemed put out. We couldn't get out of there quick enough and we would never go back! They should advertise as ghetto rustic cabins!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harveybrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your comment and as we just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor we apologize for the late answer.
If something wasn't working properly of you had problems with the door we would have been happy to help you and fix it.
We can not mention often enough how important it is that guests let us know as soon as something isn't working so that we have the chance to help and make your stay better.
With the prices in our restaurant we do not want to rip people off, we simply think that our food is worth it, as it is rare to find good homemade Italian food in this area. We also just have to cover our own costs and as we do not just buy the cheapest pasta the price stands for the quality. Also all our desserts are homemade with the best ingredients.
We can not do anything about the fact that you didn't like the water, we put up notes which say that you can not drink the water without boiling it first.
Our water has been and still is filtered and UV’d as legally required until Dec 2010 to be legally drinkable. Since Jan 2011 the law changed and unfortunately 1 micron filtration is not considered “disinfectant” any longer. That leaves us with the only option to UV and add “chlorine” to the water, and while the system is set in place to hang the boil water notice. Now our water is regularly tested and approved for drinking if we were “residential” but not for “commercial” use for the above mentioned new law, which stated a “process” without considering the goodness of the final product. My personal background of mineral water producer leads me to believe that chlorine is no good for our health and no better than filtration (at 0.5 micron), which is an opinion sustained by many scientists around the globe.
Installing a chlorination system on commercial lakefronts involves the approval of a lakefront new septic system and we have 5 which takes huge investments (affordable for some operations) and infinite applications and processes which we are trying to put through.
I hope this explains the nature of the problem.
It is sad to hear that you couldn't enjoy your stay because of facts like that.
Thanks again Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Where to begin. You certainly don't get what you pay for! The cabin on the outside is great, when you walk through the door we realized, our $150 night was a total rip off! Absolutely no TLC goes into their facility. They are out for the buck only. Ripped shower curtain held up with a knot, kitchen supplies old and worn out , the fridge froze our food, broken $5 chair - just no care. Look out for the toilet that gives you full cheek sweat, yes they run their hot water through the toilet to aleviate frozen pipes in 'the winter'???
On the up side, it was clean, the host was pleasant, the scenery lovely but really, I would look elswhere. Oh and being that it is just off a main highway, you get the joy of big trucks night and day. This was a lesson on DO YOUR RESEARCH.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 894murman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your comment and as we just found out about all the reviews on tripadvisor we apologize for the late answer. We feel sorry to hear that you think $150 for a big cabin with 6 beds is a rip off and hundreds of customers think differently. We maintain our cabins as much as possible and we apologize if it didn't look like that. In your case the shower curtain broke during the stay of the previous guests and we didn't had a spare one available, but as soon as we saw it we bought new shower curtains and replaced it.
But we are happy to read that you still point out what you liked about our place and we are always open to hear how we can update the cabins.
Thanks again Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very good place near Bridge Lake in British Columbia. The place is in front of an amusing lake (where it is possible to fish) and where it is possible to see many animals like coguaro, agles, bears and of course the 10 cats that live with Laura and Luke how are special and the resort is fantastic, great view and magnific Italian cuisine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanieleGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Daniele,
thank you for writing this review.
Forse ci incontreremo nuovamente.
Grazie mille Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

After reading numerous horrible reviews we were thinking that we booked a place in hell. I'm not sure what people expect when you go camping but everything was how we expected it. Remember people it's a place at the lake not a five star resort. Yes the bathroom looks like it should be a closet but it is a running toilet. Some places have outhouses that you have to walk to. It was obvious that the toilet and shower was added years after the cabin was built so I'm sure they did the bet they could. The owner Luka was FANTASTIC !!! Extra towels and sheets were brought down right after we asked for some and the free DVDs were a nice touch. We were there for two nights and two full days of fishing and he only charged us for one day boat rental. So please people don't believe all the complainers that write things on here because they are just that COMPLAINERS !!! Thank you again Luka !!! Fishing wasn't great but that's not his fault. He actually gave us a trout of his own to take home.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Middenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are happy to read that you had such a good time at our resort and we appreciate it that you took the time to let other people know about it. As you say we always do our best to make every guests stay enjoyable and in the end we can not change if we still not meet the expectations of some people. It is great that you still gave us a chance after reading the bad reviews and we are happy that you weren't disappointed. Thanks again, Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Butte
2.8 km away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
12.6 km away
Beaver Guest Ranch
Beaver Guest Ranch
#1 of 9 in Lone Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
24.6 km away
Attwood Creek Ranch
Attwood Creek Ranch
#4 of 7 in Lone Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Ponderosa Resort
Ponderosa Resort
#2 of 2 in Canim Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
25.9 km away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#17 of 46 in Cariboo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
13.2 km away
Cozy Guesthouse
Cozy Guesthouse
#6 of 7 in Lone Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac des Roches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac des Roches Resort

Property: Lac des Roches Resort
Address: 8428 24 Hwy, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac des Roches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is accessible year round directly off of "The Fishing Highway 24", nestled within the heart of our "Beautiful BC" wilderness. Lac Des Roches Resort hosts and boasts the most activities and adventures in the area, with a view of the most photographed lake in British Columbia. Choose from a variety of our fully modern accommodations; whether one of our suites or a cozy lakefront log cabin, there will be nothing between you and the lake except your personal picnic table and bonfire pit. All units come equipped with hot and cold running water, electricity, 3 piece washroom with shower, bedding , towels, kitchen and cooking utensils at no extra charge. We are Pet Friendly. Situated on 47 acres and surrounded by crown land's finest forests, we have 6 campsites and 12 accommodation units; ample enough room to accommodate both large and small groups while maintaining a relaxed and comfortable environment/atmophere/ experience. Ideal for a family vacation and reunions, activities include: sand volleyball; badminton; bocce ball court; swimming; hiking; horseback riding and much more inlcuding a childrens' playground. Lac Des Roches is well known for its trophy Gerrard Rainbows up to 19 pounds and for its big burbots ( freshwater cod ); ice-fishing enthusiats can easily catch in the winter. Anglers from all over the world come to Lac Des Roches to enjoy fly fishing : massive mayfly and caddice ( Sedge ) hatchings make Lac Des Roches a paradise for fly fishermen. With over 100 pristine lakes within an hour's drive of Lac Des Roches, our resort houses a multitude of fish: rainbow trout; brook trout; kokanee; lake trout; making Lac Des Roches Resort the ideal fly-fishing and ice fishing destination. Our true Italian restaurant combines southern European hospitality with our expert northern Italian chefs. All our entrees are prepared fresh daily on the premises(repetitious). Internet WIFI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lac des Roches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Des Roches Hotel Lone Butte
Lac Des Roches Resort Lone Butte, Cariboo, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing