We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant in every way”
Review of Il Convento

Il Convento
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Otricoli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Where to start?! The setting of the panoramic terrace is beautiful, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the food is superb and the wines terrific. We sampled everything from Pizzas to steaks and it was all first rate. I'd say truthfully the diavola pizza is best I've had anywhere globally and I have eaten a lot of pizzas. We live in Geneva and have spent a lot of time in Italy and no pizza has come close to the Diavola here. To top it all off the selection of house wines are very well selected (the house sparkling white was superb with a very light mousse) and the gave us free grappa and limoncello with the bill. I can not recommend this place highly enough. Simply fantastic and great prices.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2017

We had an absolutely delightful dinner at Il Convento. Our waitress was one of the owners, and she could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The food was fabulous and plentiful. The cold antipasto alone could easily have been our entire dinner, and in fact, we couldn't even finish the one we ordered for the three of us. Our two pizzas came with wonderful light and crunchy crusts, and we loved the toppings we ordered. We started eating outside in the lovely garden, and when it started to rain, the staff quickly and efficiently helped us move inside. Great experience!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We visited the restaurant during our holiday in Italy - we were 15 and the staff catered for us really well. Have to say leave room for the antipasti - absolutely LOVELY! Great local wines. Great place - recommended.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mx22, Proprietario at Il Convento, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear Carolina,
Thank indeed for your warm words; I appreciated too much your positive staying with us and I will hope you return back again to Otricoli and with us; it's vital for our future.
All the best wishes,
Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

We stayed for a painting workshop of 9 days in the Hotel Umbria, the rooms are clean and confortable. The restaurant a great surprise. We ate every day in the restaurant and each plate a perfect dish. Run by Carolina,the daughter of the owner who clearly is passionate about food and wine and assisted by great staff. Certainly the best choice in the area!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank liv3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

A family restaurant in a picturesque village. Tasty, not expensive, friendly.
The fish was delicious! And so beautiful surroundings.!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank polskymarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Convento also viewed

Orte, Province of Viterbo
Narni, Province of Terni
 
Magliano Sabina, Province of Rieti
Otricoli, Province of Terni
 
Bassano in Teverina, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing