We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“the best holiday i've been on so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspro Spiti Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aspro Spiti Apartments
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Tigaki
cumbria, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best holiday i've been on so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2006

I travelled to Kos in 2004 not quite knowing what to expect as I had only ever been to Santorini the previous year, but I was reassured by my family who had travelled there the year before and stayed at the aspro spiti apartments. As soon as we got there we received a warm welcome from the owner Nicos who, surprisingly, remembered my family from the previous year! We were introduced, before being shown to our apartment literally yards from the pool. The apartment was clean and cool, which was useful after a long day in the sun, and the facilities including the kitchenette and bathroom were up to standard. My younger sister and I stayed on a large comfortable bunkbed in the room which shared the kitchen and dining area, but this was no problem as the room was a large size. The balcony was perfect and was safe for my younger sister as it was not so high up, and was useful for hanging clothes out! In terms of the bar and food, the bar was open all day while we were there and provided a variety of meals and snacks so we didn't have to get dressed and go out for a bite to eat. The supermarket is literally next door and sells everything from suncream to sausage rolls! The service at the aspro spiti apartments is excellent and I wouldn't have changed it for anything. The owners provide a safe and helpful family environment which makes visitors feel welcome. On a personal note, this has been the best holiday I have had yet and I am hoping to travel again with some friends next year. Kos is a beautiful island and I would recommend the aspro spiti apartments to anyone xxx

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaphiyahrae0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    37
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
63
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

You get what you pay for. We paid 300 pounds for a week in july with 6 18 year old girls.

First impressions were that th pool was ace, the apartment is basic but clean...which at the end of the day is all you need it to be. The pool is lovely and didnt seem to be over crowded. The rooms were cleaned every day. The food at the bar is nice, basic but good.

We ate out every evening at many of the bars and places which are only a very short walk away. Food is extremely cheap! The beach is lovely! We did come home with food poisoning but we think that was the food on the plane! 4 of us had it, and only 2 didnt eat that food...so thats why we thought it!

Day trips- we went to the water park which was good for half a day but was very small and limited.

We also went to Kos town which was fun.

Mostly spent the days by the pool/beach. The banana boat was ace!!!

ooo yes our fave trip was the sunset cruise which was amazing! We saw dolphins (which apparently is rare). I shall put some pics of that up for you. Obviously saw the sunset, and had a bbq on the beach! which was yummy...and we did greek dancing!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sexyheffa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2005

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed out holiday here. The apartments are clean, spacious and well equipped Greece. It is run by Nikos and his family and they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The pool is a good size with a seperate bit for the kids. Sunbeds were always available whatever time of the day you venture down. The apartments are about 10-15 minute stroll down the main road from the beach (1KM away). The beach is fab with white sand and plenty of sunbeds with very comfy matresses on them which cost 3 euros each a day (about £2). The water is crystal clear and you can walk out for ages without getting out of your depth - no good for snorkelling though as you can't get into deep enough water to see anything other than the sand at the bottom!! The doughnut man comes along the beach regularly with massive doughnuts - yummy!! Tigaki it's self was everything we wanted. Loads of bars and taverna's and a couple of disco bars open till the small hours. Go and see Yanni at Mascot's for a warm welcome - open 7pm till very late - great nights out!! Our fav restaurant was the Grand Salle - fab food - value for money and not expensive - we went 5 times and we were given wine on the house a couple of times, shots on others - George and Vassilias are there ready to welcome you - you could not meet nicer people!!!!! Don't forget to visit Kos town on the Bus - get the bus from outside the supermarket right next door - it cost 1 Euro 30 each one way - for even more fun nights out and great days too. Visit the castle, museum, etc - you won't be disappointed!! At night in Kos town - go to Jumbo Style restaurant in the square behind the church for the best mixed grill for 2 in kos town!!! Don't believe Mr Snow's comments - I did not find anything wrong here - in fact it's one of my best holidays ever and I can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2004

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Aspro Spiti Apartments in Tingaki, Kos for 2 weeks in August 2003 (booked through Thomas Cook’s subsidiary company JMC Holidays). Although we paid £1012 for the holiday, we were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation: numerous light bulbs were missing, the towels and sheets were only changed once a week, there were severe pigeon droppings on the chairs on the balcony and the apartment was regularly invaded by ants. The bathroom was especially poor: the toilet seat was loose (the screw holding it down had fallen into the bowl, where it remained) and there was a 6-inch diameter hole in the shower floor where the grating was missing and which smelt badly (especially when the toilet was flushed). The apartment was very hot and humid at night, but the balcony door could not be left open because of mosquito invasion. Consequently on the third night we bought an electric fan from the supermarket next door. Within half an hour of this purchase, the apartment owner (viz. Katerina) knocked on our door and told us that electric fans were not allowed and we should hand it over to her immediately, otherwise she would call the police. However, we decided to return the fan to the supermarket and claim a refund. Because of this we were forced to pay to use the apartment’s over-priced air conditioning for the rest of the holiday. We complained to the JMC Holidays representative, Mark, who told us that he had been a holiday rep on 5 Greek Islands and the Aspro Spiti Apartments had caused him more trouble than any other accommodation. He also told us he wondered why Thomas Cook associated itself with properties like the Aspro Spiti Apartments and that he continued to have serious problems in working with the owner (viz. Katerina) and her husband (viz. Nicos) because they “Devalue their English customers and generally couldn’t give a damn”. At the end of the holiday, we completed a JMC Holidays Customer Relations Form (i.e. a customer complaint form) and gave it to a Thomas Cook representative at the airport. We heard nothing for 6 weeks and so we wrote to Thomas Cook/ JMC Holidays. We were told that returning their Customer Relations Form did not in fact constitute making a complaint and we should have written to them separately within 28 days of our return. However we were offered a £75 credit note against any JMC Holiday that we might take within 12 months!

The lessons we learned from our holiday are as follows:
1) Thomas Cook is not a reputable English company. Indeed, it is a German-owned company that is in financial difficulty. Consequently it is forced to sell over-priced second-rate holidays and offer little or no compensation to complainants.
2) Holidaymakers should be especially wary of Thomas Cook’s Bradford-based subsidiary company JMC Holidays.
3) Under no circumstances book a holiday at the Aspro Spiti Apartments, Tingaki, on Kos.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.9 km away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 km away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 24 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Fili Apartments
Fili Apartments
#11 of 24 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 km away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 km away
Ilios Hotel
Ilios Hotel
#18 of 24 in Tigaki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspro Spiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspro Spiti Apartments

Property: Aspro Spiti Apartments
Address: Tigkaki Kos, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspro Spiti Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Aspro Spiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspro Spiti Apartments Tigaki
Aspro Spiti Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing