We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Gili T”
Review of Scallywags Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scallywags Resort
Ranked #2 of 183 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good restaurant and good value for money. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to the Gilis

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

We loved Gilli Trawangan and Scallywags was a good choice
Pros
Incredible value at AU$85 per night including breakfast
Beautiful, spotless and charming bungalows.
Romantic outdoor bathroom,comfortable bed
Clean pool with great lounges and cabanas to relax in
Restaurant was excellent and the setting right on the beach was fabulous
Make sure you go on their boat to Gilli Air for the day. Fabulous snorkelling over there and Scallwags restaurant was even better than Gilli T one. A bargain at about AU$10 each for boat ride and lunch
Cons
Some of the staff were not particularly friendly
Reception and the pool attendent were the best by far
The very loud English owner and South African Manager who repeatedly discussed staffing problems in the restaurant for all the patrons to hear. Come on guys be more discreet and a bit professional and do it out of earshot. Your guests don't want to hear all the nitty gritty - we are on holidays so keep it private !!!

Loved it and can't wait to try the new hotel on Gili Air
Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigbear69, Owner at Scallywags Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Dear MickiAus
Thanks very much for your favourable review of Scallywags Resort .
From both Dave the manager and myself ''the very loud English owner''
We continue day to day to make sure everything is tip top at Scallywags on a day to day basis.
We have taken onboard your comments that our voices can be heard when we are chewing the fat over a beer on our day to day discussions keeping our resort no 1.
We shall in future take your advise and go and sit on a remote part of the beach under a palm tree to discuss our internal staff problems.

In the meantime we will endeavour to make sure all our Scallywags Staff remain super friendly at all times.

Yours Sincerely

Nigel Ames

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I had room 7, great. The best quality linen i have had in any hotel,crisp cool sheets after a hot and exhusting days snorkling...bliss. Huge variety of dishes available in the resturant, great quality breakfast buffet all served with smiles. Transport to GiliT in Scallywags own boat, great fun. This is a must. I had a great time here and hope to return with all my family for our next holiday.
I would add how refreshing it is to not find lots of added taxes on the bill too, the price you see is the price you pay, even items from the mini bar in your room are charged at the same price as the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We live and work in Bali and stayed at Scallywags to hide away from Nyepi. We were very impressed with the whole experience; check in was efficient and informative, the room was very clean and stylish, we loved the outdoor shower, the relaxing pool and the friendly staff all helped to make our short stay at Scallywags very comfortable. We especially liked the fact that the villa room lights were switched on for you during the evening, meaning you don't come back to a dark room, the little touches like this that make for quality.

We met David, the manager, who was great with his guests, and very willing to please.

We would seriously recommend Scallywags to anyone wanting a welcome break from the hussle and bussle of Gili T.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Scallywags completing my first trip to Gili T with my wife... We stay #6 The room was really great, clean n comfortable..I realy realy realy adore the room
My wifes loves the open air bathroom.. I'll recomend to all my indonesian frenz..
And don't worry about the water issue on gili t. Scallywags gives u very FRESH WATER even for the pool..
I will post my photos verry soon guys..
Amazinggg experience at Scallywags........difinitely will b back again n book for a week :)
By: Yuda Triwibawa

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yudatriwibawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

what can i say... just perfect.
Gili T: Divers Paradise. We don`t dive but even snorkeling ist great here.
Many Restaurants - but imho the scallywags restaurant is one of the best on the island.
Even though there are Parties in one of the restaurants every night the room was quiet enough to sleep very well. Aircon, open-air bathroom, flatscreen+dvd+large dvd-collection(free). Super friendly Staff, Breakfast was ok inkl. fresh juice.
Don´t miss to visit the scallywags beachclub on gili air. just ask at the reception.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Been many times to Bali and south east Asia, this is really a great place with consistent great food....probably the best for $'s on the island.
Really well run boutique hotel with organised staff....really nothing to complain about.
All depends on what you want to spend of course as you can stay down the road for $10 if you want.
Staff are all superb and just lovely people.
Snorkelling and diving is great....we saw giant turtles 3 out of the 4 times we went out just snorkeling....cooool.

Mike and Debbie
Perth

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikenan0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#9 of 41 in Gili Trawangan
1,938 reviews
0.2 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#7 of 41 in Gili Trawangan
666 reviews
2.1 km away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 41 in Gili Trawangan
489 reviews
0.2 km away
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
#1 of 183 in Gili Trawangan
620 reviews
1.4 km away
Jali Resort
Jali Resort
#1 of 41 in Gili Trawangan
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Resort

Address: South Beach, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: C$63 - C$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scallywags Resort on the beautiful holiday island of Gili Trawangan accommodates guests in stylish comfort at an affordable price. Featuring 6 resort rooms, 4 pool view rooms, 22 garden rooms, 4 ocean view rooms and 5 private plunge pool rooms all light-filled, private and equipped with modern facilities. Scallywags is the island's leader in quality accommodation. We're one of the only resort to offer fresh hot and cold water for showers (+ swimming pool) and 2 generator for constant electricity. Beside an azure sea with a large swimming pool and one of the island's best restaurants, Scallywags will be your home in Gili Trawangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Scallywags Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Hotel Gili Trawangan
Scallywags Resort Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing