We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Hotel, Beautiful Surroundings”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Let's get one thing straight. It's not a luxury hotel, by any means. What it is, is a basic hotel, that is slightly overpriced for what it is (even by local standards). The customer service is OK - nothing spectacular, but nothing terrible either. Where the hotel shines is its sunning platforms and private beach. Perfect for sun worshippers looking to chill out. Breakfast was pretty good and the rooms were clean.

We felt slightly duped by the advertising of our room as a deluxe double unit. What we received was a tiny, single room, with a queen bed and a bunk bed. My wife and I slept on the bunks. Not a huge deal, but still kind of crappy given that this place cost us 300USD per night.

I would return if I was able to get a deal on the hotel. Otherwise a little steep for what it is.

All that aside, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We originally only planned on one night, but stayed for two. The location is superb and the hotel was a great boutique hotel experience. Staff was helpful, beach bar and beach are gorgeous, and the rooms are simple and clean. We loved it and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a base to explore the area. Easy to reach Cinque Terre, as we did on our second day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strevisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is a little paradise! We are coming to this place for several years and will be doing so in future. :-)
All is perfect (sea view, privat beach, breakfast, beach bar, rooms...)! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Beach bar has been completely renovated, but we also have loved it before. We love the flair of this house!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liguria_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We arrived at Il Nido after a week in Florence in need of some serious R & R. The Hotel is in a wonderful spot, perched on the edge of the bay. We were made immediately welcome by the staff who I must say were extremely helpful. We had asked in advance if they could book a restaurant for our first night and they came up trumps. A table overlooking the bay at Il Senatore! Just a short walk from the Hotel but one which we would have never found ourselves. They were also extremely helpful with local information, bus tickets, train timetables etc. The room was a little on the small side and our only quibble was the lack of storage/hanging space, but we did have two weeks luggage and were staying for a week which I don't think is the norm. Having said that the balcony was fantastic - big enough for a table and two chairs and even a couple of deckchairs and the view was out of this world. I would definitely advise anyone thinking of staying at Il Nido to pay the extra and book one of the five rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea. The beach was again small but adequate and the terraces with sunbeds excellent. Warning! there are a lot of steps down to the beach. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the lunch bar on one of the terraces overlooking the sea was good and not overpriced. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance, the beautiful village of Tellaro only 15 mins walk away and a bus stop outside the hotel where you can catch a bus to Lerici which only takes 15 mins. What more could you want? This Hotel is a real find and the perfect base for exploring this part of the Riviera. We hope to come again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaytee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Bit pricey at 140 euros and 2.50 euros for 30 minutes of Internet. Reception staff couldn't advise if there was signal in the rooms. Best to arrive in daytime. We arrived late and the parking was up the drive of the 2nd building across the road while we were in the main building below the road. Too much trouble to get the bags down so we left them in the car. Staff friendly and great breakfast from a dining room with panoramic views. The private beach is reached by steep stairs with a few sun beds on each of about 6 levels going down. Very Ligurian coast!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I feel incredibly lucky that we stayed at Il Nido only because our other top choice (from our Trip Advisor research) was Hotel Florida in Lerici. Hotel Florida paled in comparison when we checked it out in person. It was more like Florida Holiday Inn.

We arrived Il Nido at 11:30pm after traveling for 15 hours by bus and rail from Chamonix. When we pulled in, the four of us - two couples - were beat, but wow, we got over that lickity-split. We had a few micro brews in the decadently simple and empty lounge area and strolled to the beach. The whole thing got us drunk - the air, the hotel vibe, the soothing, quirky Masamilliano, and the beautiful little peach white rooms with terraces that opened up to the sound of the waves (and nothing more). Note: my bro and his wife did not have the panoramic view, so they didn't have this luxury. It's worth spending the extra euros for the terrace.

Here's the at a glance stats for you:
Room: Small, clean, tasteful, with two beds pushed together to make your bed (probably a queen). Ours was really bouncy, but didn't really mind it and I'm a bed snob. One wardrobe. A desk. A little table with shoe rack underneath. Note: thin walls, but not an issue for the most part - the clientele is pretty mature.

Bathroom: Small. Bidet (!). Tiny shower. Tasteful.

Hotel: Modern vibe, very tasteful, unique, not just a hotel room factory, quiet, not bustling at all. STUNNING beach access complete with 10 layers of little seating/sunning nooks on your way down to the beach, killer breakfast (included), and great hotel staff (hat tip Masamilliano, both of you, Marina, Marisa!...). Not cheap, but we had no regrets ponying up the conto (bill) when we checked out. And we're fairly middle income, just for the record.

Beach: The four of us were the only ones there for 90% of the time, even though they had like 6 rows of chairs crammed onto the small little pebbly sand area. The swimming was like a dream. Small waves, no current, crystal clear water, refreshing... couldn't be better. They have kayaks you can use for free which was fun.

Food: We stayed three nights, but only were there for two dinners. We went to Delfino night one, because the Il Gambera Nero (the Black Lobster) guy, Benjamino, was a little too crazy and intense for us and it seemed too expensive at 50 euro/person. Delfino was okay, not great. Not expensive, but not really interesting. Night two, word got around with the Hotel staff that Benjamino was trying to over-charge us, so they re-negotiated and we got it down to 32.5 euro/person and, drum roll, it was worth it. Amazingly fresh seafood that didn't stop arriving. The antipasti and secondi's trumped the main course (branzino). One of the best dinners during our two week trip to France/Italy.

Highly recommended if you like relaxed, quiet, authentic Italy. We were longing for Tellaro when we got to Florence....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCviaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel Nido is on top of coastline in an attractive surrounding. Hotel itself is basic, but clean. Any kind of service mentality has not been experienced. Room equipment is almost non-existing, little storage facilities if any. Rooms on top floor are small, but offer a wonderful view over the coast from the balcony.
Steep steps lead towards a little sandy beach that is picturesque, but very small and crowded- hard to stay for more than 2 hours. Direct acces to the sea, not for children becuase right after 3 steps into the water gets very deep. Unfortunately due to many yachts (especially on weekends) and the oil harbour of La Spezia Bay water is frequently not clean and not pleasant.
The adjacent town of Lerici is nicely located, typical Italian and not at all spoiuled by foreign tourists, only italian.
Suited for young people mainly if they can afford the price that is steep to what it offers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tellaro
0.4 km away
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
#3 of 3 in Tellaro
166 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Fiascherino
Hotel Fiascherino
#2 of 3 in Fiascherino
146 reviews
0.6 km away
Albergo Villa Maria Grazia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
502 reviews
1.7 km away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
624 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Address: Via Fiascherino 75/122 | Tellaro di Lerici, 19032 Tellaro, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Tellaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Price Range: $156 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing