We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
371
97
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
97
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north side gili t quiet side outdoor shower the general manager private pool horse cart each evening yogurt northern part the hotel manager reef shoes sun loungers min walk the hustle and bustle party island private boat
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have recently arrived back from Wilsons Retreat and we absolutely loved our time there. We were a little hesitant about the recent earthquakes but the property wasn't effected at all and during our stay it was evident that the atmosphere was picking up on the island in general. We walked the island several times and it's pretty easy to see the properties where they have cared about the structure, strength, and build rather than trying to put something up really quickly to grab money. You can tell with Wilsons they really care about the guests experience and they haven't cut corners.

We stayed in a Muri suite which was lovely and the grounds were very beautiful within the property. We were so pleased we stayed in this area which is on the quieter side to Gili T. That paradise blue lagoon water is right in front of the hotel and Turtle beach is no more than 5 mins walk so in the morning we would grab our snorkel before breakfast and swim with them. You can see loads if you try between 8am and 12pm.

You can rent bikes from the property and cycle out to dinner. It takes about 40minutes to lap the whole island and it's fun to not use motorised transportation for once. My partner and i really researched on restaurants on the Island and the food at Gili T, although it's a limited menu, it's done really well. You can tell everything is cooked to order and fresh that day.

All of the staff members are really friendly and they make sure they get to know all the guests names so it feels like a more personalised service. I would say that generally the service can be a little slow which probably has something to do with island life so we didn't mind going at the same pace.

I'd recommend that they upgrade the bikes as some were a little rickety.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Soyandcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Wilson’s is one of the most friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in; cannot describe in words the kind of service and treatment they provide you. Really beautiful pool villa and brilliant breakfast. Special mention to Bira and Gita who made our stay all the more pleasant.
One of the best places to stay in Gili T and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Gili Trawangan.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jitesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Beautiful quaint property, with the most hospitable staff. Lovely, clean rooms, nice beach across the street. We went just after the earth quake which obviously caused alot of damage, but they made the most of it and we had a great time. Special mention to Apy who made the trip even happier:)

Room Tip: Take the villas with a pool
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piyali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

We spent 6 nights from the 28th August to the 3rd September. We were supposed to stay in Gili Meno 4 nights. However there were not restaurants operating and not amenities we decided to stay in Wilsons the rest of our holidays. High quality hotel. The hotel provided us one villa 2 nights when we booked a Muri room! Just for the fact that we finally decided to come to Gili despite of being damaged because of the earthquakes. We were so confortable in the villa first and then in the Muri room. They were so friendly and helpful people with us.
The last day I fell sick with strong gastroenteritis due to a dinner near the harbour. Kus (general manager) took ownership and was caring about me and my girlfriend all time. He called a doctor and the following day I felt much better! The staff is amazingly friendly! Thanks to Jazz and Epi! They are great!. Marina and me we have no words to describe everything they have done for us. Beautiful people.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Wilson's does not tell you the truth about the damage that is unfortunately everywhere.
They ignored our request to cancel. And they offered us no other option.
For a resort that supposedly has good service, I expect more concern for the safety of its guests.
Because there were repeated aftershocks, this was a terrible experience. For me the customer service is bad.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalu K, General Manager at Wilson's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Bruce,

We were very surprised to read your review as we have approved all refunds “no questions asked” to all of our guests who could not come and visit us. We have had a case with another guest that booked with a certain online travel agent where we approved his refund but the travel agent said we had refused to do so. Please double check with your travel agent and don’t hesitate to contact us directly if you need help dealing with them.
The security of our guests is and always has been our number one priority. When the earthquake happened our staff moved heaven and earth to get not only our guests but many guests from other resorts evacuated to Bali as soon as possible, please read the other reviews testifying to this on TripAdvisor.
And finally, we have not lied in any way to our guests. We stand by our statement saying that yes the Gili Islands are in recovery, but our resort has suffered no damage at all and our beach is as beautiful as it has ever been. We have been operating as usual since 23rd of August.

Thank you for your review and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist you in any way.

Best Regards
Kus
GM at Wilson's Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews