We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will always return to the Hotel du Lac!!”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We will always return to the Hotel du Lac!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have just returned from our fourth holiday in the Hotel du Lac in 7 years. It is a perfect place to recharge your batteries. It has a fantastic position, right on the lake in a quiet one way street, 10 minutes walk from the centre of Gargnano a charming, un-commercialised smallish town with plenty of restaurants and bars. We usually try to book either room 1 or 2 which both have a lake view and open onto the charming terrace, where you eat evening meals under a canopy of kiwi fruit trees. However we have stayed in other lakeside rooms and all have same dimensions and facilities including balconies overlooking the breathtaking view of the lake.
We usually book half board as the breakfasts are excellent and the evening meals good. Valerio, the owner is friendly and runs the hotel with superb efficiency, whilst still retaining its family feel. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well tended plants abound.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the prime rooms as they open onto the beautiful terrace. However, all the lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzellantwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    30
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights and did not want to leave, fabulous little hotel, perfect location and the breakfast on the little terrace each morning was well worth waking up for!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica04021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were on Lake Garda for 4 nights and, after seeing it all, it was clear that Gargnano is the town to stay in and the Hotel du Lac is perfect for a marvelous stay. Our lakeview room was immaculate, good firm bed, nice bathroom. Copious breakfast -- everything labeled and lacking nothing. On-site restaurant, facing the lake, a good value with appealing options. Enagaged on-site owner provided valuable guidance on local sights. At no time during our stay and visiting the entire area did we wish we had booked anywhere else. A true winner and a great value.

Room Tip: Our lakefront room was wonderful; note the hotel has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTPinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. We had a lake view room on the top floor with a small balcony area. The hotel and room were kept spotlessly clean and the breakfast and food in the restaurant were lovely. Gargnano is picture perfect and is a great place to relax and unwind and forget about the rest of the world. We would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claregals29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, West Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Du Lac for three nights in July 2011 and were delighted with our choice. The hotel is right on the lake, so you can have breakfast and dinner right over the water. Our room had a small balcony so we could sit out and enjoy the views at leisure. There is also a terrace which is for sunbathing and relaxing during the day and where dinner is served in the evening. Our room was simply furnished with solid antique furniture and a firm, comfortable bed. The hotel owner/manager was extremely helpful and courteous and speaks a number of languages well. The breakfast buffet was truly excellent, with especially good croissants, fruit, meats and homemade jams.

As well as the hotel being gorgeous, the village of Gargnano was also more than we could have hoped for. It is quiet and non-touristy, but big enough to have a good selection of restaurants and bars,most of which are right on the lake. The ferries call at Gargnano so it is a great base for discovering the other towns and villages on the lake.

We also stayed a couple of nights in Como and whilst it was nice enugh, it didn't come close to Gargnano nor was our hotel up to the Hotel Du Lac. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had such a lovely stay at the Hotel du Lac to celebrate our anniversary this year. We booked a lakeside room and really enjoyed having our own private balcony directly over the water. The room was clean, comfortable, and very charming - light and bright, with beautiful antique furniture. The hotel has a wonderful feel about it - small enough that you have personal service and attention, similar to being a guest in someone's home, but still large enough to give a sense of privacy and independence. The staff and managers are so helpful, friendly, and easy to communicate with. We truly felt very well cared for throughout our stay. Breakfast was a particularly special highlight - a beautifully arranged buffet with fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, etc, and a spectacular setting literally on top of the water with a gorgeous view of the lake and surrounding mountains. What a way to start the day! We enjoyed exploring the little town of Gargnano and had memorable meals at the Pizzeria al Lago - overlooking the water in town - and at the Michelin-starred La Tortuga. We spent our days at the Gardenia Al Lago - owned by the same people and just up the road - which has a lovely swimming area and sunbathing garden, shaded by olive trees and surrounding by wildflowers. Overall it was a perfect stay, and one that we hope to repeat soon. Very highly recommeded for a quiet, romantic getaway! Free wireless and a free parking pass for the town were extra perks.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peace2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
397 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Oh what a little gem of a hotel this is. I’ve never been happier to have had a reservation go wrong (at another hotel). This charming hotel is the epitome of everything you could possibly want in hospitality, quiet, views, and comfort. We had room 6, facing the lake, on an upper floor, and I can’t imagine a more beautiful view. The lake is right there, within reach, you could not possibly be closer to the water, and you look over the beautiful terrace onto it from private balconies (if you stay lakeside). The huge palm that was preserved in a patio when the breakfast room and terrace were added to this old house occupies a central location in each view, and adds another element of whimsy to the place. Every inch of the hotel has details that speak to the pride of the family running the place – including a long set of detailed requests and suggestions in the guest books in the rooms – which couldn’t have pleased me more. They want to preserve the atmosphere of peace and quiet and grace worthy of the home. The rooms are good size, with large sturdy antique beds and furniture. Bathrooms are modern and with all amenities. Every part of the hotel is impeccably clean – but it’s the previously mentioned constant attention to small details that really grabbed me – from the beautiful hand-written and decorated labels for every breakfast item, to the photos that tell you the family history (the great grandfather was one of the first piano-makers)- to the candles flickering at dinner – the small flowers placed here and there – the stone lithograph travel posters…. Ah! Were it that every hotel in Italy take such good care of their guests. We had a four course dinner and were most impressed with the wine list. The food was solid as well – not amazing, but very fulfilling and satisfying. The service was impeccable. I enjoyed chatting with the host, who is charming, helpful and proud of the hotel. This is the kind of small hotel (bed and breakfast, really) that we are always seeking. Along with Villa Sara in Taormina and Villa Rosa in Positano, it is definitely one of the nicest boutique hotel/bed and breakfasts we have stayed at in Europe. Gargnano is a lovely tranquil village – definitely the type of place you want to rest – and we weren’t on that kind of vacation, but hope to return. If you want a beautiful peaceful room with a view, you can’t go wrong with this charming hotel (and the wireless is a bonus!).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 19 in Gargnano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#6 of 19 in Gargnano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Villa Europa
Hotel Villa Europa
#7 of 19 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#13 of 19 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Colletta' 21, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Gargnano, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing