We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small cosy hotel.”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here in May 2012. I was staying in Turkey, but fancied getting away from the hustle and bustle of Gumbet. When you get off the ferry and walk into Kos town the lush greenery and more laid back lifestyle certainly hits you. It took me 5 minutes toi find the hotel once I had the usual nose around to get my bearings. I was greeted warmly by Afedoulis and was offered the choice of 3 rooms. I chose Room 6 at the back of the hotel, nice and airy with a balconly that runs the length of the building, lush green leaves sprawl outside and a fresh breeze as I sit on the balcony and relax. I wanted some food and Sonia the owner was more than keen to direct me to some good eateries. Room was very quiet at night as it is away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfast in the morning was just enough and delicious. The owners really couldnt enough for me. A complete change to my experience in Gumbet.

Room Tip: Book early or you wont get one !!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Sonia and her family made us extremely welcome. Everything was easy. Email booking, arrival, breakfast and about as much info as you need, Sonia has it all. The room had a good view across the Roman bath remains to the harbour and was clean. The bathroom was perfect too. Her food recommendations were excellent too. I would certaily head back and stay again should I be in Kos as this was a stress free start to a great family holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice but the balcony made for a great view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Sonia still charges what she did when this was a hostel but she's remodeled everything. Several guides don't have updated info on this hotel and I'm not telling. Any photo before 2011 is outdated. The rooms are beautiful; comfortable and the location is the best -- by far. Don't miss the Greek yogurt witb thyme honey for breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taste_f0r_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I arrived mid morning and was able to check into room immediately. Room was recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable. Had a lovely sea view and balcony. Sonia and her sons were very helpful and friendly. They took me to the beach where I could relax on a lounger in the sun and also showed me where to eat authentic Greek food. Delicious! Soina makes the best feta omelet ever! I was able to stay in the room until my ferry the next evening. Even though it was off peak I think they are genuinely nice people and I would stay there again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiscanfly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It is a very decent small hotel right in the center of Kos City.

The owner of the hotel (Sonia) and her son were very friendly and helpful in all cases. Sonia gave me great advice for sight-seeing and dining.

They also provided me with extra blanket, since the nights were chilly because of the season. They treat you like a friend rather than a customer.

The hotel had been renovated very recently so the rooms were very clean, chic and fitting. It had a lovely small balcony and the view of the sea. The rooms included flat screen tv, fridge, air conditioner and hair drier.

There was free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel.

The only downside was the breakfast being very limited but it was not a major set back at all.

I would definitely love to stay in this hotel again...

Tan from Turkey

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We arrived very late after a boat trip and went immediate to Hotel Sonia. We got a nice room with our own bathroom, tv, airco, fridge and balcony. The room was very clean. We stayed for 3 nights and slept very well. Sonia helped us with addresses for restaurants, bike and car rental. The breakfast is limited, but you can get as much bread and jam as you want. Great location to discover the town. We would definitely go back to Hotel Sonia if we would visit Kos town again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with your own bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel Sonia is the perfect place to stay for those who are looking for a small and cosy owner-managed hotel that has a warm family atmosphere. The hotel is ideally located being just a stone’s throw from the harbor on a quiet side street and is a short walk from a good selection of restaurants, the historic Old Town, shops and the bus station.

We were first introduced to Sonia and her family in 2007 by Swedish friends who have been staying at the hotel for numerous years and, now due to the warm hospitality and friendly atmosphere, Hotel Sonia has become our home-from- home when in Kos. This summer is the third time we have stayed at the Hotel Sonia; each time staying a minimum of 4 weeks!

All the upper floor rooms, and Room 8 on the ground floor, were upgraded earlier this year and now have private and modern ensuite bathrooms featuring a large closed-in shower cubicle - so no wet floors! Hot water is in plentiful supply both day and night. The rooms have been refurnished to offer comfort and functionality and include a flat screen TV, A/C (which is included in the room rate), a fridge, and a fan. Free WiFi is available for all guests. The good quality double-glazed windows ensure a good night’s sleep (if you are a light sleeper that is) as do the firm mattresses and comfortable beds. The upper floor front rooms have an amazing view of the harbor and the Castle, especially those nearer to the front have a full-on view. The first floor terrace is flanked by hibiscus, fragrant jasmine and basil and leafy foliage is where breakfast is served every morning and where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink anytime of the day and evening, play cards or backgammon, while away the time chatting to Sonia and her sons and exchange holiday experiences with other guests from many corners of the world. The breakfast menu and bar price list is available in the guest rooms. Plans are in the pipeline to renovate the remaining ground floor rooms over the coming winter months to the same superior standard and also to change the layout of some of the communal areas and utilize the lovely courtyard garden area to give extra comfort and improve guest facilities.

Sonia, Giannis and Afedoulis all have hearts of gold! Everything they can do to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible is willing done with big smiles.
Sonia is a wealth of information about the island, restaurants, car and scooter hire, ferry schedules and tickets, onward hotel reservations, excursions, bus times and much more. Her orientation presentation of Kos is concise and very useful, especially for the first-time visitor.

If you are looking for a resort style holiday complex, then this is not the place for you! However, if you are an individual traveler who would like to stay in a safe, clean, centrally-located small cosy environment where you are treated like a family friend then Hotel Sonia is definitely the place for you. Hotel Sonia, due to its close proximity to the port, is ideal for holiday-makers who are island hopping, those who need a transit hotel before/returning from sailing/island hopping, and also short and medium term guests who enjoy to stay in a friendly Greek-family atmosphere and where you can meet similar-minded guests. Arrive as a guest, leave (and return) as a friend is what awaits you at Hotel Sonia.

Enjoy your stay! I know you will.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.3 km away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#61 of 219 in Kos
577 reviews
2.2 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.0 km away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kos Town
272 reviews
0.6 km away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#33 of 48 in Kos Town
164 reviews
1.2 km away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $36 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sonia 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece - Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing