We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful - but prepare for uphill return

As described in other reviews, this requires a bit of a hike - through beautiful scenery & past... read more

Reviewed May 25, 2018
INTXdave
,
Dallas, Texas
Beautiful waterfall

I got to the waterfall on a four-wheeler, if you're a thrill seeker I recommend doing this. It's a... read more

Reviewed February 7, 2018
Jenifer P
Read all 101 reviews
  
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
50
28
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
28
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful waterfall horseback riding falls horses route hike truck pesos
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful waterfall. It is a long walk to waterfall if traveling with small children highly recommend the atv tours since they take you to a point and all you have to do is walk down to the waterfalls. Beautiful place.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Discover670869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

I got to the waterfall on a four-wheeler, if you're a thrill seeker I recommend doing this. It's a bit of a hike once you get near the falls but it's quite beautiful.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jenifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

It's actually easy to find the falls if you've been there but I couldn't find any good directions. I hope this helps. From the plaza, head Northwest toward Manual Cardenas Mata street. Turn left. It's a one way going SW. Take it to Vallarta street, where it dead ends. Go right. Take the 2nd sharp left. I can't find the name of this short street. It ends at Jacinto Chavarria street where you go right. Eventually this becomes Av. Eduarado Mantano Sahagon. Follow this until you come to a building that is the entrance to the Los Cazos housing development. The guard will charge you $25 pesos and give you a ticket. The road to the left seems to be for horses. The road to the right goes through the development of Los Cazos, which is a wonderful area of winding cobblestone roads dotted with beautiful and fanciful homes in the pine trees. Because it wasn't crowded when we did the trip, the guard let us drive our truck in. We left another car parked near the gate. Many people walked the route, but if you do, wear sturdy shoes. This part is about 2 kilometers, but we enjoyed it as much as the falls.
At the end, you park and walk down some steep stone steps to the bottom of the falls.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank brichied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

Our group decide to do the Cascada el Salto trip not asking or reading how the road was. BIG MISTAKE, We have 3 under 5 children and we couldn't continue the horse back riding for the 1 1/2 hour to the location. Glad we didn't we were told the road further down was very narrow and hard. We were very lucky that the office w booked the trip in town hired a sweet and very helpful guide , He sent a truck for us to be picked up to the location were we had stopped. The recruiter who booked us in town didn't not warn us about the dangers and that this was not for younger kids.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank luv2travelx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

We hired Juan Pablo to take us from Ajijic to Mazamitla. He arranged 4 wheelers for us to the falls. School wasn't out yet, so it wasn't crowded. Since the rainy season is just getting started, the falls were nice. It not flowing at their full potential. I suggest taking the ATV's, because it looks like a LONG walk. There is a horseback riding option, but an hour and a half on a horse might be a bit much. Take snacks and drinks. There are bathrooms at the falls.

Date of experience: June 2017
5  Thank longhorn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews