We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$29
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
256
135
102
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
135
102
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scuba diving included breakfast stayed for nights outdoor shower josh gili island paradise indonesia harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 560 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Grand sunset is a cozy hotel, with a nice pool. It's close to a lovely beach and has a nice restaurant with good service and delicious food. The rooms are not that big, but they are clean and has an amazing outdoor bathroom. It's nice and quiet and the perfect place if you want to relax and enjoy Gili Air.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarabL8795YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiliErin, Owner at Grand Sunset Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Sunset. Reviews like yours are what we strive to work towards every day. All the best in your future travels and we hope to see you again some day!

Best wishes,
Grand Sunset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Enjoyed my stay here, it was nice having a pool and beach access. Enjoyed the rooms, they were small, the bathrooms were outside but attached, and simple but nice amenities.
Connecting restaurant was good, the included breakfast was delicious. Really enjoyed the waitstaff and servers.
Only complaint would be a lack of towels--we felt like we had to ask for them constantly, and even when they cleaned our rooms and took out the wet towels, they didn't replace them until we asked....kind of strange for a place with pool and beach access...they should probably have a LOT more towels.
The beach was not a good one for swimming or walking on, unless you have some sort of water shoes, the bits of coral and the underwater grass could be quite sharp!
Wifi was free, but terrible connections especially in the rooms.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasminehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiliErin, Owner at Grand Sunset Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your review of Grand Sunset. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you loved our staff (we love them too!)
I apologize for the lack of towels and feeling like you constantly had to ask. We've had a situation in the past two months where towels are being lost or left behind at other establishments so we have just ordered 100 more and are coming up with a system to ensure they aren't lost or misplaced! We're also working on improving the Wifi. It's a difficult one to perfect on such a remote island but we're hoping with a new provider, it will improve drastically.

All the best in your future travels!

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2016

THANK YOU- to all of the great staff at the hotel and restaurant. The stay there was more than I could've imagined. This was a trip of a lifetime for me and they went above and beyond my expectations. The rooms were spacious enough for 2 ( we had 7 people in our group). If there were any complaints, it is about the towels. The room towels on our first day were not as clean smelling as we'd liked, but they were soon replaced with new ones and we had no other problems with room towels. Pool towels were a different story. I suggest you get up early enough to request towels as they seemed to run out quickly. The daily breakfast was fantatic- I recommend the Local and also try the banana spread for the toast on the Standard breakfast. The views from the pool, beach, and restaurant were fantastic and there were plenty of other restaurants/bars within walking distance that were great as well.

Room tip: Wifi is not the best on the island itself, so make sure you have a SIM card to use.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joscelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiliErin, Owner at Grand Sunset Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work so hard to make each and every individual feel like a friend and getting a nice review about them certainly makes our day. I apologize for the lack of towels. We have just ordered 100 new pool towels so the problem of running out will absolutely be rectified. If you ever find your way back to Gili Air we'd love to see you again!

All the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016

I was so looking forward to staying at the Grand Sunset. I was truly disappointed. Check in went okay, even though we were not served a welcome drink like everyone else. Once we got to our standard room we noticed a tv and a DVD player. Don't usual watch tv but hey it was there. Turned on the tv that evening it didn't work. Went to the front desk and was told that the standard rooms the tv's did not work. What the hell. Could get dvd's to watch only. Does not say anything about the tv's in the standard rooms. The wifi does not work well at all. I stayed at the Pandan next food previously and it worked much better. The food at the restaurant is very good but expensive. Limited breakfast options. The staff at the restaurant are all smiling and friendly, especially Teddy. On the bed there is just a little sheet. Definitely have to find the right temperat ure on the AC to sleep. As for the towels all the towels were badly stained and actually some were torn very badly. Should never be left in rooms for guest. The walls are paper thin. You can actually hear the conversations clearly going on in the next room. A fridge would of been appreciated. I know there is a diving school on site the beach area is very busy before and after dived. A lot of walking around. Not very restful.

Room tip: The rooms at the far end are a bit quieter since they are far from the bar.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicolesQ3427AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiliErin, Owner at Grand Sunset Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you the fact that you did not get a welcome drink was definitely an oversight on behalf of the front desk team and if you had made mention of it, they definitely would have promptly served you one. I will monitor that more closely in the future.
We've just ordered an entire new shipment of towels. I was away from the island and wasn't made aware of the situation so for that, I am truly sorry. The wifi situation is also being fixed. It's a tricky one to perfect on such a remote and isolated island, but we're working on switching providers and hope that will fix the situation.
Glad you enjoyed our restaurant team. Deddy is wonderful and I'll surely pass along your praise. I can also look into enhancing the breakfast menu in the future but we normally do have a lot of positive reviews on that note.
The premium rooms all have satellite television and will also have refrigerators beginning next month, since we opened we just found that most people never even turn on their televisions but I will do better to highlight the differences in the room features.

All the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has everything. A great pool to swim in, chairs on the beach, and a restaurant with drinks. It was a great time. Drinks were a little expensive, so we went next door at the pandan restaurant to drink. The hotel is on the opposite side of snorkeling but if you're looking to dive, there's a dice center located on the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mcsparkler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiliErin, Owner at Grand Sunset Gili Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Hello!

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's worth pointing out that we do actually have some FANTASTIC snorkeling directly in front of the hotel, and that there is in fact one of the best reefs right out front however, you need to walk/swim out about 100 metres. So sorry you missed it! If you ever make it back to the Gilis we'd love to see you again.

All the best in your future travels and take care.

Sincerely,

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews