We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
177
83
25
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
83
25
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel groupextra fansbalinese styleminute walkhorse and cartlow tidemozzie netquiet sideceiling fansea view roomair conditioningsemi open bathroomwooden bungalowseach morninghotel poola lovely place to staynorthern part
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 307 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I visited Alam Gili in March 2018 together with 3 friends, and I'm a little torn about the experience.

We had read a lot of good recommendations of this place, and it was definitely true, that the staff is extremely friendly and smiling which is a great plus. Also, the location of the place was really good if you are looking to stay at a quieter corner of Gili T. After having walked around the entire island one morning we had no doubt that we chose the right spot.

But there were a couple of negatives that deduct from my overall impression. The cabins are pretty spacious and with nice outdoor bathrooms, but the hotel is definitely somewhat worn and old, and the cabins weren't all that clean, and just so damp and filled with insects (that could be general in the Gilis, I wouldn't know, but even several days after leaving the place my clothes still smelled moldy).

Also, we had a couple of bad experiences in the hotel-restaurant (which is nicely situated on the beach). The food was really good, when they had it. While we were there, they ran out of a lot of stuff (maybe they didn't want to order it home since it was low season and not many guests). Also, one day for lunch, we waited 1½ hours for our food. They apologized a lot, saying that the kitchen was really busy (we counted 6 other guests!).

So all in all, a mixed experience. I feel almost bad for giving a mixed review since the staff was so friendly and the location is so great, but still...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MsHaslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

From the beginning I felt welcomed by staff and our room was absolutely beautiful (and spotless clean)! Alam Gili is on the quiter side of the island with about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Gili. The staff are so attentive and the included breakfast was more than enough fuel for daily activities. Would highly recommend for a tranquil break on this wonderful little island.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

We spent 6 days in Alam Gili at the moment of writing. One more day and this is it in Gili Trawangan. The hotel has a superb location, close enough to the center but far enough from the noise. We were 4 and had 2 bungalows, turtle and fish.
Rooms are spacious and VERY clean. 24h hot water.
We have tried many of the restaurants on the island but must say that nobody offers the same quality for the same price as the hotel restaurant.
Staff generally is friendly in Indonesia but extremely friendly and helpful in this hotel.
Beach could be a little bit better cleaned and organized, this is my only critic. Thanks to all the staff for giving us such a good holiday. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank jessy_hoornaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamindahbali, Front Office Manager at Alam Gili, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Jessy,
Thank you for taking time to write your nice review on Trip Advisor.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive feed back of our beach.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ayu for Alam GILI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Located at the quieter part of the Island. If you arrive with little luggage, the hotel is easily reached by foot from the harbour, however larger or multiple bags require a horse cart pickup.
We had the "Duyung" room with the big, beautiful veranda overlooking the sea. Very relaxing during the afternoon heat. This room does not have air con, but we slept very comfortably with open doors and windows under our mozzie net. The room has a ceiling fan and extra fans/portable air con were provided. The staff tries to keep the mosquitoes under control in providing coils and spray before going to bed. The shady pool is very refreshing and always kept clean throughout the day. The trees surrounding the pool create a wonderful peaceful atmosphere. Breakfast is very good, don't forget to try the rice pudding, which needs to be ordered a day ahead. We had all our meals from their restaurant, although the vegetarian choices are limited. It did not bother us though.
Snorkelling right off the private hotel beach is an absolute must. Climbing over the exposed reef at low tide presents a challenge to the uncovered feet. Next time I would take some reef shoes.
The hotel offers water bottle refills, which we absolutely appreciated. Looking at all the plastic along the beaches, in the water and on the island, I feel it is high tide for us tourists to take action in helping reducing the plastic waste. We took our own reusable straws, which we cleaned with a sip from the water bottles.
All the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. Special mention needs to go to Joman and Dan, always ready for a good joke. We had an amazing time. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

our familiy of four really enjoyed our stay here, on what is surely the nicest section of gili t. our room was charming, and the grounds were lovely. i'd like to give a special shoutout to the staff, which was very professional, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagspackednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews