We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food but very slow”

Nad Brahma Gili Air
Ranked #52 of 108 Restaurants in Gili Air
Description: We love to serve Indian & Fusion Vegan and Vegetarian food. We offer raw vegan cakes, workshops, cooking classes and want you to enjoy our Gili paradise.
Restaurant details
Description: We love to serve Indian & Fusion Vegan and Vegetarian food. We offer raw vegan cakes, workshops, cooking classes and want you to enjoy our Gili paradise.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has only been open a couple of weeks and there are definitely some teething issues.

Let me be clear, the food is absolutely delicious - very obviously made from scratch with fresh ingredients and the Special Thali which I had was very generous in terms of portion sizes; but the chef/proprietor is clearly trying to teach the kitchen staff how to cook, wait tables etc and she is so stretched I felt really sorry for her.

Everyone has their meal cooked in turn - there is no simultaneous cooking going on, so even if you order a starter and a main course, they are cooked back to back once the people before you have had their meal cooked.

Now we are not in a hurry to go anywhere and we had plenty to talk about and a book to read (and we saw another couple playing a game); but we did wait more than an hour for our food and some may consider that too long a wait.

My suggestion is that they restrict the menu down a lot, just while you get the kitchen staff trained, so that you are always making the same things over and over and they become confident more quickly.

My only word of caution: be careful if you order a takeaway as the woman before us waited an hour to be told she couldn’t have a takeaway as they didn’t have any takeaway food containers left for her. Being eco-conscious is important on Gili but I genuinely felt sorry for her and her husband.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank licenseguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nad_Brahma, Owner at Nad Brahma Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you very much for your compliments and critics. I appreciate it very much because only critics help to improve. I am very sorry that it took us such a long time to serve you. You are right, it should not be 1h. We are only open a few days now and things should have been more smooth. It takes time for a team to grow together. Further, all being nervous that things work out well did not improve the situation. I will consider your suggestions and am sure that we are on the way to become better, serve faster and correct the missing edges within time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Starters were nice, main was amazing. Special thali. Waiter was nice but owner was a bit stressed teaching him how to do stuff and almost shouting, made our meal quite uncomfy . She needs to learn how to treat people but food was very nice. I think I won’t come back here just for that. I feel sorry for the poor guy that is learning.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 332valeriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nad_Brahma, Owner at Nad Brahma Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry you had a bad experience. I do respect people and try to understand people. I admit that I changed the staff because it just did not work out with the people I employed first. Their lack of work experience in a restaurant and my ambitions did not do well together. I am convinced that with my new staff things will improve on every level. Thank you again to give us your inputs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nad_Brahma, Owner at Nad Brahma Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nad_Brahma, Owner at Nad Brahma Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nad_Brahma, Owner at Nad Brahma Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nad Brahma Gili Air also viewed

 
Senggigi, Lombok
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Nad Brahma Gili Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing