We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
221
173
38
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
173
38
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bathroom gili t muesli bars restaurants garden view pancakes hot water yummy breakfast breakfast was included location was perfect beach chairs sea turtles hire bikes every morning rooms are nice definitely recommend this place we loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 451 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

I stayed first for 4 nights at Balé Sampan, then decided to book another e nights. The bungalow (no 4) is perfect. Fan and AC are great, bathroom okay, it is a kind of an openair bathroom. Was always clean and nice, no bad smell.

Located a bit north the island, away from the discos in the souther part of the strip so it was calm at night what i prefer.

The breakfast (included) was absolutely amazing and delicious. Orange juice, cappuccino and the Muesli with fresh fruits and Lombok honey i can warmly recommend. The best breakfast on the island!!

Staff is very friendly, special thank to Rudy and Mita who always welcome you friendly when you come back from beach.

Some construction in the neighbourhood but they are all over the island so you can not really avoid that.

Balé Sampan is a great location to enjoy Gili T.
I will come back as soon as possible.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank t_merz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, they are really important to us and much appreciated. We generally do get great feedback about our breakfasts and our staff, but it is always great to hear that this is consistent. The best on the island is definitely a big compliment. Thank you. I will be sure to pass your message of thanks on.

Unfortunately, at this time of year there is construction all over the island as businesses prepare for high season and make any repairs after the rainy season. Luckily, there is a general rule on the island that construction cannot start before 9am and finishes at 5pm. Most of the time, this is respected.

We do hope to see you again soon at Bale Sampan Bungalows.

Best wishes,
Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

I stay 2 nights and overall are nice room, nice staff and have uniq bathroom. But I have bad experience with the bathroom, there is construction beside the bale sampan, and when I go bath the construction peek on me. I feel uncomfertable every time I used bathroom.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Nortisop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Thank you for your review and feedback, this really helps us to provide a better service. I apologize for the bad experience you had whilst using your bathroom. When we received your review we approached the neighboring property who are currently in the process of repairing their bungalows and some roofs, much to our surprise as we had no advance warning of their scheduled repairs. We have since added an extra two feet of screening on top of our bathroom walls. I have also seen a photo taken from the top of the roofs next door, and although I do appreciate it is unsettling to see someone on a roof from your private bathroom, I can assure you that their line of vision was not actually into our showers. We have now bought some removable roof covers for the bathrooms in case any future guests prefer more privacy while the construction is taking place next door.

We do hope to see you again at Bale Sampan Bungalows.

Best wishes,
Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

Bale is located just off the bustle and night parties of Gili T. location is great because we werent affected by the loud music and party-goers yet close enough to eateries and attractions. 3mins bicycle ride to the jetty and central strip.

Rooms are spacious with a huge bed. outdoor bathroom is massive and nice too.

The staff were always cheerful and attentive. hotel ground were fairly well maintained.
bike rental rate was reasonable and the best snorkelling spots were nearby the hotel.

WIFI and mobile signal in the furthest rooms were almost nonexistent(i stayed in room 12b).
hotel doesnt provide hairdryers and the tiny tv barely worked. in this aspect I expected more for the price paid. breakfast choices and portions were not fantastic neither.

OVERALL this is a very good hotel if you stay in the rooms nearer to the entrance.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Thank you for your kind feedback and taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it. We are very lucky that our location is close to the action but far enough away that it is still peaceful here in both the day and the night. It is also great that we have one of the best snorkelling spots right on our doorstep. Our staff work very hard to maintain the bungalows and provide a good standard of customer service.

We have recently had a problem with a cable for our TV and internet connection, and this has now been replaced. We cannot provide hairdryers as we don’t have enough power distributed to us from the provider on the island to run them.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and hope to see you back at Bale Sampan at some point in the future.

Best wishes,
Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016

Spacious room, with English TV, and great cold air-con (neccessary!) The bathroom was unique as it was kind of outdoors with a slight open roof, not so much you'd get rained on but felt cool showering out there, however the shower was a slight trickle in our room, girlfriend said it was difficult to wash her hair in it aparently.

Small hotel with maybe 12 rooms, private pool which we chilled next to most days. Its on the beach front as well so can choose where to relax.

Good small cafe for free breakfast and lunch if you wanted, the Nutella milkshakes were great!

Be careful paying on card here though, their machine timed out during the transactionmeaning the money came out of our account but then didnt reach the hotels bank, so we had to pay again in cash and wait two weeks for our money to be returned to us.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank callumtyson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write this review and for your feedback. It is very helpful to us. In relation to the payment issues you experienced, the transaction never went to our credit card machine, therefore did not go to our bank. It was not a matter of the machine ‘timing out’, as if it had I would still have been able to prove whether or not we had taken the money, which we hadn’t, by settling the machine. I have also had the same problem personally using an Australian card in Indonesia and can sympathise that this is a pain, but it is solely related to an issue from the card issuer’s end, and not a problem with our card machine here.

We get great feedback on our café and breakfasts and we are glad you enjoyed them also. We are also very proud to say that we do still have a full, unbuilt on beach area at Bale Sampan, which is unusual in this area of Gili Trawangan as most businesses have cashed in on the opportunity to build on the beach.

Our water pressure is actually good as far as island standards go for fresh water. Some other businesses that provide only cold, well water (salty) do have better water pressure, but we provide our guests with clean, fresh and hot water. We will probably never have the water pressure that you get on mainland Lombok or in Bali, but we have large shower heads to provide as much water in the showers as possible. Nevertheless, I’m sorry if your girlfriend struggled, it can take a while to adjust to island quirks.

We hope to see you again at Bale Sampan Bungalows.

Best wishes,
Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

Very nice Hotel with wonderful staff and fine rooms with veranda right on the beach. Perfekt för snorcling swimming and sunbathing. Were are plenty of restaurant and bars nearby. Byt not right in the middle.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jannilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaleSampanBungalows, General Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very proud of our staff and the level of customer service they provide, always with a smile! Our location on the island is one we are very lucky to have, very central but far enough away from the noise. The beach front is available for sunbathing and yes, the snorkeling off the beach here at Bale Sampan is one of the best spots on this island.

We hope to see you again at Bale Sampan Bungalows in the future.

Best wishes,
Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews