We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it, will def stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
H Rooms @ Horizontal
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“we loved it, will def stay here again”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we just got back from a month long holiday in Indonesia. spent a week on Gilli T and stayed in a few different places as it was so busy everywhere and horizontal was one of my favourite places. We stayed in villa 1 for 2 nights and paid about $140 AUD per night. I thought this was great value for money, the villa was huge. I LOVED the outdoor lounge room. After a day off snorkling or laying on the beach it was nice to sit down and relax outside and watch a movie. Even better you could sit in the pool/spa and watch it.
The bed was huge!! The bathroom was lovely and i really can't fault the room especially for the price we were paying. I'm sure it would have been even cheaper if the island wasn't practically booked out.
The villa was very private, had walls around it and you couldn't get in without a key which would make it perfect for couples.
I found the service great. The bar tenders were very friendly and always good to have a chat with. The only downside i would say would prob be the food service. The food was pretty good just the time it took sometimes was a bit long. But then again i found that the service was pretty slow everywhere on Gilli T it just drives you a bit crazy when you're hungover.
I didn't find any problems with the noise as everywhere on that side of the island pretty much closes around midnight. So overall it is a great place to stay. Perfect for families, couples and groups. Can't wait to get back there

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossy_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    8
    6
    16
See reviews for
5
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My girlfriend and I had just stayed a few nights at Alam Gili which is at the top of the Island but wanted to get a little closer to the action. After pricing and checking out the rooms/villas down on the main strip of Trawangan - the Horizontal Bar was a no brainer.

For Rp 500,000 (Around AUS $60) you get a private villa (and I mean private, no one can get in or out without a key or climbing a massive fence) with its own yard, indoor fresh water bathroom (that had a shower from the future) that had its own outdoor garden, a separate massive sunken loungeroom with couch room for at least 6 people, free pay tv, plus a dvd player that accepts hard drives, and a fridge. If thats not good enough there's also a big yard with 2 sun lounges and a plunge pool!

Trust me, for anywhere in Indonesia that I have found, this is a very good deal.

One note here - the 'plunge pool' itself was supposed to be a spa/jacuuzi, however due to electricity concerns the staff/management opted to keep them turned off in all the villas. This was explained to me as to the reason why the villas were so cheap. I'm still stunned by the difference in price of a few other places that we checked out.

The staff there were very friendly and helpful, room service is great and the staff went out of their way to accomodate any requests we had (not that many, they had most bases covered). The setup of the villas is that they are next to each other (you can have a door unlocked to move between villas if you're in a bigger group) down a path, and at the end of the path is a little station for the staff to relax in and keep an eye on your villas.

Another note - from what I've seen the Gilis have very little theft, but it is nice to know that someone is there watching for people jump over the fence.

In terms of noise, we were actually in Villa 1, so the closest to the bar/kitchen etc. At night they pump up the music til around midnight, however once in the actual room you can barely hear it, if at all. When you sit in the plunge pool you can actually throw a movie on the dvd player from their complementary selection or things you have brought yourself you barely notice their is music playing.

Ok the rooms. The bed is massive! Its also on a platform which is even bigger than the bed so you have a massive bed on an even bigger platform, you feel like a sultan or something its awesome. Very very comfortable. The rooms were clean that I noticed, the floors may have needed a bit of a mop, inside and outside, however that was it I would say.

The worst thing was that the doors were ridiculously heavy and not set correctly on their tracks. I would not want to be an older person trying to haul these beasts open regularly. However the heaviness of the doors also contributed to the sound proofing.

Food was good for Indo hotel food. I've have had better, however have had far far worse. Breakfast was also included in the night price.

The only thing that struck me as funny with H Bar is that there has obviously been a plan to put in a pool at the front, however it hasn't gone ahead. The upside of the lack of pool is that the price is what it is, so thats not a complaint, just an observation. Hopefully next time we come round there's a pool and they still have such good prices!

So yes, to summarise. Awesome private villa with its own loungeroom and plunge pool. Directly in the main strip of trawangan, so you can either party on throughout the night or lock the door and ignore the outside world. Really friendly and efficient staff, good food, and great atmosphere. Price? Ridiculously cheap compared to everything else when you consider what you get. H Rooms/Horizontal Bar gets an easy 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanOz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This up-scale and expensive place has as only advantage its location in the island and the possibility of having breakfast right on the beach.
The rooms are cosy and partially well decorated. However, some details place this high-end villas much at the bottom of my preferences: no swimming pool, a noisy diesel engine producing electricity was behind my villa disturbing at night time, and when moved to other villa the toilet was not working properly which I found a mess and definitively not acceptable for that level of high prices.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We had a fabulous 10 days staying here. The location is fabulous and the red couches on the beach are the best! The place looks really trendy and we thought it would be too cool for us but turned out to be very good value during the off season. I would be disappointed if I was paying top dollar at the height of the tourist season though. It is 8 years old now and in need of some much needed maintenance that started on the bar area while we were there. I hope the maintenance plans extend to the villas. The rooms are quiet even though initial appearances look like it is a full on party place (which apparently it is in the high season). Easy to escape that during the day. Spa tub in the private courtyard is not very inviting at all and the non air conditioned lounge room can get very hot. The staff were lovely and provided really good service, and were open to suggestions we made about improvements. The food is mostly good and cocktails are great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Went here to celebrate my 30th birthday, after seeing there impressive website. It promised so much, yet disgustingly they didn't deliver on anything. The customer service was TERRIBLE with very poor hospitality standards. I was laughed at by the manager when i tried to explain how disappointed i was. The rooms were once lovely, but are not maintained and therefore look shabby e.g. paint peeling off wall, leaking toilet, blocked drains, a jacuzzi that doesn't work, broken shower ....... these are just a couple of things. When i pointed them out to the manager, he just looked at me with a smile and said '' OK, so what would you like me to do??'' Instead of finding a solution or apologising! Food is also not great and overall hygiene is of budget accommodation standards. All in all it turned out to be a ruined birthday!! Luckily we found a room the next day in 'Scallywags Resort'. It was amazing, friendly staff, delicious food, great location, a beautiful clean room with outdoor bathroom, contemporary pool area - All Very well maintained . It was actually cheaper than H rooms too. (cost: H rooms - 150 USD, Scallywags - 110 USD). H rooms prices were just too high... you don't get very much for your money, apart from the trendy architecture...
I will soon add some photos i took of H rooms. Then you can compare them with the photos on the H rooms website: www.thegiliislands.com/h_rooms.html

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmadAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Gili Trawangan is what I imagine Bali used to be before tourists arrived en masse. Beautiful clear blue skies and water, white sandy beaches. The H Rooms are the perfect place to base yourself to enjoy Gili from.

The rooms are huge, decorated in a funky contemporary Asian style, and include a very spacious indoor and outdoor living area with a private mini above ground pool. The rooms are starting to look a bit tired after only a couple of years, & are longing for some minor maintenance but overall they are a great choice for the location, especially compared to some of the traditional bungalows & hotel rooms in a similar price range.

Service here was exceptional also, very friendly & proactive, again especially compared to that of the 4/5 star hotel/restaurant down the road where it was poor. There is also a great beachfront bar, & service extends to the beach chairs out front.

The only area i thought could be improved on was the food, although good enough, there were a couple of really great alternatives down the street.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.5 km away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
329 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
0.6 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
#1 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
565 reviews
0.3 km away
Pondok Windy
Pondok Windy
#125 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
44 reviews
0.4 km away
Gili Divers Hotel
Gili Divers Hotel
#61 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H Rooms @ Horizontal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Rooms @ Horizontal

Property: H Rooms @ Horizontal
Address: Jl. Pantai | Horizontal Beach, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H Rooms @ Horizontal 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your H Rooms @ Horizontal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Rooms @ Horizontal Hotel Gili Trawangan
H Rooms @ Horizontal Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing