We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peachland is the place to be if you own pets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peachland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Peachland is the place to be if you own pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in two of your suites, Suite 1 & Heritage. Very clean, great view & bed was comfortable. We took our black lab with us, there was a doggy beach, close by; very clean. Many restraunts accompadated us with our dog, we were able to sit on some of the patio's with him, they provided water & ice cream for our pooch. People that reside in Peachland were very friendly, Restraunt food was excellent. Our hosts Hugh and Irene were welcoming & brought our dog a nice gift bag full of toys & treats. We were treated well & will definately recommend this to others & be back.
Thanks for everything Hugh and Irene. Best Regards ~ Ziggy, Cindy & Chevy (woof)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relax013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Mainland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

After signing up as a volunteer to work at Ironman Canada in Penticton the last weekend of Aug 2010 I procrastinated arranging accommodation until Penticton and surroundings were more or less sold out - D'OH!

I stumbled across the website for the Duck & Pug Lakeshore Suites in Peachland and contacted the owner for availability - the "Boathouse Studio" was indeed still available that weekend and she was very accommodating with the minimum number of nights. Also, the rates were very reasonable given that Ironman weekend is a prospector's delight - some folks get their kids through college just renting out rooms during that week...

The Boathouse Studio is, well, a studio in what may have actually been a boathouse at some point (no other way to describe it). It's located directly at the water overlooking a little marina in the back and has got perfect view out onto Okanagan Lake. There is a little private BBQ area in the back with grill and furniture for those warm evenings.

The interior is cozy and rustic and probably not for the honeymooning couple or Mum, Dad, the kids and little Rover - but for one or two outdoorsy people looking for a clean and convenient stay it turns out to be perfect. The bed is a bunk with a surprisingly good mattress and the suite features all the necessary appliances - fridge, microwave, toaster oven, toaster - along with all cooking utensils, cutlery and flatware one could possibly need. The suite also has a small flatscreen with Bell service and wireless internet.

There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance - tried the Blind Angler next door and the Waterfront Grill a block down Beach Ave.

All in all a very nice and carefree stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MumsBua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay in a lovely room, complete with a soaker tub and fabulous views. The hosts were great and Peachland is a very lovely community worth exploring. The room was recently updated and was perfect for a get away. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coralVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We spent a month and a half at the Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites while renovations were being done on our home. The suite had just been upgraded and it was simply fabulous. It had a soaker tub for two that we thoroughly enjoyed while viewing the lake and sharing a bottle of wine. The deck overlooked the marina. It is centrally located and everything needed is within walking distance and there is a bus stop at the Blind Angler Grill next door.
The staff was so helpful, courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyVig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

The Duck and Pug in Peachland, BC is located between Kelowna and Penticton, making it a awesome location for touring the Okanagan. IT is a cozy cottage-style home divided into 3 separate apartments. Ours was complete with A/C unit, washer and dryer, full kitchen, dishes etc., living area, nice patio with view and a BBQ . It is located right on the waters edge and adjoining a small harbour dock which makes for very pleasant mornings and evenings watching the boats come in and out. There is never any noise as boats come and go quietly. The beds are comfortable, and rooms are cute and beautifully appointed. Parking is right along side and convenient. Peachland is a picturesque town on Lake Okanagan offering beautiful lakeside walks, a wonderful coffee shop/bakery and a equally good fish and chip house. If your looking for a relaxing get-a-away cottage that is affordable and quite to base your Okanagan exploration from. This is for you. The owners always make you feel like part of the family, even your pets.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabiabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stayed in the Lucky Duck Suite 2 and found the accommodation okay if your expectations are not too high. The location is very good, right on the lake front next to all amenities. The suite decor is dated and quite worn out (e.g. uncomfortable, old sofa, t.v. barely audible sound level). Be aware of their "pet friendly" status as we were surprised one morning to be barked at by a large dog from another suite. One good feature is the washer/dryer/kitchenette, but you are expected to wash & change linens and clean the suite before departure. There was no one onsite to greet us upon arrival, the keys were in the mailbox (which we found upon inquiry). Also, the room rate charged to us did not match our online quote (however, this was later corrected).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Level of comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

The Duck and Pug offers three self-contained rooms - we stayed in Suite #1. For the price, $99, it was good value (though breakfast not included - this isn't a B&B, although feels like it). The couple who ran the place were very welcoming and helpful, and we instantly felt like valued guests (this cannot be said for all small family-run stays!!).

The style of the place is like a family home which has just been vacated - the mixed up crockery, and mish-mash of utensils and furnishings makes it homely, though not very professional. A bit like being in your grandma's home. Maybe we caught the owners when they didn't expect visitors, as we found our room mainly clean - but if we moved anything, not quite as spic and span as it first looked.

You are left entirely to yourself once you're in your room - for us, this was a positive factor. Heating system came on loudly at 5am, the bathroom was tiny, and the bed was the softest I've stayed in since I last used a hostel.

So, all in all, ok for a quick stopover. If this looks like a very mixed review, that sums up my feelings. Superb location (also with an above average grill-style restaurant next door), warm welcome, but apartment starting to get a little faded at the edges, and in need of major updates.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank riotambopata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peachland
9.3 km away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
19.9 km away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
A Day's Dream B&B
A Day's Dream B&B
#3 of 18 in Peachland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Pineacre on the Lake
Pineacre on the Lake
#1 of 18 in Peachland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.1 km away
Heartstone B&B
Heartstone B&B
#4 of 18 in Peachland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.5 km away
Okanagan Breeze B&B
Okanagan Breeze B&B
#12 of 18 in Peachland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites

Property: Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites
Address: 5895 Beach Ave, Peachland, British Columbia V0H 1X7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Peachland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Peachland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Duck and Pug Lakeshore Suites, a mini-resort that has just the right suite for you: Executive quality, stunning views, deluxe lakeshore romance/relaxation, comfortable, cosy and charming, funky and interesting -- these are terms our guests have used to describe our wonderful and very different suites. This year we have added our Upper Lakeview Suite with a 700 sq.ft. deck for an awesome view of the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duck And Pug Lakeshore Suites Peachland, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing