We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
230
28
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
28
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel beautiful location overlooking lake garda ladder lakeside terrace switzerland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 261 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to reserve this pearl of a hotel for a five day stay with my family at the end of the season. We loved everything about the hotel. The wonderful history (with the same family), the location just by the lake (with direct access to the lake for our morning swim), the beautiful rooms and facilities fit for the building, excellent food at the restaurant (we had the half board) and most of all the friendly and genuine people that worked at the hotel to make our experience the best it could be. There is something to be said for having the owner come and discuss the evenings dinner with you ar breakfast time and also wishing you a friendly farewell at the end of your stay. Special thanks to Francesca for the interesting tour to the family lemon garden! If you like your hotels with personality, great individual service and a wonderful location, you just can't go wrong with this one!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank simok441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdlg, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia al Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2019

Dear Simo, thank you so much for your kind review!
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gardenia al Lago!
Especially, thanks for your appreciation of our location and of the food of our Restaurant!
We really care about our family history and our old time atmosphere and we are glad that you noted that!
Also thank you for taking part into the Lemon Garden tour!
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Best Wishes,
Francesca & Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2019

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Lake Garda. Wish we had planned to stay longer. The family that runs the hotel is wonderful, and made us feel at right at home from the moment we arrived. I highly recommend an end room overlooking the lake - the views are breath-taking. Our room was exceptionally well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Gargnano is a great location - a bit more quiet than some of the other tourist-attracting towns, but still offering an abundance of restaurants and shopping. A 15 minute walk from the hotel to the ferry that serves all the towns along the lake makes this a convenient choice. Hope to return before too long!

Room tip: Highly recommend second or third floor end rooms with their unrivaled views of the lake and mountains.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdlg, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia al Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear Richard, thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in the wonderful "Benaco" room with direct view of the Lake!
We hope to see again in Gargnano soon!
Best wishes,
Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2019

This hotel, and the family that owns it and staff that work here, are truly special. I stayed for a weekend with a friend I was visiting in Italy. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we felt welcomed and like we were transported to a dreamland. The lake is amazing for taking a dip in (we swam dawn and dusk!) The included breakfast was divine and had all the selection you could want...while enjoying a gorgeous lake view. Most of all, we appreciated Francesca and family giving us a tour of the family's lemon grove. It was such a unique experience, and one of the highlights of my trip. Thank you for an incredible stay and can't wait to return!!!

Room tip: Most rooms have lake views
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ear97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdlg, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia al Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear Emily, thank you very much for your kind review!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your short stay at the Hotel Gardenia al Lago!
We really appreciated your interest in the Lemon grove of the Family!
And we are glad that it has been a nice experience for you!
See you next time!
Best Regards,
Francesca & Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a memorable holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary at hotel Gardenia al Lago , this is a perfect choice for those couples wanting excellent customer service, superb accommodation, in a beautifully maintained traditional Italian hotel where quality counts. The staff provided an amazing level of service remembering your requirements quickly and even going that extra mile, by coming in early to ensure our party of 6 received a hearty breakfast before our early departure. This was an amazing place and we would highly recommend it and hope to return one day.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdlg, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia al Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor!
We are so glad that you chose our Hotel Gardenia al Lago for such a special celebration!
And we are really happy that you had a pleasant and special stay!
We hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards,
Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2019

We stayed here for 6 nights in September. The setting is lovely, on the shores of the Lake, about a kilometre from ferry terminal along a narrow street. It is family-run, there is a photo family tree to prove it, and has been run as a hotel since 1957. We arrived by boat, most others by car, car parking is available but a bit tight, did not affect us. It is a very attractive hotel, which still retains some of the features of a family house, notably some of the furniture and other contents of the public areas. Extremely pleasant staff, some of whom are family members. We ate all our meals in the garden overlooking the lake. Excellent breakfast, we also had dinner twice and it was extremely good, with much use of lake fish and local products. Considering the location and facilities, it was extremely good value.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Jim_E_1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdlg, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia al Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear Jim, thank you so much for your kind review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay at the Hotel Gardenia al Lago,
especially our staff, our location on the Lake and our Restaurant Rivalago!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes,
Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews