We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why do only moaners write review?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperidi Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperidi Park Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Castelvetrano
Wakefield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Why do only moaners write review?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

This hotel is way better than the reviews would have you believe, there are however 2 things you need to know. 1) You need a car, 2) You really need a car.
The hotel is on the main road from Castelvetrano to Selinunte and the only other option is to use the hotel courtesy car (fine to the beach not much use for any where else). The food at the hotel is great (we are a 16 stone ex head chef and very fussy veggie). The staff are great you will find their understanding of English is directly proprotionate to how you are with them!
The public transport is rubbish, the bus from outside the hotel, often turned up 20 minutes early, the trains run as and when and are often cancelled with no notice, or replaced by slow coaches.
The hotel is beautifully presented, modern light and immaculately clean. The pool area is great but under-used except at weekends when the locals pay to use the facilities. The gym is smal but very well equiped. The spa (including indoor pool and sauna etc) is expensive and only open at week-ends. Drinks at the bar and pool are pricey as you would expect ( 3.50 euros for bottled lager 2.50 for coke/fanta etc.) There is a supermarket (super6) 10 minute walk towards Castelvetrano but not a pleasant walk as no pavements & lunatic drivers.
Overall I strongly recommend this hotel provided you have a car or are willing to just chill by the pool. 1 week ok, 10 days better, 2 weeks have a plan.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    165
    137
    87
    104
See reviews for
205
258
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

It's a lovely hotel, but it's in the middle of..nowhere so there's no walks or shops or entertainment, the pool was lovely but there's only so much swimming you can do and we didn't get a hired car, so after our daughter got an ear infection due to in and out of the pool for 4 days solid, we really didn't have anything to do! The hotel was more than happy to get us to the doctors and back though, but a (proper play area), a childrens menu, and proper family rooms would make for it to of been a more family friendly holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends with children,or ones that want nightife. But think it suits business people more or couples wanting a quiet peaceful holiday.
Ps it was our honeymoon but there wasn't a hint of special treatment even though we'd told the travel agents who said we'd get it. :( We even had to share our bed with our 2 year old the 1st night until there was a second camp bed next to ours from then on!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pclosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We got a very good deal from Travelzoo so decided to give Sicily a try.

The hotel looks a little like a multi storey carpark from the outside, but once inside it is very nice. The reception is bright and airy, stairs, lifts and walkways spotlessly clean. Rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable, shower in bathroom was very powerful. Small balcony - furniture had seen better days, but adequate for the odd time we sat out there.

The pool is very big, plenty of sunbeds & umbrellas & very clean - has a pool bar. Only moan is that the boys behind bar played the same music on a link, and it seemed to get louder day by day (they did turn it down when asked). Beach towels provided at reception. Nice breeze by pool, which is very welcome. Pool surrounded by olive & lemon trees so no road noise.

We found all the staff at the hotel very helpful, not all spoke English, not a problem tho, we always managed to communicate. The girl on reception was exceptionally helpful and was v helpful when we decided to go out on the train one day. The hotel is remote, nothing really in walking distance. We did risk walking to supermarket one day, but very dangerous, no paths, and fast traffic. Hotel does offer a mini bus service to beach, which is very reliable-the driver Jan Franco is very nice. You can use it as a taxi costs approx 5 euros to nearby villages. We used it often to go and eat out at night.

We liked the beach, not very big but clean with plenty sun beds 12 euros for 2 sunbeds and umbrella. You wont get sun bed near the water tho, i think they are reserved for locals - sunbed guy friendly tho.

Food at the hotel is hit and miss. Sometimes v good, other times awful. We changed to Breakfast and lunch, and all the lunches we had were excellent. Breakfast was basic, not much choice,cereal, eggs, cheese & ham, pastries,sliced bread,bottled water - Not a problem for us, we were happy with cup of tea (water was boiling hot which you don't always get abroad) and croissant -Waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, tables were always v clean.

The week we were at the hotel, there was a wedding, anniversary and a birthday party - all quite large parties which took over the Dining Room and the outside space, also made the bar very busy. I do think the hotel need to decide whether they are catering for tourists or locals/events.

We really enjoyed this hotel & holiday, and for the money we paid we were more than pleased. We found both the staff and local people very friendly and very helpful. I think we would hire a car if staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrior24Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We have spent 2 weeks here and we have travalled to all corners of the island. We are a couple with three teenagers. This is what we found:

1. Book the transfer from the airport when booking the holiday. Save hassle and get a cheaper hire car at hotel..

2. Bring a good guide book, I had the lonely planet and it was invaluable for pointers.

3. The staff are very friendly but only 2 are proficient in English. These 2 are great by the way and will book everything down to the last detail = Allessio will even go to the point of phoning the destination to translate for you.

4. There is a free shuttle to the local resort which has 2 beaches. Pineta is spotless, with cafe and beds at 6 euro for 2 or 10 for 5 in our case. The main beach is the one they will take you too unless you ask for Pineta. This is in the village under the ancient greek temples. Beds are dearer, Water is the same. Remember you are there 10 - 4 with the shuttle.

5. We hired a punto 4 door with aircon for 3 days and took in the north coast, the central mountains, Etna, Catania on the east coast and most of the south and west coast. Stayed at mountain b&b called a refuge locally while at Etna. Volcano great. Bring boots if you want to walk far, otherwise traners and socks are all you need. The cable car is 27 Euro and another 25 if you want to use the bus to the next summit. Asthma sufferers shouldnt try any of this. We walked from the top of the cable and it was lovely in the early morning before the haze and cloud forms. Catania is a hell hole- steer clear!!!! Driving is a bit of a haul especially in the 40C heat.

6 The cities arent worth the effort unless you have something specific to see.

7. We alternate between pool and beach. There are no shops- great if you,
are male. Nightlife is nil unless you go to Selinunte. August is fiesta month there every day. As usual nothing happens before 10pm when the heat abates.

Overall, its doesnt cater for package tourists at all. A good cheap place with very high aspirations which it might achieve if it can agree what it wants to do as someone else pointed out. Nice people, try to communicate with them- they will do their best.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nagromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

I have been 2 times at Esperidi Park Hotel, and everytime I found a fantastic atmosphere. The Hotel is really nice, and very Clean. I advice to try the restaurant, the food is very good and not expensive at all and the SPA!!!! I advice to everyone to go, and also to go visit Selinunte (very close to the Hotel).

For sure when i'll a change i'll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pietro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed 10 nights at this hotel in August 2009 while visiting my husband's relatives who live about 20 minutes down the highway. The rooms are very nice, especially the bathrooms are clean with very modern features, the beds were comfortable and we had a small private balcony. (Note: The in room air conditioning stops as soon as the balcony doors are opened). The first morning that I went down for breakfast I walked into a room with a fantastic warm buffet full of tourists from France. I was then quickly redirected to an empty room with large open bowls of stale cereals like corn flakes, a few yogurts, bread rolls and sweet pastries - a selection which barely varied the entire time we were there. The lunch and dinner menus were not that great either so I cannot really recommend the hotel's restaurant at all. Very few people who work there speak any English so unless you have someone to translate like I had, it would be difficult. My husband and other guests were very frustrated that the wireless internet connection in the bar never worked. This hotel also had a lot of big parties such as wedding receptions going on almost every night, but our room was very well sound-proofed so we did not mind. The large outdoor pool & bar area and the spa and fitness rooms are very nice and clean as well. So overall they score big points for a nice, quiet, modern, clean place to rest your head after a long day at the nearby beach or sightseeing and it's conveniently located right on a main road off of a major highway. The biggest disadvantages are the language barrier, the food selection plus having a rental car is a must if you stay at this location. We went out for lunch and dinner or ate with relatives almost every night and the hotel is not far from the town of Selinunte by car.
The beach in Porto Palo is especially nice and shallow with clear and warm little waves.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

I found the stay within the hotel comftable and the staff helpfull polite, the facilitiess were if a high standard. I would highly recomend the quesine which i found delightfull and varied.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank q243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvetrano
22.5 km away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.8 km away
Althea Palace Hotel
Althea Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Castelvetrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
47.5 km away
Villa Zina Park Hotel
Villa Zina Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Custonaci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
166.5 km away
Hotel Stella Marina
Hotel Stella Marina
#3 of 4 in Scoglitti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperidi Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperidi Park Hotel

Property: Esperidi Park Hotel
Address: S.S. 115 Svincolo per Selinunte, 91022, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Castelvetrano
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Castelvetrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperidi Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Esperidi Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperidi Park Resort
Esperidi Park Castelvetrano
Esperidi Park Hotel Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing