We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Dansam

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ghiffa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

c-man27
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family (wife and 2x children aged 1 & 4) and I spent ten days at Casa Dansam in July. We had an absolutely wonderful time. Tony was a brilliant host throughout the process and very attentive to our needs. He bought a new mattress for the baby cot and arranged for David (contact in Maggiore) to fix some mesh to the balcony to provide extra safety. This allowed us to relax a bit more knowing the kids were safe and they really enjoyed the space.

The apartment is well furnished and was very clean upon our arrival. The balcony provides a perfect spot to relax in either sun or shade and is just magical in the evening as the sun sets. The views really are stunning. There is also a beach on the lake which is situated below the property and takes about 10 mins (with kids) to walk to. But the fresh clean water is just amazing.

We met a really nice Belgian couple who lived in the house behind Tony's. My son really enjoyed playing with their daughter and he was very sad to say goodbye. I think it was his first holiday romance!

I actually think that the apartment is exceptionally well located for touring. We went up to Switzerland and all over the local area and only used 1 tank of fuel. All the towns are really pretty.

Having visited the Italian Lakes (Garda, Como) before I can definitely say that Maggiore is the best. But the best bit for me was the outside shower. Cooling off in 34 degree heat whilst watching the day go by...we must have visited the shower at least 4 times a day!

Will we return? I sure hope so one day. Would we recommend it to anyone...100% and have already done so.

Thanks Tony for a great holiday!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Dear Craig & Nadia,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your positive review of Casa Dansam - we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much, and all that the location of the apartment has to offer in the surrounding area. My wife and I are always pleased to receive such favourable feedback, and always seek for our guests to enjoy their stay. We look forward perhaps to a future visit from your family. With best wishes, Tony & Assia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_portland...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2 week stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a marvellous 2 weeks at Casa Dansam, the views from the terrace are quite spectacular and we spent many hours watching the ever changing scenery/weather.
The accommodation was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Tony could not have been more helpful and the brochure sent to us was full of excellent tips on restaurants and places to see.
Many thanks also to Tony's friends David and Judith, who met us on arrival and guided us on the winding road to the accommodation. They were also magnanimous with their time, as we had a lovely day out with them on the Lake and we now have a devotee to water skiing thanks to David's brilliant tuition.
A fabulous 2 week holiday, hopefully we will return in the future.
A small word of warning, we think Tony must drive a Ferrari as the travel time to Bergamo Airport in the brochure is 1 hour and 50 minutes, it took us 3 hours in our rented Panda, no harm done as we did manage to catch our plane. John and Port

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Dear John & Portland - Many thanks for your excellent review of Casa Dansam and taking the time to submit it, as we are always eager to receive feedback from our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your early summer holiday, and would hope to see you again on a future occasion.
P.S.. - We dream of owning a Ferrari, but like yourselves rely on a hired Fiat Panda for the Bergamo airport trips, which very occasionally can take over 1.45 hours in peak periods.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS_77
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great time at Casa Dansam. Tony was a very attentive and caring host. E.g. he provided a small bath tub for our Baby that we had forgotten at home. Moreover, he gave us many ideas which places we needed to visit. We really enjouyed our stay and would like to recommend Casa Dansam to to other travellers.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great view over the lake
Liked least: Narrow roads to get there
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Anselm,
We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review for Casa Dansam, and the favourable comments you make. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests, and trust you will consider the apartment again as the base for your holiday, should you wish to visit Lake Maggiore again in the future..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location by Lake Maggiore”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful location by Lake Maggiore. A self contained apartment within a hillside villa overlooking the lake. From the balcony there are lovely views of the lake and surrounding hills and mountains. On arrival the view you are faced with is well worth the steep ascent. There is a handy general store There is also a nearby restaurant selling reasonably priced meals.
The owners Tony and Assia are very helpful and friendly.
There are lots of villages to visit and a World Heritage Site is nearby.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a favourable review about Casa Dansam and its great location. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and it was a pleasure to meet you and to have you stay as guests. We do hope you will have opportunity to stay again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
781amp
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic holiday at Casa Dansam. It is in a great location to explore different places around Lake Maggiore - we'd particularly recommend Cannobio and Orta San Guilio for day trips. Casa Dansam is a lovely place to stay, very clean and modern with everything you would need for your stay. Sitting out on the large terrace watching the lake was very relaxing and the garden is pretty and has amazing views too. Tony and Assia were incredibly helpful and ensured we had everything we needed, as well as great suggestions of where to visit. Thank you very much Tony and Assia for a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your positive review relating to your stay at Casa Dansam in early July 2015. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. Please consider us again for a further future holiday at Lake Maggiore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your positive review relating to your Autumn visit to Casa Dansam. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully look forward to receiving you as guests in 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Don D
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment with spectacular view”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday Staying at the Casa Dansam apartment on Lago Maggiore, Northern Italy, with another couple.
The owner Tony and his wife were so helpful making our holiday very special.
The apartment was in a spectacular position with wonderful views of the lake although I would recommend a Car
To get around as there is so much to see and do in this area.
Parking is no problem as it has its own parking bay with a small walk to the apartment.
There is a bus service below the apartment which runs both directions up or down the lake and over the border into Switzerland.
The quality of the apartment is very high although the layout for couples is a bit strange as you have to go through one bedroom to get to the other, but there is an alternative route by using the bathroom as this has two doors so you can use this for access to second bedroom but we found this no problem.
For families this apartment would be ideal.
The kitchen is large with plenty of utensils a coffee machine, microwave, fridge freezer and dish washer.
The living room is quite roomy with two sofas a dining table and large picture window looking onto the lake.
The television shows all the British channels so you will not miss out on your favourite soaps.
I feel the main asset of this apartment is the balcony which is equipped with sun lounger and a glass table and chairs for alfresco evenings with an unspoilt 180’ view of the lake, in the morning you get a fabulous view of the sun rise, also in the gardens there is a barbeque and a further table and chairs.
There is a nice restaurant within a short walk of the apartment but there is a short uphill climb to get back and might not be suitable for people with walking difficulties.
Overall we enjoyed our stay so much we would consider returning.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean well kept apartment with spectacular views of Lago maggiore
Liked least: All was fine
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of the Casa Dansam apartment. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and would look forward to your return visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.