We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.. better if you have a car for the entire stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Overall our stay at the Marina Bay was not overly enjoyable. However, the entire restaurant staff (well they were based in the restaurant) were lovely and very helpful throughout our entire stay.
The room itself was nice but the bathroom left something to be desired, however it was cleaned to a good standard on a daily basis.. If anything it was just ageing. The room was extremely hot and air conditioning was an optional extra (purchased via the on site shop) and very expensive. In that heat I don't feel you should have to pay extra just to feel comfortable.
The room did have a lovely balcony with a sea view and the beach was nice. However, the hotel charged to use their sun loungers on the sand but if you were on the grass they were free. They weren't cheap either.
The hotel is a good distance out of town and the walk is very hilly as well as the roads being unstable and crazy drivers! Also taking into account the heat a taxi or hire car is the only option.. making it an overall expensive stay.
There are maybe a couple of restaurants near by at a push but not sure if you would walk to them in the dark.
I am just being honest but personally we wouldn't recommend or stay there again but that isn't to say it wouldn't be suitable for others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed for a week at the Marina Bay Hotel for the first time at the end of June.The Hotel is located outside the main resort of Skala and is situated on Mounda beach which is a beautiful almost isolated beach which at times we almost had to ourselves.The hotel room was spacious & had facilities to self cater. The staff were welcoming & pleasant.Overall we had an excellent experience & we are planning to go back to stay at the Marina Hotel again in september which is a first for us to return to the same hotel & resort a second time as we like to stay somewhere different every time we go away!You will not be
disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouLou0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

All the rooms overlook the sea, so spacious and comfortable. It is so peaceful, and idyllic we really loved it. It is about 3km outside of Scala, but we pick up a car anyway, so this was no problem. That was what was so appealing, being away from crowds. It was so relaxing, quiet and the only noise at night was the lapping of the sea. I couldnt recommend this Hotel highly enough. We will definately be going back next year. It is ideally placed for visiting other parts of the island too. We went to Lixouri, Sami, Katelios, and had an absolutely wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view, the only choice is whether you want ground floor or above
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maurjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This is without exception the nicest of 3 hotels I've stayed in, on Kefalonia. In fact, it's easily one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, anywhere... Not bad considering we've paid more money than this to stay in some right old dives. The room was beautiful, spacious, and kept immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The (Thai) kitchen staff were in fact so infectiously happy that you always wanted a pint of whatever they were on. Every single room overlooks the beautiful, almost private beach. The infinity pool is smallish but gloriously placed, overlooking the sea. This hotel was a joy to stay in. The only one where you actually think "I might just stay here all day". Great stuff, top marks.. Also if you like birds then the added treat is the housemartins which are nesting under the eaves, and envelope the hotel in a cloud of birds at dawn and dusk. Very pretty. Wish we'd stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Benjy_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I wasn't expecting anything as we booked a cheap package holiday and was so suprised by the service and quality of this hotel. Spiros and his staff really take care of you and the general atmosphere is really lovely.

Our rooms had a beach view and the sea was about two minutes away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

couldnt praise this hotel highly enough.the staff carnt do enough for you,the location is second to none.if i had to find a down side it would be that car hire is a must,but a taxi into skala is only six euros and there is always someone willing to share.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirecat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The overall price of our holiday was very cheap compared to other Greek holidays we had booked. So we braced ourselves before arriving, thinking the hotel would be very basic. We were very surprised on arrival as the Hotel was very well maintained and very clean. The Hotel includes a shop, restaurant/bar, pool and private beach. This is a family run business and they are very friendly, good hearted and hardworking people. They couldnt do enough for us and wanted to make our holiday as good as possible. All the staff at the Marina Bay were English speaking and were on hand 24 hours a day. Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels were replaced every other day.The hotel is set on Mounda Beach where the beautiful logger head turtles lay their eggs. It is treated as a conservation/protected area so is therefore a VERY quiet beach. If you are a wildlife lover you can get involved in the local loggerhead preservation charity located in Katelios nearby. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast is basic but good. They serve , tea, coffee, juice, toast, cereal, yoghurt, boiled eggs, meats, cheese the usual buffet breakfast food. The restaurant is good and they serve home grown fresh food. After a few nights we had tried everything on the menu and ate out in Skala. I loved the location of this hotel as it was away from towns and nightlife. It isnt a luxury hotel but that is reflected in the price. It is a very clean, friendly place and the setting is fantastic.It was heaven walking out of our room, through the gardens and straight onto that lovely beach everyday! It is very much out of the way and hiring a car is recommended as it is too far to walk to the nearest towns. We used a local firm called Greekstones and they were Excellent. (we were warned by other holiday makers that some other car hire places in the area weren't very honest etc....) Greekstones have very good reviews on the internet and they were the most professional when we met them compared to other car hire places we had been in for quotes. We struck up some football banter with the owner and he gave us more discount!! Kefalonian people love the English....I'd never experience another country welcome English like they do and it made our holiday. There are a number of excursions you can book or do what we did... hire a car and get a map!
I loved this hotel and island and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic2rMeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
5.5 km away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#18 of 23 in Skala
96 reviews
4.5 km away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
238 reviews
23.8 km away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
35.6 km away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Hotel Apartments

Address: Mounda Beach, Skala 280 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range: $92 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bay Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Marina Bay Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing