We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay (just note no internet)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'La Genope'

Do beaches get any better than this?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Do beaches get any better than this?
Beach views from bedroom 4 La Genope with panoramic lounge window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Do beaches get any better than this?
Beach views from bedroom 4
La Genope with panoramic lounge window
The house from the beach
Lounge /Diner
Panoramic beach views from lounge
beach views from kitchen
Beach views from bedroom 3
Bedroom 1 - double
Bedroom 2 - bunks
Bedroom 3 - double
Bedroom 4 - double
Kitchen
Kitchen
Top floor bath / shower room
1st floor shower room
Rear of house with main entrance stairs
Looking eastward to Les Braves monument
View of house from beach
Looking east along road from outside house
Sand yachting - you've got to try it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vierville-sur-Mer, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DocJenG
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay (just note no internet)”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house is in overall good condition and had everything we could need with one exception: no internet. It's not something it claims to have, but it surprised me. I hadn't even thought to check! We had a difficult time getting a signal for our phones as well. You don't realize how much you use something until it's not an option...

Of course, we weren't there to get on the internet. The beach was great, the D-Day historians in our group had a tour near the house and then went out to look some more, and the rest of us explored several small towns in the area. The cider was fantastic and we all found something we loved.

One more note is that there are stairs required to get to the main floor, if you're traveling with someone who has a hard time with stairs.

We did some cooking in the kitchen, which had more than enough goods for that, and we enjoyed just looking out the windows at the beach and the people. The kids loved the yard as well - and it's fenced in, so they could play safely. There are books and other things to make it feel like home and entertain when it rains - which it did a lot on our trip.

The owners have made this feel cozy and were easily accessible when we had a hard time using the stove. Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed the house and area as much as we do. We try to escape when in France hence no WIFI..but it is readily available in some of the local bars etc so when needed it becomes another excuse to go for a beer. We have no issues tracking e mails on mobile phone so sorry if you had difficulty in that respect...maybe it depends on your usual network provider?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach, the location and the very nice surroundings
Liked least: The toilets seem a bit old and quite worn.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely House in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled as a group of 3 adults and 5 children. The house was clean and perfect for our needs. We loved being directly at Omaha Beach. It was wonderful to wake up and have coffee in the sunny living room. Most everything we could need was in the house and the beds were comfortable. Easy drive to see all of the gems of Normandy. I highly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Its always great to hear others love this spot as much as we do! Thanks for staying with us ... please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most Spectacular place to stay in Normandy”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we were fortunate to come across this lovely house right on the beach at the Omaha landing site, it was a very welcoming home that felt like you were indeed in your own place! There has everything you could possible need to make your stay very comfortable (washer/fridge/american style fridge freezer/all the mod cons needed) The house is perfectly situated for visiting all around the area,it has a big garden that you can play in (you can close the drive gates to prevent children from wondering) just across a small road is the beach and what a beach it is! Lots and Lots to do on it.The owners even let you use the Kayak's/kites/tennis rackets/balls/BBQ's/chairs/sun loungers/etc.etc I could go on forever but the best way to be sure is to book it and find out for yourself (you wont be disappointed)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lounel150...
wakefield
1 review
“An Amazing property in a Wonderful Location”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My Husband and I took my Parents for there first trip abroad, mainly for my dad to have a WW2 Pilgrimage. La Geneope was a perfect base to explore from, Central to most places of interest and has its own history on Omaha Beach. The property its self was easy to find and was very well equip for a comfortable stay. The layout was perfect for our group we had the top floor which gave us privacy whilst my parents had the lower floor. A very delightful property which made our stay much more memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the electrics
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Delighted you enjoyed the house and location as much as we do. We'd love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H14VRD
Sardis,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Everything you would want from a Family Holiday”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We took our Daughter,Son-in-Law and Grand-Children. La Genope was a perfect base to explore this wonderful and Historic part of France. Something for everyone of all ages to see and do. We have visited this part of France many times over the years and this was by far the best location and the accommodation was so very well equipped and just a few yards from the beach for the family to visit each day.

The memories of Omaha Beach will remain with us always.

Thank you Matthew and Penny for being so helpful and friendly

Regards Paul and family

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Paul

We are so delighted you all had such a good time - of course we agree totally with your sentiments ... but it is nevertheless lovely for others to endorse La Genope so wholesomely. Please come back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole_Engeb...
Burfjord, Norway
1 review
“Just what we was looking for”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me and two friends visitet the Allied landing grounds for 4 days in june this year. La Genope is located spot on Omaha Beach. The house is located at the Perfect Place. Beautyful sunsets over Omaha Beach. We had a rental car and that is å must here. The contact With the owners was exelent and all communication worked Perfect. The Place had a big front yard, and a safe gate. Perfect for families. The house was equipped With all the Things you need. We loved this and will most certanly come back here. The owner recommended a D-Day guide for us. He was (is) very competent and we had a great day in the american sector With him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We had too little time there
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for the review - we are delighted you like the house and location as much as we do! We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing