We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good egg tart”

Margaret's Cafe e Nata
Ranked #4 of 32 Dessert in Macau
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good egg tart”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

i like the egg tart but not like the price hehe.almost all food in macau is expensive i think

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank phin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    332
    149
    31
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must-stop Macau Egg Tart place”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Margaret's Cafe is a small, home-style shop that has the reputation of having one of the best (next to Lord Stow's) Egg Tarts in Macau--a well known iconic specialty dessert for Macanese cuisine. There were definitely some other tourists around but it seemed well frequented by locals as well and felt like a nice, local experience. The egg tarts were MOP$8 each and MOP$90 for a dozen. There are some other bakery type items but we didn't really try those. We did have coffee, "capuccinos" and milk tea as well...those were not Starbucks quality but fine enough. Make time for this and compare it to Lord Stow's!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank newlifetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Egg Tarts by Lord Stow's ex-wife”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Go here for one thing and one thing only - the cream portuguese egg tarts. When we got there (at 1pm on a Sunday) we misguidedly joined the queue (of about 10 ppl) but then realized we had to walk into the restaurant and make an order first. The queue was solely for the egg tarts (if you're looking to buy other cakes / pastries you can get them immediately). We waited about 10 minutes for the egg tarts which were fresh out of the oven, perfectly creamy and caramelly on top. Grab a cold yin yong (mixed coffee and tea) to wash it down!
To find it - walk about 5 minutes away from the Grand Lisboa towards Seneca Square and look for a little alley behind the Luk Fook jewelry shop

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LottieYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb tart”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

the tart was great but was a bit cold. if the tart were hot from oven it will be put of this world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast place”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

They serve brilliant Portugese caramel egg tarts. Not too sweet, with crispy crust and soft egg filling. Tables were outside the shop, facing a back alley which is very clean and "Macau". Locals would queue up to buy their bread and cakes. Carrot cakes were good too.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Resortbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaret's Cafe e Nata also viewed

 

Been to Margaret's Cafe e Nata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing