We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not booking again”
Review of Hotel Meandro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meandro
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is okay. Gargnano is a small town at lake Garda compared to the rest and the boats don't stop by as much as in the rest of the small towns. So expect to drive around quite a lot. Hotel is located a 10 min walk up hill from the town.

Positives:
- Beautiful view from the rooms and the small balcony was lovely.
- breakfast was ok and the restaurant, especially if you get one of the tables outside, you'll enjoy it even more. Waiters in the restaurant are very pleasant as well although they don't speak much English.
- bathrooms are old but kept nice and in a condition, where you are accepting them, not finding them old and disgusting.

Negatives:
- no free parking spaces at the hotel, as they promised. You could book your own parking space for 10 euros a day. But pisses me off that it says free parking, when it's basically not. All customers are paying the 10 euros, which leaves no free ones, so expect 70 euros on top of your stay, if you are staying for a week.
- staffs/owners family used our parking space, so we had to tell them to remove their car. Sry, but I paid 10 extra euros a day - then it's empty unless my car is there!
- rooms are okay, but dated. We ordered a room with a double bed. 2 single beds put next to each other (nothing holding them together) and mattresses were 10cm to narrow each, so imagine how we were sleeping 20-30cms apart all the time. So frustrating.

We had booked though hotels.com and therefore had 50% discount due to bonus stays. I'm glad we had that otherwise it would have been a bit of a rip off. I know lake Garda is expensive, but having stayed in malcesine in a renovated modern hotel, I'm now aware that I rather want to pay the extra money to get more and better comfort, better breakfast and service and a larger town with good ferry connections to the other towns. The traffic around the lake is awful during peak season and you want to take the boats across the lake instead of wasting hours in a car.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week while exploring Lake Garda for the first time. The hotel is in a great location, especially if you have a car (however parking at the hotel is limited but they always helped fit our little car somewhere)

All the staff were very friendly, with a family feel that made you feel welcomed!

Our room had the best view of the lake which I will miss waking up too.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BLT1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I was spending a week with my boyfriend in this hotel. I would mark my stay as a 5*. We got a new superior room, which was big and very nice. Despite of the windows to the streets, which was really noisy from the cars, it was very nice, it was okay for us.
The stuff was really friendly and helpful. My boyfriend is vegetarian and I am vegan and they tried their best to prepare a special dinners for us and so they tried on breakfast!
HOWEVER
My parents were spending their holiday in this hotel in October and they were very dissapointed, because of the room they got. The in not in the pictures, I will try do upload it later. It was much smaller, with an old furniture, but what is the worst, with very bad old matraces, which were very hard to sleep on. They left after few days.

So, this hotel, for the price is very nice, just be picky when it gets to the rooms, take the more expensive one and your holiday will be much more pleasant!

Room Tip: Take a superior or new superior room, with windows towards the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarína B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

What a find! This was our first visit to lake Garda. The arrival at the hotel was both welcoming and friendly as indeed was every member of staff we encountered during our week stay. Our room with views across the lake to the majestic mountains was stunning and everything we had hoped for. Dining was a real pleasure with an excellent a l'carte menu and food seriously above the hotel's three star rating- delicious! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good service, spotlessly clean rooms ,excellent location , easy to walk down to the waterfront where the boats arrive/ depart for the Lakeland service. We will definitely return next year! Thank you so much.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 961martynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We are so glad we chose this side of the lake and not the other, it is in our opinion far prettier and less touristy. Our room was a good size (superior lake view) and was very clean. Opening the shutters in the morning to the mountains and lake view was absolutely amazing. We ate both nights at the hotel and the food was great and the young male waiter was fantastic. Really great dining experience and they are extremely busy so that speaks for itself. Well priced as well...a two course meal, bread, bottle of wine and water for two was around €65. Breakfast was also plentiful and more than adequate. The only downside was the wifi was not stable and constantly dropped and didn't work at all for 12hours. Normally not a big problem as a holiday is about the experience not looking at the Internet...however we needed to stay in touch with our teenage children, so it was a bit frustrating. Overall a fabulous stay at a wonderful family run hotel who really care, go on book today!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KP1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

After arriving in lake Garda at the train station. We asked the tourist formation centre there how to get to Gargnano. They advised by bus for just under €4 per person. However we had just missed one bus and the next one won't be along for another 3 hours!!! Buses seem to be more frequent in the mornings, so if you do travel from another station, maybe arrive earlier. We walked into town and had some food and sat in the shade admiring the view. Finally we caught our bus and about an hour later we got off in Gargnano., the first stop in Gargnano. We walked up a hill, passed some traffic lights then we were at our hotel. We checked in quickly and were shown to our room..... Which over looked....the carpark! When I booked a balcony lake view room. The lady said I had not booked this, but I absolutely remember paying extra, booking the balcony room and checking with my husband that he was happy spending the extra and we agreed we would. It was a special offer and we completed the booking through their website. However the paperwork confirmed I had only booked an economy room. We were completely gutted as I'm still certain now that we booked the correct room. Anyway the lady said she could give us a balcony room in 2 days time, which we agreed to as we did not want to overlook a carpark. Our room was nice and big with a shower. Tv, with lots of channels but only music channels in English. Beds made daily. Air conditioning a little noisy but at least it drowned out the noise from the road. Fridge in room. Breakfast was a lot. Fruit juices were more like squash, not good at all . Sausages were frankfurters, hotel is run by Germans. Lots of Germans in Gargnano. Tea was weak, coffee was not very good. Fruit was nice. Meats, croissants, biscuits, cereals etc. Pool is nice size, around pool is very warm so sit outside too. Also table tennis there. There's a little part of the lake you can swim in about 5 minutes walk from hotel, take some jelly shoes as its pebbly. There's a tiny town too, there are about 10 restaurants, some ice cream parlours, and a hand full of shops. There's a cheese and meat shop which sells olives and bits. There's a ferry stop too. Probably best that you have a car to travel somewhere else but for 5 days we had enough to do. Hotel is on a hill so again if you're older you may need a car. We did move to our balcony room and were very grateful that we were not charged more. View is lovely but room is not as updated. Fridge in rooms. To but no English channels. We did visit the market and sirmione via ferry which was definitely worth a visit. also the cable car is only a ferry ride away, in malcesine. See photo of map to understand.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tinytrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We would fully recommend the Hotel Meandro. I had read lots of reviews saying how friendly this hotel is and how great the service was and we totally agree. Everyone is wonderful and welcoming and genuine and warm. We were looking for somewhere to relax and unwind and we could not have found a better place. The hotel has so many lovely places to relax in, be it on our balcony, by the pool, on the rooftop terrace or in the bar. Everywhere you turn there is a stunning view of the lake and the mountains. It was a peaceful spot with everything we needed. It is short walk to the lovely picturesque centre of Gargnano which we found to be unspoilt and unhindered by the tourist trail and an even shorter walk to the lido for a swim and a lake side drink. As well as the location and the team the other jewel in the Hotel Meandro's crown is their restaurant. Their food is exceptional and some of the best I have been served anywhere in the world. Due to this we kept going back to the restaurant as, as well as the food being delicious, the view was breath taking and our waiter could not have done enough for us, so attentive and friendly. We were very sad to leave and we cannot wait to return! Thank you Hotel Meandro!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.7 km away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#8 of 19 in Gargnano
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Livia
Hotel Livia
#15 of 19 in Gargnano
41 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
91 reviews
6.6 km away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meandro

Address: Via della Repubblica 44, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Price Range: $116 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meandro 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The management is under the Samuelli’s Family since 1959. The hotel was restored in 2006 - at 200 m. from the beach - covered swimming pool - sauna – water massage pool - garden and panorama terrace - elevator - private parking - rooms with balcony lake view -TV-SAT – mini bar - phone - safe. The breakfast buffet and the excellent cooking complete all the comforts of an efficient cordial service. In the surroundings possibilities for practising different sports. Latitudine 45°41' 33" N Longitudine 010° 40' 01" E ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Meandro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meandro Gargnano, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing