We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“And Pink Flamingos Too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Manglares

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Manglares
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And Pink Flamingos Too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Celestun was a great side trip from the city of Merida. We reserved a bungalow at Hotel Manglares for a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised by the nicely appointed accommodation – very comfortable with the beach right outside our door. If I had to nitpick, my one comment would be that some of the fixtures did not operate properly, but we really weren’t there to flick on switches either. Rodrigo was very welcoming and friendly, as was the rest of the office staff, and was a source of information for our travel plans beyond Celestun. We ate a couple of times at Las Palapas which was fine, and once at another local restaurant which I’m not sure had a name, but was recommended by fellow travelers. We also had breakfast at the Poseidon restaurant on site at the hotel (minor note: the waiters here are not very personable but they are not professional wait staff either) – please keep in mind that Celestun is a small fishing village, not a culinary mecca. Shared a morning boat ride with other touristas to see the flamingos and that was just the best way to start the day! Other than that, the order of the day here is peaceful, quiet, R&R. We definitely would have stayed longer had our travel plans allowed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenorpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
14
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

This hotel is all dressed up but lacks charm. It's new - with spacious rooms, sunset views of the beach and even bathtubs, a rarity in the Yucatan. It's really inexpensive for what it is. Has a lovely pool with a swim-up bar. Palapas on a beautiful beach. Etc... etc... But they need to get the details right. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. Nasty thin sheets. Lumpy stingy pillows on king sized beds. Fancy-looking restaurant that serves microwaved Nescafe with powdered milk. The hotel is a walking contradiction. But there's nothing wrong that a boutique hotelier couldn't fix. It just needs higher thread count sheets, real coffee and speedier service at breakfast. I give this hotel an average rating not because it's bad, but because of its missed potential. But it's not a bad place to stay and I wouldn't be unhappy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VictoriaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We spent 3 nights in a cabana at the Hotel Manglares. This is a nice, serene place. The accommodation was lovely and they have recently finished a beautiful restaurant with a pool and a swim up bar. The seafood was amazing. Best coconut shrimp I've ever eaten! Rodrigo is a lovely host and very accommodating. The only downside is the beach which could use a daily cleaning.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Manglares in a cabana ($1600 pesos/night) and was very happy with the accomodations. The cabanas include a large bedroom, a living room, a kitchen, bathroom and an outside patio facing the beach. The sliding glass doors in the bedroom and the living room look out over the water. The views are beautiful.

The cabana was clean, well-kept and comfortable. There was also a TV that carried two English-language stations. Definitely the nicest accomodations we had on our trip around the Yucatan.

The location of the hotel is definitely a big selling point. You are literally only a few feet from the sandy beach and you can watch the setting sun over the water at the beach. Breathtaking.

The hotel arranged for us to take the boat tour of the wildlife sanctuary where the flamingos nest. The boat picked us up on the beach at the hotel. Cost was $160 pesos per person with a minimum of 6 people. The boat can take a max of 8. The tour lasted 2 hours and was quite impressive. Not to be missed if you go to Celestun. Go in the morning rather than the afternoon because the water gets a little choppy later in the day.

The only issue we had at the hotel was that we arrived on a Sunday, when the only person who speaks fluent English was not there. My Spanish was totally inadequate. We ate lunch both days we were there at the Restaurant Palapas on the beach and the waiters there seemed to know English pretty well. Don't expect anyone else in Celestun to speak English. It's a pretty small fishing village with only a few restaurants and hotels on the beach. Definitely, low-key and unspoiled.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
232 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

I spent one night at the Hotel Manglares and was delighted with the views from my third floor corner room. This very spacious room had two balconies, a small one that afforded views over the neighboring property and the beach and gulf beyond, and a larger one that faced the water and, because it was higher than the hotel’s water-front bungalows, afforded especially nice views. The room was clean, airy, and simply furnished. Well, actually, it was sparsely furnished, bringing me to the quirks of the Hotel Manglares: The king-sized bed was very comfortable, but the room otherwise held only the bare minimum furnishings and, with the exception of a mirror, no decorative elements. It didn’t even have bed-side lamps! The large, modern vanity/wardrobe area had nice wooden cabinetry and a small in-room safe—which I was unable to lock. The bath area included a large bathtub — something I found incredibly welcoming — but the plug didn’t work. The only waste bin in the room was a truly tiny one in the bath area. On the other hand, the room did come with large, fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. The staff on duty while I was there did not speak English, but they were incredibly patient with my extremely limited Spanish and found a way to provide me with the information I wanted. All-in-all, the room met my needs and provided wonderful views, but I left thinking they could make their accommodations more enjoyable with a little more attention to details.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

As it was the low season we did not make a reservation. The owner / manager showed us several types of room and when we mentioned that we wanted to look at one other hotel before deciding he said that he would arrange a flamingo tour for us beginning and ending at the hotel for less than $20 US. He said it would leave around 9 AM the next day. The next morning there was no tour and when we enquired at the desk they said they knew nothing of such an arrangement. They did make a phone call and get a local fisherman to come in and offer us a "special " price of $80 US. About then the manager came in and when we said this wasn't what we had talked about he turned to the fisherman and said they're calling me a liar.
We went to the government sponsored flamingo tour and it was better than we could have hoped for.
The room was large and clean. The pool was closed because the construction dust from the hotel's expansion had blown into it. The beach is not very pleasant with blowing sand and bird soiled chaises.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raoul_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Celestun hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

A great little sidetrip if you need to get away from the touristy stuff .Nice clean hotel on the beach , walking distance from town . The staff is young and a little ditzy but are friendly and eager to please . Make sure you go see the flamingoes . I am a bit of a Philistine when it comes to nature tours but this one is impressive ; a sea of pink as far as you can see .
Disappointing meal at Palapas , this town may be awash in shrimp and seafood but noone knows how to cook it . Old style cuisine ; probably haven't changed their menu or their deep-fryer for 20 years.

  • Liked — cabanas on the beach, shells
  • Disliked — the pool was a bird bath
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celestun
9.0 km away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 km away
Sotuta de Peon
Sotuta de Peon
#1 of 2 in Tecoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 14 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
1.0 km away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#4 of 4 in Celestun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 8 in Celestun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manglares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manglares

Property: Hotel Manglares
Address: Calle 12 No 63, Celestun 97367, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ecological hotel in the Ria Celestun Biosphere. A few steps from the center of Celestun, newly built in 2005 on the beach. We offer flamenco trips, canoe trips, walking tours and beatiful Yucatecan-style accomodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manglares Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing