We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
14
17
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
17
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 40 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was late April 2014 that we stayed in this hotel. So please consider that my comments might fail for hot summer days or colder days. First of all I feel that It is not a hotel for everybody but if you are not after luxury, if you are not after a formal hotel atmosphere and if you enjoy being in the middle of nature, but still at a walking distance to everywhere including train and bus stations and if you like old buildings with a beautiful added porch overlooking the garden, I think you will like this place. We enjoyed our stay very very much and hope to come back again. It was the highlight of our trip to Salzburg area.

Room tip: We stayed at room 8, which was at the oldest part of the house. It has a nice balcony looking at the garden. Please note that the rooms are very simple.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfect location minutes from everything. Another review talked about kitchy decor and the reception not being often occupied. Try never. You must be a very independant traveller to appreciate the experience. You check in, and if you dont go to breakfast, you never see staff again. The room was cold; they turn the radiator on very low. But the blankets are very warm. No coffee maker in the room. Overall a decent experience.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in july hat days.location is good.room and bathroom are big .clean.at this trip we stayed at 4 different places best breakfast we had here.cristian is very friendly and helpfull..hotel is good interms of garden trees flowers and furniture.we went.there mainly for halsstad but personally ı liked more bad ischl.very pastoral town.lovely with river and walking paths.like remained at early 20th century..
.for the hotel we stayed at hot days rooms had no aircon.and we had to open windows. ı advise kindly that at least one of the window should have flies net .and curtain to the balcony doors.sun light directly comes to eyes in the morning.

Room tip: if itis in summer rooms should not face to sun direcly and better to have at the roof floor rooms..
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mualibarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Hallstatt to Salzburg. We stopped in Bad Ischl to catch bus 150 to Salzburg. We wanted to spend a few hours to check out Bad Ischl. We went up to hotel Sonnhof and asked if they could keep our luggage. The two ladies at the front desk were extremely nice. The asked if we had reservation and we said we only needed to drop off our luggage. They were smiling, energetic and very willing to help. We appreciate their help. The two young ladies are exceptional. Also, it looks like an excellent place to stay. We ran in a person there. He was also very happy with hotel Sonnhof.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loved this hotel! Has lots of character with the decor, and a really lovely conservatory with garden for a view to eat breakfast in - ask for eggs as they have their own chickens so you'll get nice fresh ones! Our room (number 10) was fab - very spacious, lovely comfy beds, and a nice big balcony with great view over some of the town and surrounding mountains. It had the WOW factor. Strange layout though - you need to share this room with someone you're very comfortable with as there are two bathrooms - one with toilet and shower and one with sink and huge bath - which wasn't the most practical, but the main issue is that the bathroom with the sink has no door, and you also go through that bathroom to get to the balcony. So, it's not the best for privacy! Fine for a couple though! Hotel has nice garden and trees and it's only 5 -10 mins walk into town. Bad Ischl is a really lovely town with nice old buildings and river. Loved the place - a great base for exploring the lakes too.

Room tip: Ask for room 10 as this seemed to have the best view - I'm sure the rooms are all lovely though.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews