We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiwi Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquijor Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiwi Dive Resort
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We paid P450 for two single beds in a small room with own shower toilet and no view but it was a short walk down some 45 steps to the restaurant and beach view. Hammocks, deck chairs and outdoor tables enhanced the eating experience. Great food and the red wine at P590 was divine though just one bottle. Our three nights there were marred only by the wind that keep diving visibility low but warm enough to spend the day outside in t shirts. Hired a motor bike for a day and saw that the water was flat on the other side of the island so we moved. With many of the other tourists returning every year phone or email so as not to be disappointed. I think there was only 4 or 5 cottages with the largest sleeping 6 right on the beach front and was very well priced. Some very good diving to be had we were told by other guests.

Room Tip: Book in advance as many people return to this treasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    31
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
30
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Room was fine, food was fine also (sort of like pub food). Staff were attentive and the sitting area and the small bar had a good vibe. It was the most "happening" place on the beach, but that is a function of attracting a younger crowd. Social, but fairly mellow.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeRangeChickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

DO NOT GO!

I emailed this place asking to book me and my friend a room. They told us that they don't book, but there are rooms and we can just come. The worst case there are another guesthouses that will accommodate us.

We arrived. The place was fully booked. They didn't help us at all and the places next were also fully booked. We lost one hour of our time and no one even apologized.

Furthermore the beach there is not nice. Better go to San Juan for a nice beach and accommodation.

Cheers.

Read more: http://www.frommers.com/community/forum.cfm/asia/philippines/not-kiwi-dive-resort-siquijor-philippines/.0#ixzz1nTYOjaeR

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We didn’t actually stay here because although we booked, Bruce cancelled without even telling us. I had booked sent a few emails asking a few questions (like suitable for a child, did they do pick up etc) and LUCKILY I sent a last email providing details about pick up and he came back and said he had give our room to someone else. I booked in February for March 2011 and notice that someone else had this problem in February, worse for him, he turned up!

My guess is that if you aren’t divers they don’t want you. But how inconsiderate to leave people high and dry. We stayed next door at the Islands which had the rudest staff I have ever come across but we obviously refused on principle to go to Kiwis! Our neighbours did and said it was dull and shut up at 9pm.

Be very wary of making a booking here especially if you have a child, it is not the area you want to be looking for alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: don’t book, they may give away your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheComplainingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July. At the time of booking, we requested #2 bungalow after reading the reviews but we're told that it wasn't available. On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to learn that it had opened up and we were put in it. After seeing what the other bungalows were like and comparing Kiwi to the two resorts beside it, we probably would not stay at Kiwi unless #2 was available. As has already been stated, #2 has a nice location, with a small view of the ocean from a large balcony. It was very nice to have wireless in the room, and also to be a few steps away from the beach and bar area. The other rooms are up a steep path with no real view. Our favourite thing about Kiwi was how well planned the common areas were. Guests from other resorts regularly stopped in to have dinner or drinks at Kiwi, making it the hangout place in the evenings. But we never had any issue of noise, since the staff generally closed the bar between 9-10pm. The room itself was basic, albeit ok for the PHP 690. A little dark, but with windows open it usually caught a breeze. Bed was comfortable enough although sheets were too small. Shower was supposed to be solar heated, but even after the sunniest weather it was really only tepid. Food at the restaurant was good – we found it a little overpriced (especially breakfasts) but similar to all the other resorts along the beach. The beach is nice, but not gorgeous. The softest sand is only found at low tide when the beach widens a huge amount. Still, the scenery is nice, there are no peddlers or hawkers and we found it a perfect place to relax a couple days. Sadly there was no diving being offered as it wasn't the right season (in July). If #2 is not available, I'd check out the nearby resorts since they had simple bungalows right on the beach for PHP650. Even if you don't stay here, it's worth it to come for dinner and drinks to meet other travellers.

Room Tip: #2 is by far the best room in the resort and made our stay. Other rooms are further back up a steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Accomodations - the resort doesn't have full amenities (just soap, nothing else), but the environment is cool enough to just use the ceiling fans. there's a net over the bed to keep the mosquitoes out, but i wasn't bitten at all the whole time i was there.
Staff - the staff is really nice & friendly. Im saying this from a local perspective since there are other resorts who are a bit more "mataray" or snooty.
Food - the food is good. I can stay there for 5 days and just order off their menu. the staff is always attentive & once we ordered past 8pm and yet they still agreed to prepare us the food even if it was already past their "last order" hour.
Diving - the diving is great. their diving instructor Gary explains things in a lively & clear manner. they are pretty flexible too.

Room Tip: pick cottage 1 & 2 as they are nearest to the beach & has strong wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiziWizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Kiwi dive resort is the perfect place if you want to relax and do nothing for a couple of days. The acommodation is very basic, but it's also extremely cheap. We stayed there for six days and got to live in two different rooms. One of them (I think it was #2) had an aircon, but we never used it, because it's located in the shade and never gets so hot that you need to use the aircon. The location in the shade also means that there is never actually any hot water (the water is solar-heated), not even warm water, but that really wasn't a big deal as it was very hot whaen we were visiting, so cold water suited us just fine.
The staff at the resort are very friendly, happy to help with anything. They can organize island tours, diving, snorkelling, etc.
Food at the resort is good and cheap, I especially enjoyed the omlettes at breakfast.
Overall, it's a very quite and peaceful place, where you can just relax, take walks on the beach or just relax with a book in there lovely garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katri0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
15.9 km away
Coco Grove Beach Resort
4.9 km away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
16.0 km away
Islandia Beach Resort
Islandia Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in San Juan
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Tori's Backpacker's Paradise
10.1 km away
Buco Beach Resort Siquijor
12.6 km away
Tori's Paradise
Tori's Paradise
#8 of 10 in Siquijor Island
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Dive Resort

Property: Kiwi Dive Resort
Address: Sandugan Beach, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Siquijor Island
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing