We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
104
51
22
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
51
22
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower hosetop floorocean roomwest sidegili tsuperior roomquiet siderent a bikehorse cartroom was spacious and cleanhotel is locatedstayed longerswimming poolmain harbourdinner on the beacha lovely staybig bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 208 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We arrived at Villa Julius and were warmly greeted by the staff. We were shown to our room, called "Safary". The room was spacious and well presented (although the floor boards could do with a re-boot). I immediately noticed that the air con was quite loud and rumbling. I asked the Manager, Gege, about this and he said it was 'normal'. We had a good afternoon lounging by the pool, and enjoyed the sunset as Villa Julius is set on that side of the island. The bed was comfortable but I was a little annoyed at the air con.
I informed the gentlemen in the office that morning who notified their technician.

When they realised it probably needed replacing they upgraded us to their "Sweet Hart" room. This is one of their deluxe rooms. We then had problems with the plumbing...the toilet wasn't flushing properly, and the shower would take time to kick in to action, and then at times you'd have the water for 30 seconds, then no water for 10 seconds and so on. We put up with this because we didn't want to complain further, but by the end of the stay I felt the need to tell them because they had an entire wedding party coming to Julius (and the bride was staying in this room).

The included breakfast was simple but enjoyable, especially being to eat it by the beach itself. Julius has part of their restaurant on the beach (that's how close you are). The tide was in during the mornings, and out in the evenings (revealing the rocky bottom).

The staff at Julius is the biggest positive. I got to know one of the lads, Gede, quite well during our stay. Gede and the other staff are always smiling and friendly. They will help you out with whatever you need, and organised bicycles for us to hire (50k per day - about $5 AUD).

I've read a lot of great reviews about Jullius. I don't know whether it was just the two rooms we happened to get, but Julius is in need of some serious repairs and facility upgrades, not just quick fixes. Our air con in our new room stopped working during the night. The pool cleanliness varied during our time there. Wifi mostly good, but touch and go from our room (required a lot of re-connecting).

If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle/party areas of Gili T then this area of the island is pretty good!

Room Tip: If you have the ability to make a booking without paying, perhaps inspect your room first.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naresh3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !
Dear Mr. Naresh,
Thank you for your valuable time to have chance writting us review.
We do really appreciate of your advice and tell us more about our facilities which has to be fixed.
As your information, we have already fix the air condition on Safary room and now it runs well and properly.
Thank you very much for giving us advice to take some repairs immediately and asyou know we have in planning after high season.
Hope, next coming period we can serve you better.
Thank you,
Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Julius Villas - we were meant to stay a shorter time but we loved it so much we extended our stay. We had sea views and the bed was so comfortable - marshmallow pillows! Breakfast every morning of the beach was great and the staff super super sweet and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 123aneliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !

Dear Aneliese,
It was a proud of us that make you in a comfortable stay and extend your stay at our Hotel, Villa Julius as ypur hotel destination in Gili Trawangan. Thank you very much for your appreciation to ous services to you during your stay. Hope we can make it better for your next stay at Villa Julius. Please tell everyone about Gili Trawangan. Best regard, Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Other side of the island, away from the busy harbour area. Here you can just relax, take sun, swim in the pool or in the ocean, if water is high enough. Very friendly staff and clean & really nice rooms! Here you can also see the sunset! :) For those who want to relax and feel like you are almost in your own "private" hotel!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 963minttuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius, Gili Trawangan !
Dear Valued guests,
Thank you for taking your valuable time writting us the review of our hotel, Villa Julius in Gili Trawangan.
Thank you also for your positive and an excellent review to represent our hotel services, facilities and ts location which is far from noisy area. We promise you should you come and stay again in Gili Trawangan, it is highly appreciated can have another better experience staying with us again at Villa Julius.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 days 2 night at Villa Julius with my friends. Their room was beautiful with a wooden floor and a big closet. They have a big and beautiful bathroom too with a shower, bathtub, 2 basins. Villa Julius was so clean and comfortable.

The beach was 3 meters from the villa and their view was wonderful.

They provide breakfast and you can have breakfast at the beach.

The staffs were very kind and warm. They had a good hospitality. I was very satisfied while staying in this Villa.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Griselda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gege6363, Director of Sales at Villa Julius, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Greetings from Villa Julius !
Dear Ms. Griselda,
It was such a nice experience giving you a chance of Villa Julius to be your host during your holiday in Gili Trawangan. We do thank you very much for writting us a very good review base on your experience during the stay at Villa Julius, Gili Trawangan.
We promise you will give a better service to you should you plan to have a holiday again in Indonesia, especially in Gili Trawangan. It is really an appreciattion to us and make us proud to be your host.
Thank you and regard, Gege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2016

The staff was genuine and helpful. Room service, their willingness to help and the warm attitude all contributed to an overall wonderful stay. Okie, Gede and other staff members who ran the restaurant were great. I didn't give it five stars because there were some problems with the AC, the TV cable was out, and wifi didn't stay connected. It is an island so understandable. I stayed in the honeymoon/sweetheart room and it really has the best view of the sunset. The veranda is so luxurious. The bed and the sheets are heavenly. The cheese omelette, one of the options for breakfast, was delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jadejewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews