We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
173
182
46
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
182
46
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view great shower sun terrace on the roof lovely room comfortable hotel la gomera studio apartment excellent position small supermarket plenty of loungers pool area bars and restaurants watch the sunset travel agent courtesy room quieter area sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 424 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We actually stayed in the sister hotel albatros but had free access to the Atlantic.
We used the pool area which was always clean and tidy and not too crowded.
The views are stunning.
We used the gym multiple times. It was ok but ideally needs some more weights and another weight bench would be ideal as it starts to get busy after breakfast.
The sun terrace on the roof is an absolute treat! It really made it for us.
Such a large space with loungers/brollies and tables.
So quiet up there, can't hear a thing. And again the views were amazing!
We ate in the restaurant which was nice but could be better.
Vegetarian options were poor and my cheese/spinach pasta was dry with no sauce.
Such a great location to eat and watch the sunset but definitely need to make changes to the menu.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BamBam1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

An odd place. Could be great but a few details let it down.

The Atlantic has a smart appearance, all light colours and pale floorings. Works well, although lacks character.

We had a sea view apartment (more of which later). Unobstructed panorama, right out to La Gomera. Had a couple of great sunsets.

Large one-bed apartment with a good sized kitchen / living room. Fairly comfortable beds. No microwave in this one (there were in the two others...) Apartment 407.

Problem was the Atlantic doesn't feel special. It's a bit like an upmarket Travelodge. Perfectly competent, replete with facilities. But nothing more.

If you are considering this apartment complex, please be aware that the street side apartments face several restaurants and a bar, so there's a good deal of noise, even though the bar isn't rowdy and the restaurants fairly quiet as they go. The sea view rooms look out over the swimming pool. Even on the top floor, as we were, you can't escape the day-long noise from below, especially if there are kids playing. It's not peaceful at all.

Plus points: great shower; comfortable chairs in the living room; good cooker.

Would have been, I suppose, a 4star review except the lack of customer service. We arrived about 11pm and were met at reception by a lad/man (aged anywhere between 18 and 36) who is probably in the dictionary as the definition of 'three sheets to the wind'. Gave us the key cards to our room and off we went. Realised once in it was a street view room even though we'd paid extra for the sea view. So off we went back downstairs to sort it out. Three Sheets Boy seemed unsure how the booking system worked but eventually took three sets of key cards for a random selection of rooms in the hope that one set would be for a sea view room. Strike three! and we had a room looking out to the Atlantic. But only for the night. Having finally got to sleep about 1.30am had to go down next morning (7.30) to speak to a woman on reception, who had no idea what the problem was, despite the desk lad stating repeatedly he'd leave a note. Some negotiation later and we had our third room. Ok, not ideal, but there was no hint of an apology or acknowledgement that we'd been messed about. And what they were doing having someone clearly not up to the task the night before on desk perhaps indicates a general lack of interest that the reception staff have and that management are not dealing with. Cleaning staff and others: great. Friendly, did a good job. But front of house, so to speak, let the side down.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were initially disappointed as we were not given the room I had booked and paid for in advance. However we were given a cash refund and the room we had was extremely roomy, clean and the beds\pillows were excellent. There are plenty of sun beds so need to rush down in the mornings. The hotel overall is very good value for money and everywhere is very clean the only downside was the lack of English TV channels (none!!).

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 99AMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

I cannot praise the staff enough for their hard work . Excellent hotel to relax away from a hectic work load . The hotel exceeded our expectations with great food , location to the beach and the pool area. Rooms are big , clean and comfortable with a great sea view also with tv , cooker , kettle , toaster etc . Bathroom had the usual but a great shower , clean towels daily . I highly recommend The Atlantic Hotel . Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful easy week . See you all soon .

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frunk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We chose to be in a quieter area, and were drawn to the hotel by the location and views. Our check in experience was ok, not overly welcoming, but our room was ready and what we expected. There are two types of sea view room - one overlooks the pool and out towards la Gomera, and the other looks sideways towards the beach area. The pool/sea view will get the sun in the afternoon and through to sunset (fabulous to watch) but, with no air conditioning, I think these rooms would be very warm by late afternoon. The sea/beach view had the sunrise in the morning, and sun until about lunchtime. From all sea views, the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks is wonderful. I would not recommend a street view room-there is a strip of bars and restaurants across the street, one is an Irish/sports bar. Add this to the karaoke, and you can imagine the evening noise....The studio room was clean, comfortable and had a well equipped kitchen area. We asked for a fan as soon as we checked in. As we were on the second floor, we were able to leave the patio door open at night to get some air, but I don't think we would like to visit in height of summer. The cleaners came every day and replaced towels. We always bring our own toiletries, but don't rely on the ones provided by the hotel, very basic. The pool area is clean with plenty of beds, but the pool is freezing-be warned! The pool bar serves nice lunches, but agree with another review that 6pm is early to close. The sun terrace on the roof again has plenty of beds, chairs, and giant beanbags. We ate in the restaurant once, but felt that the waiters were surprised as we weren't on part of a half board or all inclusive package. Although the service was ok, people on some package were attended to differently. The menu was similar all over the resort, but the location of the hotel provides a great sunset view, so expect to pay a slight premium. We both had a fabulous massage-highly recommend this. The hotel was apparently fully booked, so we were unable to get a late check out, and no courtesy room was available. We had to use the shower by the toilets near the pool. We would recommend Nebula restaurant-good menu and excellent cocktails, and El Delfin which is cut into the rocks almost below the hotel. All in all we enjoyed our stay, and would probably return but not when the temperatures are too high. If the hotel added air conditioning it would be a definite. Maybe more information could be given upon check-in, restaurant times, local attractions, towel hire info etc, or a pack could be left in the room!

Room tip: Choose sea view, and higher floor
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allingtonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews