We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Option”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Inn and Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountain View
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely place to rest after our hiking, sightseeing and golf at Waterton Lakes National Park. Three nights followed by three amazing gourmet breakfasts with oodles pf options and fresh fruit to enjoy. A short relaxing drive to and from the park.
Extremely friendly and helpful family operation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sits39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Arrived to an empty building. By chance a cleaning lady gave us the code for the main entrance and keys to our room. Returned from dinner to find that the key did not work to the deadbolt on our room. Neither of the phones provided to contact the proprietors worked. A note was slipped under our door advising us that if we wanted breakfast we could make our way down the highway to another "Inn". At no time did we ever meet the innkeepers! A far cry from the usual B&B which is the category they list themselves under.

Room Tip: Head down the road to Rocky Ridge Inn
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Last October we made a booking for 1 night during early July 2016, but despite all the confirmatory paperwork, just days before we flew out we received an email advising us she had double booked and we were now transferred to a motel locally. Some lively exchanges took place and we drew the obvious impression that this was not a mistake as claimed, but our one night booking was in the way of something better and we had been dumped. At the time it was inconvenient, however we made new and totally acceptable arrangements elsewhere. Just be aware you could be next.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank _0004jab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Stayed there for three days and really enjoyed my time in the cabin. The cabin is great for those who are travelling with family and friends. Lots of room for people to sleep (at least 12 comfy beds). Rooms were clean and staff were very friendly.
The cabin has a private entrance, a kitchen (has a microwave, oven, empty fridge, and kitchen utensils), two bathrooms and showers (although the one in the basement shouldn't be used really as it had a crack in the corner and water was leaking out. You will also get a washer and dryer!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pouria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Stayed one night with 3 other friends. Very reasonably priced and friendly accommodating staff. The view from the B&B is wonderful and if we had stayed longer we could have used the deck and surrounding amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank darcygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

My husband, 2 college-aged sons, and myself stayed in the Heritage Room for 3 nights (August 4-6). We enjoyed our time here. The room was over the garage and large (3 queen beds, 1 twin, a couple of chairs, dressers, night stands, tv, and more); we had plenty of room. Our bathroom was downstairs, but still in our private hallway. We had a private entrance from the outside of the house, as well as inside.The great-room, kitchen, and upstairs "hall way" areas are shared by all guests; we always had plenty of space. Check-in was easy (a phone is located in the small cabinet by the front door); simply call the phone number shown and Dennis will tell you the code to open the front door, as well as where your room key is and how to locate your room. He and his wife (Cathy) stopped by to ensure everyone got in OK, and to begin preparations for our morning breakfast. Cathy is a great cook! All of our breakfasts were delicious; we would have been happy with left-overs, but she cooked "fresh" every morning! The wifi connection was great, as well as the selection of programs to watch on tv. It was great to have full access to the kitchen; we cooked our nightly meals there and had plenty of pots, pans, dishes, etc for our use. We did a little site-seeing from here, but mostly used this location as a time to relax and prepare for our next adventures as we moved on.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fab04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful B&B on June 5th & 6th of this year while touring southern Alberta with our friends from Ontario. The primary building is huge & can provide accommodation for up to 30 people. We chose a room with two Queen size beds & ensuite bathroom, the room was very clean, the decor was pleasing and the beds were very comfortable. The price included a full breakfast that was outstanding in quality and quantity. The location was a short drive to Waterton Lakes National Park & AB Highway 2 (Queen Elizabeth II). Dennis & Cathy are very gracious hosts and we enjoyed our conversations with you both. We have found the perfect retreat for our next trip to southern Alberta.
Bruce & Mary B

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
25.2 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
364 reviews
25.2 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
517 reviews
25.9 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
25.0 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
482 reviews
25.2 km away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn and Retreat

Address: Hwy 5, Mountain View, Alberta T0K 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Mountain View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountain View
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mountain View Inn And Retreat Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing