We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new complex on the Cotai Strip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,402 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,753 helpful votes
“Nice new complex on the Cotai Strip!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent some time at the Galaxy recently and were quite happy with our visit there. It is similar to the Venetian in that it is huge, has lots of shopping and restaurants, hotels, entertainment and large casino.

We ate lunch at the mid-range, Spaghetti House and were quite surprised and pleased with our meal there. We were also pleased to find a movie cinema on the Galaxy grounds, although we didn't catch a movie this time. They also had two interesting shows, the Wishing Crystals near the bus terminal at the end of the East Promenade and the Fortune Diamond show near the main complex lobby. These were similar to the Tree of Prosperity and Dragon Fortune shows at the Wynn as well as the Vquarium and Dragon Treasure shows at the City of Dreams, making some light entertainment for families.

We also found a rather large casino that was much less crowded than the Venetian, something we felt a bit relieved about as the swarming crowds there have become a bit intolerable for us at this point.

Overall, we felt the Galaxy was doing well for having just opened up last summer. It looks nice inside and from what we experienced, the main facilities are up and running just fine. Making this a worthy place to consider staying while in Macau or even to visit if you are a guest at a different hotel in the Macau peninsula or on the Cotai Strip.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    590
    121
    32
    40
See reviews for
713
621
102
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Most hotel complexes in Macau house casinos and they are pretty much designed around casinos!
Galaxy is no different. Huge huge complex with reasonably priced restaurants, shops and a great outdoor wave pool (reputedly the biggest in the region).
Complete shuttle service to many destinations in Macau but the hotel has yet to systematically use the right sized bus for the right destinations, leading to long queus in some and empty busses in others.
And remember that the shuttle embarkation station is not in the front of the hotel!

Room Tip: Extra bed in room is OK - with still space to move around. Rooms are decent sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibreace380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Was not impressed with this hotel from the time we checked until the time we left. We were herded like cattle everywhere we went, whether it was at check in (took hours to finally get in the door of our room); lining up for a bus... or check out! The hotel was full and the staff appeared to be quite frazzled and stressed. I never saw a manager in sight. Their offices were obviously far too cosy. Have also noted that they do not respond to the feedback offered by customers on Trip Advisor. This shows the level of arrogance that you will be sure to experience at this hotel. I regret staying there and WOULD NOT do it again, nor would I recommend it. I am angry that my many hours of research on the interrnet saw me paying a hefty price at this tacky, Chinese gambler-geared and cheesy hotel. This place will age quickly before the next best thing comes along in Macau...Also, I need to add that I agree with everything said by the previous reviewer. There was a lot of rain on one day whilst we were there and there were no umbrellas in the room and I did not want to join a 45 minute queue to ask for one. Staff also did nothing in terms of going out of their was when we came back drenched....Finally, bathroom products were gross and cheap! On a more positive note, the wave pool is now open and it is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoooshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear jojoooshka,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Galaxy Macau. We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. We acknowledge that there are aspects of the operation where need to make changes in order to improve the overall guest experience. We hope to welcome you again to demonstrate to you the products we offer that match to our reputation.

Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Magnificent hotel, but it lacks the basic thing - service.

It was pouring very heavily, and there was no sheltered route from the bus stop to the hotel. I had to run to the hotel, all drenched. There were a lot of staff standing by, but NONE of them approach me to see if I need help, or at least point me to the washroom. Perhaps I was unlucky, but for the first few washroom that I went to, the hand dryers were spoilt. There is also no shops in Galaxy that sell clothes for me to have a change, without being too upscale. When I came out of the toilet, staff and other guests were staring at me. I wish at least one of the staff can point me to a working dryer, or at least asked if I need help or a towel.

Rooms are alright. Expensive, but location is good. Opposite galaxy is the old village, so there is a lot of great local food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for posting your review. I am so sorry that you were not properly assisted by our team member. We thrive to make our guests feel welcomed at all times and obviously we have failed this time with you. Please accept our apologies and do reach out to me should you wish to discuss this further. I can assure you your comments are being dealt with and we hope to welcome you back soon.Sincerely yours,

Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Email: nathan.yu@galaxyentertainment.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Booked the Galaxy for 1 night with family and friends for a celebration trip.

As it has been a few years ago, I wanted to see the Cotai strip and all of its new hotels and casinos. And we were amazed by all the glitz and glam it offered. Hotels in the area were amazingly large in size and the shuttle bus system connecting hotels, harbours and tourist spots with each other is genius and very convenient.

Main entrance had a wow-factor with the crystal fountain changing colors every moment. Check-in at the Galaxy went chaotic and was too long, no smiles or courtesy gestures in between.
Rooms:
Rooms are of a good size with a nice bathroom, interior had a luxury feel with a comfortable bed. We had our rooms on the 30th floor with an okay view. Lots of rooms with long hallways, might feel a bit impersonal as everything is so massive.
Facilities:
The big Skywave pool was closed due to maintenance and winter season (such a shame!). The other pool was of good size with comfortable temperature to swim in even during colder days. As we stayed only 1 night we didn't have time to visit the other facilities, but they looked promising.
Restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet, with a good spread and selection.
Just outside the hotel was of course the casino - which we only walked pass, but also many stores and restaurants to enjoy. On the other side of the hotel were the shuttle buses stationed to drop you off to nearly every location nearby.
Cons:
we had several issues with the staff and room cleanliness. After addressing the problem, albeit to multiple members of staff and managers, the problems were eventually solved in the end to satisfaction.

Overall, we had a good stay at the Galaxy, good value for money, and would consider staying again when we return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYAtAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Despite a few issues with check-in (language barrier, perhaps), we had a great stay here.
Sure the lobby is rather tacky and wayy too much of a perfume scent. But once you get to the lovely scented room hallways, the loudness and tackiness disappears.
Bed is super comfortable, shower is fantastic and the view from our 30th floor room - amazing.
My favorite part about this hotel -- the grounds. Beautiful, serene gardens. True resort feel. Loved the pools and the wave pool you have to see to believe.
If you want something different (and at a very fair rate), stay here!

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Architecture was brilliant. Lighting was marvelous. The "crystal show" that happens in the fountain situated in the middle of the hotel was spectacular. Show lasts for 15 minutes, we caught the 7pm show.

Dined at The Spaghetti House. Pasta was awesome. We were personally toured around the hotel via their hotel shuttle.

I had so much fun during my stay, even met new people who made our visit a lot more exciting. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EYLAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.8 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#8 of 95 in Macau
1,445 reviews
1.1 km away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
878 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing