We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Donegal”
Review of Hotel Loch Altan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Loch Altan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just spent a wonderfully relaxing May bank holiday weekend in Gortahork (Gort a Choirce) in County Donegal. First night was spent in Ostan Loch Altan and other nights were spent self catering. The hotel is right in the heart of the village, next to the inlet so there is a lovely sea view. Rooms are comfortable, not 5 star modern, but had a lovely nights sleep. Breakfast was perfect with the sea view, all needs were catered for. Staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a Gaeltacht area and it was great to hear the "cupla focal". The village was very quiet at the weekend which was great for us but still felt it was a pity it doesn't get more tourists as it is in such a lovely spot. It is a great area for walks, beaches, mountains etc. I know it is a distance away but still can't understand why more people don't visit. They are missing out badly.

Room Tip: Ask for room either facing to the front or with a seaview, some rooms have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westdubmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 265 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Atttended a weddding here and stayed on the 2 night package with dinner, the hotel is very friendly and would have no problems recommending to friends. The room has clean and the only problem we had was trying to get the shower to the correct temperature. The meals were fab, far too much food and the service was friendly.

The wedding was a credit to this hotel, the meal was fantastic and the day into evening went so quick. Thanks to all at this hotel for a very comfortable stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ig035132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which I found to be fair and balanced.
I regret that your dining experience has not been to your satisfaction, particularly on the busy days.
As you know, having worked in the food business as you mentioned in your review, it is very difficult to judge how busy bar food will be on any particular day as people arrive without a reservation and very often they all seem to arrive at the same time. There are 3 entrances to our bar, lounge and foyer area which adds to the difficulty. It is much easier to manage in the restaurant as most of our clientele are pre-booked.
I hope that you will visit us again in the near future. I look forward to meeting with you

Kindest regards

Seán Mc Elwee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

stayed there for two nights one dinner it was clean freindly warm ver enjoyable atmosphere in the bar plenty of irish being spoken a little gem in a very quiet spot of Donegal

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank codrodcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My wife and I have just returned home from a four-day stay at Ostan Loch Altan. The superb scenery around the Donegal Highlands is well known to us, but we hadn't actually spent a night there for many years. Around the hotel there is plenty of parking space. Our first impressions were very favourable - along with its change of name, the hotel was enlarged and completely transformed not many years ago.

We found our room 219 clean, bright and well-equipped, with plenty of space and no noise intruding. The bed was firmly comfortable. As the days passed, all too quickly, we discovered that the room was also well serviced.

The breakfasts were well-prepared from a varied menu, and on two evenings we returned to the hotel for bar meals - we had excellent food, again from a varied menu. Unusually, there are places outside the bar where you can eat if you prefer to.

Without exception the staff were courteous, friendly, and helpful. We had taken advantage of a mid-week discount, but looking back, we are still impressed that we could have such a good hotel experience for slightly under 40 Euro per day per person sharing. Our only hesitation in recommending Ostan Loch Altan to everybody is that some guests may have to be able to climb the stairs - we didn't find a lift.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Myself and my young daughter spent 4 nights here over the June bank holiday weekend and it was absolutely fanastic. From the moment we entered the hotel could feel the friendly atmosphere and especially the warm reception for children. The staff could not have been any more welcoming and helpful from reception girls to bar and lounge staff to dining room staff. Rooms could do with a make over but we spent so little time there it did not matter. Breakfasts brillant and
bar food fanastic and very reasonably priced. Would definitely return as would my daughter who loved it - just a pity they do not have a swimming pool!!!

Location also fantastic - fab beaches a few minutes drive either side, Dunlewey pet farm and playground for children a few minutes drive away.

1  Thank FreedomSaoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
9.9 km away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
16.6 km away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
427 reviews
12.4 km away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,148 reviews
15.7 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
860 reviews
36.8 km away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loch Altan

Address: Gortahork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Price Range: $67 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing