We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Athreya Ayurveda Ashram(Habarana)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mutu Village(Habarana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
72
75
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
75
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watertuk tukcultural trianglethe crossroadssri lankarooms are bigrice and curryenjoyed our staybase to exploretwo nightsrooms are cleanverandadriverpolonnaruwasafariacgarden
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 179 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Watch your head as you enter the bathroom! There is a step down from the bedroom into the bathroom and the door frame is low. Rooms are basic but spacious and clean. There is an air conditioner and an overhead fan. There is no hanging space but clothes can be draped over a rack.
Breakfast provided. Certainly a central location.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Musical2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Splendid location and ambience. Fruits are served fresh from the garden. We opted for vegetarian dinner and the food was excellent. Friendly and helpful housekeepers.
Strongly recommended if you want to visit Habarana.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shorty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dishant, Manager at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel for your recent stay in Habarana. We really appreciate that you took the time to send valuable comments about your stay at our hotel, especially for mentioning our great customer service, our delicious breakfast and the very central location. Looking forward to welcomeíng you soon again. Best regards from Nalika on behalf of the Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Considering it was off the main road it was set back and was surprisingly quiet. The manager and staff were very friendly and attentive. The local curry dinner was excellent. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great location for visit to Kaudulla National Park.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cleverclogs150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We were a group of 8 (three families), and stayed at Habarana for three nights. This is a small but excellent hotel. We booked directly from their website and did not have to pay any advance. The owner, Mr. Nalika, is a very friendly and knowledgeable person, and tried to help us in every way to plan our trips around the cultural triangle. The rooms are spacious, the beds and the washroom are clean. The hotel staff were always ready to cater our needs.

The food is slightly costly compared to what one may have at outside shops, but only marginally, and the breakfast is included in room rent. I would love to recommend this hotel -- but we had some problem with the washroom, check whether everything is working properly. (I must say that the staff were always ready to help and repair.) Free wi-fi is available in the room but the strength may not be as high as one wants.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maitreya1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

We had two nights and this beautiful guesthouse. We were welcomed with fresh lime juice on arrival and the stay continued to get better from there. The room was exceptionally clean, bathroom a little outdated but still clean. We arrived late afternoon and were served a delicious rice and curry meal for dinner (ask for sambol if you like your curries spicy!). One of the best meals we had on our two week holiday in Sri Lanka. The meal was made to order so if you're arriving closer to dinner I would advise to email/phone earlier that day to arrange dinner as you don't want to miss it! Habarana is a great location to visit sigiriya, do a safari and visit dambulla caves. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We were 3 girls staying here and we all felt safe. Definitely would recommended to other traveler. Internet wasn't great but you're in Sri Lanka, why not enjoy it! we found the internet worked best in the mornings.

I definitely prefer to stay at family run guesthouse as the money goes directly to the family and staff alway go above and beyond compared to larger hotels. This guesthouse is a perfect example of this!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews