We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$317
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landmark Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Lapa Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
US$126
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
US$268
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
335
93
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
93
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseducational restauranthomemade jamsferry terminalquiet locationdeluxe roomyogurtfree shuttlevisit macaubuffet breakfastcotai stripinstituteiftstudiedtaxiinstitutionfortressmop
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 438 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We stayed two nights here while visiting Macau. It is a 15 minute walk to the old Portuagese area. The basic room is very spacious with a modern shower and comfortable beds. Has old world charm. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee outstanding. Clean and great service. Free shuttle back to Ferry. Outstanding.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room and it was quiet, clean and large and comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Stayed 3 nights in a standard room. This was a solo return visit having had a terrific stay here 10 years earlier with my husband. The standard room is a little small but is comfortable and has everything needed, even free access to minibar. The students manning the front desk are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within the gardens of the old Mong Ha fort. Walking paths wind through the gardens, local residents are out each morning exercising on the exercise equipment placed at intervals through the park, or practicing tai chi with friends to the sound of Chinese music. Down the hill to the local shopping areas and markets. Easy and interesting stroll through to sights in the old city, though the last leg home uphill a bit tiring. Be warned a few taxi drivers claimed to not know where Mong Ha was (presumably not wanting a short fare) while another took a very long way round and it would have been quicker and cheaper to keep walking!
While Macau has become much busier with tourists and vehicles in last 10 years, Pousada de Mong Ha remains a comfortable and restful accommodation option for those who want a cultural experience without the Disneyland effect of the Casino precincts. Will definitely stay here again if ever back in Macau

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

4 night stay, room was excellent, very clean, well maintained and equipped.Free mini bar on arrival. Room was serviced every day while at breakfast.

Breakfast was in a very tranquil environment overlooking the herb gardens. Homemade jams , muffins yoghurt and cooked breakfast options were great.
Staff in all departments were very helpful, attentive, friendly and efficient.


Location is away from centre, which for us was an advantage, as it was in a peaceful location, but still very accesible to local attractions. A courtesy shuttle bus can be booked at set times, and
to return to hotel via taxi from the centre is only approximately
$50MOP ($10AUD).

The hotel is very good value for money.

Highly recommended.
There is an excellent restaurant attached, again hosted by the students,see website for opening hours, as not available at weekends.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank ravyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Stayed here for one night recently. Heard about it from a friend who raved about the place. It gorgeous and cute and just darn lovely! Love the interior courtyard fountains...a bit romantic.

My wife, daughter and myself booked a room, I think we were upgraded to a suite because the room had a large entryway and a separate living room and large bedroom with king bed. Nice! Room 209.

Remember that the Pousada de Mong-Had is a teaching hotel so all of the staff in customer service are actually students studying at the institute - very cool indeed.
Kind of like the Seasons Restaurant at the MUST campus in Taipa. Anyway, the greeting was spot on, free fresh lovely juice with a smile - these students are eager to please.

Our room was spacious and well appointed. My wife was all over the bathroom, especially the hand glazed porcelain sinks. I loved the rain shower. My daughter loved the bathtub. The front desk staff were VERY nice and extremely helpful in getting us on-route toward the correct bus stops, VIA a map, and onward to the correct buses toward St. Paul's ruins - very easy to do by the way.

Breakfast was wonderful. It was simple and plentiful but beautifully presented. Eggs are made to order, coffee is out of a decent machine but they home make their preserves and yogurt...dang, those two were good. The coffee was fine but I prefer fresh french press style or drip. The servers were sweet/kind and helpful and not invasive nor awkward - remember that they're students learning the industry so please be very kind and patient with them and though they're young, please don't talk down to them. Most can command very good English information and even a carry on a decent, although limited, conversation.

The one BIG deficit for me, personally, is the location. I mean, I like the quiet etc., but it's quite out of the way of most things one may want to see. There is a bus stop about a 5-minute walk and 25/25X takes you most places you need to go and the Three Lamps District is about a 20-minute walk - so not too bad but again, a little out of the way and NOT in the think of the Macau nightlife action.

The ONE BIG plus is that the hotel is super family friendly. We were one of 4 families staying at the hotel. Kids ranged in age from 3 to 13 and the staff didn't bat an eye or seemed bothered - good on them.

We used the taxi card/directions and map from the hotel web site and the driver knew his way easily, we came all the way from Taipa. One taxi driver used his GPS/Google map iPhone and again, he found it without issue.

If you get a chance, take one night and stay in the Pousada de Mong Ha, you won't regret. It's even good for a romantic place for a weekend or one-night get-a-way - if you're in the area - no one you know will know there.

Room Tip: All room seem to look into a garden of sorts - no issues with rooms
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Decided for a change from the usual restaurants we frequent, to give this place a try. It is part of the Institute of Tourism Studies in Macau.
We chose the five course tasting menu at MOP 350 per person (min 2) and all courses were excellent. Good choice of Portuguese wines at affordable prices.
Only slight criticism was that there was not enough time between courses, but will be definitely returning.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PhilP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews