We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
74
76
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
76
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water tuk tuk cultural triangle sri lanka base to explore rooms are clean rice stayed here for nights curry polonnaruwa safari ac garden taxis trees
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 182 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

I would not recommend this place to older people or people who look for some luxery. The rooms are spacey but a bit damp. The (bath) room was not very clean and the matrass was really thin. The prices are good and if you're looking for basic it will answer your needs. Manager was very friendly to us.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Stifke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

We have stayed in this nice family hotel on a way from Kalpitya to Kandy. Its very conveniently located close to Hurula Nature Park where we went elephant watching. Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. There are ACs in each room, beds are convenient.
For a price you pay, its a very nice place, with good food.
Sunil makes you comfortable. All rooms are pretty similar, but in a far building its probably less noisy from the kitchen and the road.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty similar, but in a far building its probably less noisy from the kitchen and the road.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tomirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2014 via mobile

We felt very welcome at this place. Sunil welcomed us upon arrival with a welcome drink and asked what we wanted for dinner even though we arrived after 8 pm. Sunil helped us in any way possible. Elephant riding, meals and transport to the next place. Thank you Sunil for the excellent service! And also thanks for the great food - we loved it!

Stayed: December 2014
Thank thomassvardal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dishant, Owner at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most kind review on Tripadvisor and particularly for praising efforts of our colleague Sunil. Thank you for complementing our buffet food, hotel facilities but most of all our dedicated staff.
Thank you for being our guest and thank you for sharing your positive experience of Le Grand Meaulnes with other Tripadvisor readers.

Yours sincerely
Jaya/ Hotel Owner
Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, Habarana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights right after arriving in Sri Lanka. Very quiet and peaceful place to recuperate after a long flight.
Central to many trips and excursions. We went on a safari early the first morning, not many animals to see, but great way to start the day.
Very friendly and attentive staff, Sunil is just the friendliest you can wish for.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
A bargain for the price ($35 a night).

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vaage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff, fantastic dinners cooked with care, excellent breakfast, close to bus stop, close to Sigiriya and national parks where elephants and other wildlife can be seen. The hosts will arrange trips and taxis for you. You should stay here for sure !

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews