We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely time”
Review of Villa Julius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Julius
Ranked #29 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We spent 5 nights at Villa Julius and we really loved it.
Since the beach isn't really nice to swim when it's low tide, the pool is really appreciated! You can also rent a bike at the hotel to go around the island and to other beaches.
There is a lot of choices for breakfast and everything is very good!
The staff was always lovely and helpful with us. Everyone was so kind, we felt like we made new friends!

Room Tip: Ocean and sweet hart rooms have an ocean view with a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenceqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Dear Laurence,
Thankyou very much for having staying with us in Villa Julius. We will keep our services in proper and will make all the possibilities in a better way.
It was such a nice chance for usto be your host during your stay in Gili Trawangan.
We do really appreciate to have a very nice review and promise to serve you better in a future occasion.
Thank you, Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2016

We arrived at Villa Julius and were warmly greeted by the staff. We were shown to our room, called "Safary". The room was spacious and well presented (although the floor boards could do with a re-boot). I immediately noticed that the air con was quite loud and rumbling. I asked the Manager, Gege, about this and he said it was 'normal'. We had a good afternoon lounging by the pool, and enjoyed the sunset as Villa Julius is set on that side of the island. The bed was comfortable but I was a little annoyed at the air con.
I informed the gentlemen in the office that morning who notified their technician.

When they realised it probably needed replacing they upgraded us to their "Sweet Hart" room. This is one of their deluxe rooms. We then had problems with the plumbing...the toilet wasn't flushing properly, and the shower would take time to kick in to action, and then at times you'd have the water for 30 seconds, then no water for 10 seconds and so on. We put up with this because we didn't want to complain further, but by the end of the stay I felt the need to tell them because they had an entire wedding party coming to Julius (and the bride was staying in this room).

The included breakfast was simple but enjoyable, especially being to eat it by the beach itself. Julius has part of their restaurant on the beach (that's how close you are). The tide was in during the mornings, and out in the evenings (revealing the rocky bottom).

The staff at Julius is the biggest positive. I got to know one of the lads, Gede, quite well during our stay. Gede and the other staff are always smiling and friendly. They will help you out with whatever you need, and organised bicycles for us to hire (50k per day - about $5 AUD).

I've read a lot of great reviews about Jullius. I don't know whether it was just the two rooms we happened to get, but Julius is in need of some serious repairs and facility upgrades, not just quick fixes. Our air con in our new room stopped working during the night. The pool cleanliness varied during our time there. Wifi mostly good, but touch and go from our room (required a lot of re-connecting).

If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle/party areas of Gili T then this area of the island is pretty good!

Room Tip: If you have the ability to make a booking without paying, perhaps inspect your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naresh3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !
Dear Mr. Naresh,
Thank you for your valuable time to have chance writting us review.
We do really appreciate of your advice and tell us more about our facilities which has to be fixed.
As your information, we have already fix the air condition on Safary room and now it runs well and properly.
Thank you very much for giving us advice to take some repairs immediately and asyou know we have in planning after high season.
Hope, next coming period we can serve you better.
Thank you,
Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Julius Villas - we were meant to stay a shorter time but we loved it so much we extended our stay. We had sea views and the bed was so comfortable - marshmallow pillows! Breakfast every morning of the beach was great and the staff super super sweet and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 123aneliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !

Dear Aneliese,
It was a proud of us that make you in a comfortable stay and extend your stay at our Hotel, Villa Julius as ypur hotel destination in Gili Trawangan. Thank you very much for your appreciation to ous services to you during your stay. Hope we can make it better for your next stay at Villa Julius. Please tell everyone about Gili Trawangan. Best regard, Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Other side of the island, away from the busy harbour area. Here you can just relax, take sun, swim in the pool or in the ocean, if water is high enough. Very friendly staff and clean & really nice rooms! Here you can also see the sunset! :) For those who want to relax and feel like you are almost in your own "private" hotel!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 963minttuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius, Gili Trawangan !
Dear Valued guests,
Thank you for taking your valuable time writting us the review of our hotel, Villa Julius in Gili Trawangan.
Thank you also for your positive and an excellent review to represent our hotel services, facilities and ts location which is far from noisy area. We promise you should you come and stay again in Gili Trawangan, it is highly appreciated can have another better experience staying with us again at Villa Julius.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 days 2 night at Villa Julius with my friends. Their room was beautiful with a wooden floor and a big closet. They have a big and beautiful bathroom too with a shower, bathtub, 2 basins. Villa Julius was so clean and comfortable.

The beach was 3 meters from the villa and their view was wonderful.

They provide breakfast and you can have breakfast at the beach.

The staffs were very kind and warm. They had a good hospitality. I was very satisfied while staying in this Villa.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Griselda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !
Dear Ms. Griselda,
It was such a nice experience giving you a chance of Villa Julius to be your host during your holiday in Gili Trawangan. We do thank you very much for writting us a very good review base on your experience during the stay at Villa Julius, Gili Trawangan.
We promise you will give a better service to you should you plan to have a holiday again in Indonesia, especially in Gili Trawangan. It is really an appreciattion to us and make us proud to be your host.
Thank you and regard, Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The staff was genuine and helpful. Room service, their willingness to help and the warm attitude all contributed to an overall wonderful stay. Okie, Gede and other staff members who ran the restaurant were great. I didn't give it five stars because there were some problems with the AC, the TV cable was out, and wifi didn't stay connected. It is an island so understandable. I stayed in the honeymoon/sweetheart room and it really has the best view of the sunset. The veranda is so luxurious. The bed and the sheets are heavenly. The cheese omelette, one of the options for breakfast, was delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jadejewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Overall this is a lovely hotel to stay in if you'd like a relaxing beachfront hotel.
The rooms are spacious, bugs can get in though but there is a net around the bed so they don't get on you whilst you sleep.
There's no TV in the room but aircon works well and the bathroom is large.

The only issue we had was the pool, the water was filthy and didn't seem to be cleaned the entire time we were there. I believe this was just the water from the sea as it was overly salty and misty.

Breakfast had a good selection and there was enough on the menu on a lunchtime/ evening to suit most people.

We asked for our clothes to be cleaned on our first day and by our third it still wasn't ready and we had to hang around over an hour after we checked out to get our clothes back, which were still damp and smelt musky so at our next hotel we had to get them cleaned again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.8 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
590 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,174 reviews
2.1 km away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Gili Teak Resort and Beach Club
Gili Teak Resort and Beach Club
#6 of 255 in Gili Trawangan
240 reviews
0.4 km away
Belukar Villas
Belukar Villas
#8 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
179 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
#23 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Julius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Julius

Address: Pantai Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $66 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Julius 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel located right on the beach, offers panoramic seaside views with stunning sunsets over the island of Bali in distance. The Philosophy of Villa Julius is to combine design and innovation on a paradise island, to create a small bohemian chic Hotel for today's traveler. The small hotel is situated on the northwest of the island, nestled amongst palm trees on the beach with breathtaking views and only a short bike ride from where the action is. Villa Julius offers a perfect balance between splendid seclusion, and being stranded on a tropical island – it’s everything a luxury beach hotel should be, but for the most affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Julius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Julius Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing