We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of 33 Annual Honeymoons”
Review of Hotel Xixim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xixim
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

For at least one week each year we leave everything behind (including our kids when they were babies--grandparents love it) and leave the country. We have visited every part of the planet except Antarctic. Because of drug violence in the parts of Mexico we had visited in the past, in 2012 we flew to the Yucatan (safer than US cities), rented a car and just drove without any reservations anywhere.

We always find really neat places and meet really neat local people this way. From Merida (capital) we headed west to the tiny Gulf community of Celestun. We drove past a few modest hotels and just kept driving down a gravel road to a resort complex in the middle of miles of undeveloped beach and a nature preserve. The facility was better planned than any I have stayed at or studied professionally (Ph.D. in Environmental Management). In building the resort the primary dune was left untouched, bulldozed were prohibited and native vegetation was preserved and replanted as necessary. Because of the vegetation birds and butterflies were everywhere.

Now for the honeymoon part: Each unit was a self-contained spacious and fully private palapas (roof of palm leaves over timber pole framing). There were no annoying TV sounds since the units do not have a TV./DVD/radio. Big screen TV, movies and a library are available in the centrally located huge palapas which also has a bar, meeting space and fine dining. (They frequently host "Destination Weddings).

Back to the honeymoon part: The center piece of each unit is an elegant bed with lacy sheer curtains that double as mosquito nets. The bed(s) is elevated high enough above the vegetation to allow a private view of the surf and sunset (or moon) over the ocean.

This kind of quality does not come cheap. However, we decided to stay two extra nights because Eco Paraiso (Ecological Paradise) was the most romantic place we've found in 33 annual honeymoons.

Lowell Klessig
Amherst junction, WI

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget and have friends along to share a palapas unit, the Junior Suites have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Lowell K,

Thank you so much for your precise and sincere review. Indeed we have tried to keep this private reserve of 538 ha. as pristine as possible. We take great care in classifying our waste, recycle the water and keep the local flora intact. Also, in planning the resort, we tried to interfere as little as possible with the beautiful, pristine, unique environment, which we have the task to preserve.

As to your 33rd Honeymoon – WOW! Congratulations on that. It has been a great honor and pleasure for us, the staff at Xixim, to be your host on this very special occasion. Obviously we would be thrilled if you could consider this pristine spot of the Yucatan for one of your next 33 honeymoons.

Wishing you a very happy Easter
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife, daughter and I just returned to the States after ten fantastic days in and around Merida, and four of them were spent at Eco Paraiso Xixim, an exceedingly friendly and comfortable resort nestled in the heart of a giant coastal bio-preserve about an hour and a half out of Merida. (In case you're wondering what to do with those Mayan Xs, it's pronounced, as my ear heard it, something like She-Sheem.)

I'll echo the enthusiasm of other reviewers about the miles of uninhabited beach, gentle warm gulf waters, and the proximity of the hotel's cozy hospitality to an extremely interesting and intact ecosystem. One morning we all did the hotel's flamingo package, guided by Alex (who is, indeed, an expert with an advanced degree in ornithology), and that trip was so impressive that the next morning my wife and I went birdwatching with Alex's brother Henry. Real actual birders should weigh in here if I'm overstating how great the area is, but in a two-hour early morning jaunt we saw dozens of fantastically weird birds -- vermillion flycatchers, chakalakas, mot-mots (look 'em up!), Yucatan wrens, three kinds of oriole, a pygmy owl, etc., etc. Thence to return to a nice breakfast, a dip in the pool, a stroll on the beach, reading in the shade. We definitely would go back. And, by the way, in our opinion, the hour+ drive from the city makes is not very out of the way. It is a fine, fine place to just relax.

Which, together with all of the other virtues, made us wonder why the place was not very full. There are 30 bungalows, and it seemed as though not more than five or six of those were occupied on any of the nights we were there. Of course, that meant that the pristine swimming pools were entirely ours, and the friendly wait staff always close at hand, the prime beach palapas always ready for our exclusive use, and the best guides available when we wanted . . . Sweet.

So what's the catch? ViajeraMx1 called it "luxury rustic" -- that's not only a pretty great description, but it may point up some problem positioning, too. We loved the ceiling fans and the mosquito netting, the hammock on the veranda, the proximity of the bird sounds and the sea breezes -- all eco-luxury to us -- but there were a few areas where tilting the offerings a bit more toward the lux would have worked for me better. The food was plentiful and generally good, but with a couple of exceptions not spectacular. (I started wondering if their menu, which offers a huge range of options, might not be helped with some more focus.) They could do with more and better spa offerings. (That might be hard in Celestun, and un-economic with few guests, but, still, I hoped for more.) And they could make much more of their location in this eco paradise. (Despite a guide to some of the local plants that we found in the room, the environment is strangely underplayed -- my wife and I couldn't even find the nature trail, and we asked!) Xixim is not the Ritz, and IMO that's a good thing, but it could more clearly define and promote what it does offer.

On the other hand, maybe they shouldn't. Then we'd have Xixim to ourselves again the next time we go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIXIM, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Serendip2010,

Thank you so much for your accurate, extensive and detailed review. It is a delight and honor for all the staff that works in Hotel Xixim (indeed it is pronounced She – Sheem, which means sea shell in the Mayan language) when guest like you, take their time and share their impressions and experiences with others. Again, thank you very much.

We apologize not having our SPA services, as we would like them to be and up to your expectations. As you figured out, we have not found the right personnel yet, but we are searching near and far and hope that in your next visit we can give you a nice surprise in this matter.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We loved our visit to Eco Paraiso - it's a bit off the beaten track of Celestun but once you get there, you realize why. You're transported into a truly unique experience full of first class amenities and staffing but close to nature and an amazing ecosystem at the same time. We were one of very few guests the days we stayed and so we felt like it was our own private paradise. Miles and miles of uninhabited beach to explore, pools to ourselves. The Master Bungalow was beautifully appointed and lovely to return to a lit candle and mosquito netting (not needed) turned down on the bed. Tons of wildlife - lizards, geckos, birds and yes, some bugs if that makes you squeamish. Staff were really warm and friendly and, in one case of emergency, totally there for us to help solve a banking issue - couldn't have been more attentive and helplful. Drinks and snacks on the bar deck were lovely in the evening. Hot coffee and delicious sweet bread magically (and quietly!) appeared on the table by our door every morning. What a treat! We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryGirlandBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecoparaiso, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear CalgaryGirlandBoy,

For us, it is always a big bliss to read reviews like yours. Thank you so much!

We obviously would love that your path soon finds Xixim again. It will be a pleasure and an honor to pamper you again in this your home.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is great, beach is beautiful, rooms are great and food is really good. Do not miss the different kind of ceviches made of local shrimps. Staff is very supportive and non intrusive. We took two tours with two wonderful guides, Alex and Henry, they had great knowledge of nature and are doing research about the local birds. The tours we took were one to visit the flamingos at the Ria, where they spend the day and the other was at sunrise to watch the flamingos fly out of the place where they sleep. It was amazing, bring a camera with a good lens.
It is a luxury rustic hotel.Ecological, non intrusive with the landscape. Food and beverages are very reasonably priced. We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecoparaiso, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear viajeramx1,

Thank you so much for your magnificent review! Opinions like this encourage us to improve our service day by day.

We obviously would love that your path soon finds Xixim again. It will be a pleasure and an honor to pamper you again in this your home.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

stayed here a couple of nights, beautiful place to relax and charge the batteries, good food, great ambiance, very friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecoparaiso, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Monika Z,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy you liked our food and the service we provide.

We hope we will meet you again in hotel Xixim during 2012.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Before I review the hotel, I must commend J B Journeys Travel Agency, for without their vision, we would not have found this hotel or planned this vacation. I traveled with my boyfriend. I am accustomed to all-inclusive commercial resorts and he prefers rustic vacations where you become one with nature. Barbara and Jean achieved what we thought was impossible: recommending a hotel that combines the best of both of our desires. EcoParaiso seamlessly combines an ecologically sound resort that focuses on nature and being one with the environment, while providing every amenity and luxury that a commercial resort offers. Barbara and Jean checked on us every day while we were on our trip and their personal service and attention to detail is unparalleled.

STAFF: The staff was not to be believed..everyone from the manager to the housekeeping staff were so accommodating and willing to do anything they needed to to make us happy. In fact, I felt like there was nothing we could have asked for that would not have been done for us. At the same time, they conducted their work in a way that was non-invasive and respectful of your privacy. We came in to the resort on an 11pm flight and left at 7am. When we arrived at night, we were told that we did not have to fill out any paperwork, they were sure we were tired, and that we could complete all paperwork in the morning. What an unexpected and appreciated surprise that was! When we left at 4 am on NEW YEARS DAY!!, the manager and assistant manager personally escorted us to the airport to ensure our safe departure. If we were to take that flight again, we would have stayed in Merida the night before the flight to avoid the 3am wake up call! The wait staff, and bar tending staff (we LOVED Victor) were so accommodating, and if they did not understand what we were asking for, they made sure to find someone who would. The yoga instructor was amazing. I am a novice, but my boyfriend has years of experience and he said that she was an excellent instructor he had ever had. We had massages twice, and Alexandra was very talented! The staff as a whole could not do enough for us, and truly was the reason our trip was as relaxing as it was.

ROOMS: We stayed in a master suite bungalow. There are no words to describe how beautiful and clean the bungalow was. The room was huge!! With plenty of closet space, a safe, a beautiful outdoor shower and our own private patio with a hammock, chairs, and a private wading pool. And you are RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! And so private. We did not miss the air conditioning at all..the constant ocean breeze kept the room cool all day and night. All the doors and windows open. The room is made up twice per day and was truly kept beautifully clean. Coffee was delivered every morning to your room.

BEACH: Miles and miles of untouched beach = heaven! The seashells and fish and bird life was not to be believed. Although the resort was completely sold out, we felt like we were the only ones on the beach. Getting chairs was never of issue.

HOTEL: The main buildings were easily accessible. Traveling the road up to the hotel can make you wonder where exactly you are going, but then, suddenly, the hotel is in front of you. The lobby is open air and beautiful. The restaurant is located in a building with the hotel store and bar. The bar has Wii, WiFi, a tv, numerous board games, hundreds of books, ping pong, pool, and foos ball. On the roof there is a serene sitting space made of twigs. There are two pools, an adults only and main pool..both pools were kept clean. Each pool has a bar and you can order snacks there. There is an interpretative trail..which we loved, but the trail did seem to stop. We had to make our way back and could not finish. Because it is an ecological resort, there is not the same manicured landscape as a mainstream hotel; however, we did not miss this at all. The natural plant life was absolutely beautiful.

FOOD: The food was awesome! Authentic, and nicely presented. Breakfasts always had fresh cut papaya and pineapple. Lunches were delicious…we loved the guacamole and cerviches..not to be missed!! Dinner was delicious; however, we preferred ordering from the menu as opposed to the buffet.

TOURS: We took two tours: the Flamingo Reserve Tour and the Cenote and Hacienda Tour. The Flamingo tour was a ½ day combination sea and land tour, which we enjoyed immensely. The Cenote and Hacienda Tour was the highlight of our trip and should not be missed!! Alex, our personal tour guide, was just as enjoyable as the trip itself! He has a love for his city, country and culture and speaking to him about all that he knows was enlightening and inspiring. The cenotes were like nothing we had ever seen before. After swimming in two cenotes, we made our way to the Hacienda, where we had a most amazing lunch and learned so much! We went into town on our own one day for lunch, which was most enjoyable. The town of Celestun is quiet and we felt extremely safe. We were told to eat at one of the four “P” restaurants. We chose Los Pampanos, which was delicious! There were also various vendors on the beach selling handcrafted wares.

NEW YEARS CELEBRATION: A most amazing experience! The hotel took Mayan and Mexican cultural traditions, maintained their integrity, but added a personal warmth and so much fun for all who participated. We had an opportunity to meet the owner of the resort; and in speaking with her, realized that this is just not a business for her, it was a dream, a vision, that she was able to implement to a tee. Meeting her made everything come together for us and we were so happy to be able to tell her in person how much her resort meant to us and how our stay fulfilled us with memories we will cherish forever.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as couple, definitely get the master suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillymsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecoparaiso, Owner at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Jillymsw,

In my name and in the name of the whole staff that collaborates in Hotel Xixim, we want to thank you for your stunning, incredible, excellent review.

We are very happy that you liked our New Year’s Eve event that we prepare with lots of love and enthusiasm for our guests.

We also want to thank you very much for your visit and hope that your path will take you again to Xixim in the near future.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in late November, wished we stayed more and would have if it wasn't so expensive! The room was lovely and the setting fantastic. We, unlike a previous reviewer, found the sea perfectly fine for swimming. Warm and with a moderate, but significant surf. The food and drink was good and reasonably priced for a place with a totally captive audience. In our experience if you want to see birds you have to put up with mosquitoes. That said the mosquitoes were not bad and only present during a couple of hours of the day. If this really could bother you bring some DEET and light, covering clothes.

We had the place almost all to ourselves and the staff was great, but it was sad to see such a lovely place so underutilized. Lower your off season prices and post it on your website and you'll have the place full!

We checked out the prices of the flamingo tours as we drove through Celestun and decided to see what the hotel offered before going. The boat operators did not seem to know much English and it seemed unlikely that they could tell us about the birds. The hotel offered us a tour at a slightly increased price, but promised an English speaking ornithologist with good binoculars for all. Wow! Our guide Alex was all that was promised and more. He knew about everything from the politics of setting up the reserve to the biogeography of flamingos. We wish we could have had him for the rest of our Mexico tour.

Also, they need to have coffee before 7:30 AM if they wish to please their nature loving, bird watching clientele.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecoparaiso, Propietario at Hotel Xixim, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear AKC19,

In my name and in the name of our staff, we want to thank you very much for your excellent review. We will also take in account your opinion on our rates. Indeed it is a beautiful peaceful place, which should be enjoyed by more guests.

Wishing you a blessed Christmas and hoping to meet you again in Hotel Xixim,

Kind regards,
Verena Gerber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
8.3 km away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
2.3 km away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xixim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xixim

Address: Km 10 del Viejo Camino a Sisal Celestun, Celestun 97636, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: $228 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Xixim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xixim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Paraiso Xixim Celestun
Eco Paraiso Xixim Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing