We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches, mosquitos, stained sheets, broken ac, black mold...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceans 5 Dive Resort
Ranked #16 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This review is obviously for the hotel not the diving school attached to it.

The ugly:
The villa was nice at first. However, soon we realised some issues:

1)The bathroom has this half open thing above the shower (many hotels in Indonesia do this indoor/outdoor thing.. Problem is- there were cockroaches in the shower and mosquitos in the bathroom and room (because the bathroom door has huge gaps). Also, the bathroom ceiling has black mould growing on it. The water pressure in the shower was abysmal.

We couldn't sleep all night because of the mosquitos.

2)The AC was broken. Did not cool the room, made a terrible sound.

3)The housekeeping peeps didn't clean. They didn't notice the dead cockroaches that we left in the bathroom for them to clean up. The sheets had red stains on them. I asked the front desk to switch them. They told us it was done. Went back to the room at night and noticed they didn't change them (they lied). The reception closes at 6 so at this point we were stuck with them.

4) The breakfast was pretty meh. I ate the toast because the omelette was super oily.

5) Super slow wifi. You don't know how annoying this is until you don't have it.

Some things to know -

The hotel is right in front of the harbor so it's convenient to get to. Centrally located so restaurants etc are close by. The beach that you'd want to swim in or view is 5-10 minutes in either direction, not directly in front because it's the harbor.

The villas look pretty from the outside.

The pool was nice!

Seems like a good place for diving enthusiasts.

The diving staff seemed very nice. The hotel staff were confused or incompetent.

When we arrived, the reception didn't know we had a reservation. We had to show them the email. Amusingly, when we were leaving they didn't know we already paid online. They asked us to pay again. We showed them the email and they said "oh". They need to figure out how online reservations work.

Here's the thing - if you are used to hostels and grimy places, this may be a step up. Not a jump, just a little baby step. If you are expecting cleanliness, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check out the bathroom, ac, and sheets before you move into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nisanity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

While it's primarily a dive centre, Oceans 5 has great accommodation and a great coffee shop (coffee and thyme) serving probably the best coffee on the island.
Oceans 5 has a great vibe to it with many age groups and nationalities frequenting the place, the place really buzzes when a dive comes back with all the beginners on a natural high from the experience!
Despite that it is quiet at night and boasts two large pools as well. It is close to the jetty which some reviewers felt was a negative but we found it quite handy for arrival and departure as well as island hopping.
The only downside, well the breakfast could be a little better, would have been nice to have a 'real' coffee included with breakfast instead of the help-yourself instant stuff.

Room Tip: The garden bungalows offer more privacy and have more cover over the porch, providing more shade and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a poolside bungalow during our stay with Oceans 5. The room had everything we needed. It was clean. The AC worked great and the Wifi was as good as you can expect. Resort staff were very kind and helpful.

Our diving experience was excellent. We didn't have enough time on the island for the full Open Water PADI course so we opted for the introductory option. Our instructor was perfect for beginning divers. He was very thorough explaining everything and made sure everyone was comfortable and ready before moving on.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

My father, brother and I went to Oceans 5 dive Resort for 3 days. The bungalows/rooms was fine. But the cleanness of the cups and glasses from the café was not good.

The divesites, the dive instructors and their knowledge about the diving area was awesome! Fantastic place, if you like diving. WORLD CLASS!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frederik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We had a lovely time at the Ocean 5. Everything is well organized, super clean and everybody is welcoming and friendly. We liked it that much that we extended our stay. It is a perfect place to relax, energize and be active if you want to. I´ll definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leylazustolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Have stayed at Oceans 5 many times & have just booked again for this summer. All 3 of my kids learned to dive there & the 2 oldest have done their DMT & IDC there too, just the youngest to get through but have to wait until she's 18.
You could not meet a more friendly or dedicated team & their standards (rooms & diving) are the best.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Location is poor
At the boat station like Grand Central Station with people waiting for the boat. They occupy the coffee shop so no more seats for people staying at Oceans 5 Not suitable for swimming in front.

Room
I initially had a Pool Bungalow. It was overpriced and nothing special but the problem was the air conditioning was not working. After two days of idiot staff trying to fix it I moved to another room and had to pay for it. I did eventually get refunded for the four nights not used but was never compensated for the lack of AC other than two non alcoholic drink coupons. As I booked through an agent I was told I had to deal with them for refund and pay for my new room separately. In addition to the AC problems the room safe did not work. After having it reset twice the staff just let us have the master key!
The bathroom is weird as the shower area is open to the sky. This lets the wildlife in and the rain while you are showering! on one occasion there was a local guy on the roof peeking in.
Security is a bit of a worry as the main door lock is poor and the bathroom door despite having a lock and key is incapable of being locked.
When I moved to the Rooftop which was my second room the TV didn’t work. The maintenance guy took the box from our previous room and got it going.
Someone else moved into that room with no AC and TV then left in a rage. They had not done nothing about any of the problems.
The rooftop room was smaller inside but has a nice terrace and was generally better and considerably cheaper. The only problem is the access is next to the back door of the kitchen where stinking rotting food and garbage is put out.
The WIFI is very poor in fact useless. Better you buy a SIM at the airport it is cheap and very good
There was also a notice saying free laundry in the room. This is not true as my colleague was charged for his.

Staff problems
The boys from the dive shop are out of control. They offered drugs for sale to my family on several occasions and were smoking in the pool. They even told one of the other guests that it was OK to smoke in the pool. After diving they just jumped in the pool to wash themselves.
In the evenings they were drinking around the coffee shop. It seemed like they were allowed to help themselves to whatever they wanted.


Diving
We originally booked this place to dive. My colleague asked before we arrived about diving and got a rude reply saying that we could not be accommodated. This should have been my warning sign to cancel then.
When I looked at the dive operation it was obvious that they are only interested in selling courses.
So we found another very accommodating shop and dived there.

General
The sad thing is that this place could be good. It is just poorly managed by people that have absolutely no idea what they are doing and have not got the faintest idea about customer service.
Describing this place a resort is a misnomer.

As for GIli Air generally there are far better places available at better prices managed better.
But…… Gili Air has pretty much been taken over by drugs and hippies. Drugs are openly offered from magic mushrooms, marijuana, ecstacy to crystal meth.
What I find strange is that this is in a Muslim country where the staff members told us things like not offering the left hand and not showing the soles of your feet…. But get as high as you like …….thats fine.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderbuis, Manager at Oceans 5 Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Liam,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that Oceans 5 was not the right choice for you.

We take our business and comfort of our guests seriously and always appreciate constructive feedback.

However, I would like to address a few comments you made which were not only insulting and derogatory but also completely untrue:

- You came to our reception once to complain about the aircon which we tried to correct and as we were unable to do so accommodated you in another room. The AC wasn't working - that can happen. The electricity isn't stable on Gili Air and that affects the life time of electronic products. You were able to get a refund as we communicated with Expedia, your booking platform.

- You were calling our staff idiots and accused them of trying to sell you which is not true. Oceans 5 has a ZERO tolerance policy against drugs. All staff, locals and westerners are fully aware of this. I know 100% for certain that my staff doesn't sell or offer drugs!

- On all websites, booking sites and social media it is clearly stated that Oceans 5 is located in the harbor of Gili Air. Harbors tend to be busy places. Most of the time the harbor is not the place for swimming like a Beach area but we have 2 large pool areas surrounded by gardens, ideal for swimming and there are beautiful beaches within a 5 minute walk from the resort.

- About security: we have 2 security staff walking around the Resort at night. Maybe you saw them sitting by the pool and drinking coffee. When you mentioned your aircon was not working the staff came to fix it - they were not peeking over the wall but trying to repair the aircon.

- At no point did your friend write us about a diving inquiry (we have the entire email history) and at no point was he told at the diving desk that we cannot accommodate him diving.
We have 10 Multilingual Instructors and 4 local Divemasters, 3 boats and 2 pools but No space to Dive for you? Instead of writing this on tripadvisor maybe it would have been a good idea to come and talk to the reception and dive desk.

- The TV and safe were working. The tvs don't have all the channels, but there are enough channels to entertain yourself.

- Open Air bathrooms are very common in Indonesia. On our website we show videos how the bungalows look like and you can clearly see the open bathroom area.

- There are no mentions anywhere in the resort about free laundry, only that we offer laundry service for our guests.

- Our staff is allowed to take coffee, water and tee at the bar and the bar closes at 9pm so its definitely not a "go wild and do what they want" scenario.

We would have very much appreciated if you had come to us with any of the issues you mentioned so we could have tried to make your stay more pleasant instead of posting derogatory comments on tripadvisor.

We wish you the best of luck with your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.2 km away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.5 km away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
630 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.3 km away
Omah Gili Accomodation
Omah Gili Accomodation
#5 of 156 in Gili Air
350 reviews
0.6 km away
Turtle Beach Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel
#15 of 156 in Gili Air
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans 5 Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans 5 Dive Resort

Address: South | Harbor, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: $58 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceans 5 Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PADI 5 star IDC Dive Resort Oceans 5 is located in the harbor of Gili Air, Gili Islands, Indonesia. The resort is just 5 minutes away from the main beach area, the restaurants and the sunset point. The resort has 10 rooms, 4 pool bungalows, 4 standard rooms, 1 family bungalow and 1 roof top bungalow. The pool bungalows, family bungalow and the roof top bungalow are having the pool view. Oceans 5 Bungalows have: * Airconditioning *WiFi in room * Access to pool * Sea and mountain view * Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceans 5 Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans 5 Dive Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing