We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Well when a friend says lets try this and you have a great fear of water you are kind of hesitant, but I am so glad that we went and I had the time of my life. The guides are amazing they try to accommodate in any way possible. The camping selection is massive and lots of different styles of camping to choose from, will fit you in just about anywhere. The food is outstanding and lots of it, never go hungry when you get a package that includes the meals. The views from the river and the campsite are outstanding, everywhere you look there is something different to see. there is definitely not a shortage of anything to do around the resort. I would highly recommend this to as many people as i know. The best tip I can give everyone is book a trip and go see them they are a wonderful bunch of people and they know how to have fun. Want to go again very soon.

Room Tip: If you don't mind trains the best view are facing the rock face
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbear303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    67
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
73
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stopped here for one night after a long drive from Barkerville and were pleased with the campsite. There was plenty of room and we even got to choose a different spot based on our preference. There are others who pay $200 for one night in a canvas tent but we just paid $40 for three people and had access to all the amenities (hot tub, pool, bathroom, shower, restaurant, games room. Everything was clean and organized. There were a lot of outdoor activities that you could 'borrow' equipment from the front desk like frisbee golf, basketball, large outdoor chess set..... Most of the people who arrive are here for the day trips so come and go quickly ...there doesn't ever seem to be a big crowd around. We had a site that overlooked the two train tracks and river. There is noise from the trains at night but we didn't have any trouble sleeping. The restaurant is nice but the food is not extraordinary for the price you pay but is is nice to treat yourself to a sit down meal. On weekends, they sometimes have entertainment. Overall, a good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutandAbout517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Over our many years of travelling through the Fraser Canyon we've often caught sight of the Kumsheen rafters careening down the Thompson and Fraser Rivers, so white water rafting was definately one of our top 'bucket list' wishes when we retired. What a breathtaking adventure we experienced at Kumsheen. Can't wait to do it again.

Darlene Dorsey
Quesnel

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A slick, well run operation that provides guests with a challenging and fun river rafting experience down the Thompson River. The resort grounds are very well kept and the restaurant provides good meals as a result of their in-house French chef. Lots of facilities for the kiddies and this resort tends to be more family oriented than some of their competitors. Great staff who both know their stuff and are very attentive.

The only drawback if staying in cliffside accommodations are the trains that run both sides of the river and which also run all night long on the hour (it seemed.) Despite the provided earplugs, this still makes sleeping a challenge (for light sleepers.)

Overall, this is great place to take the family. If the train noise is a concern, consider staying down the highway at one of the provincial parks on the opposite side of the road. Do take advantage of Kumsheen's restaurant, live music, clubhouse, grounds though. You won't regret it.

Cory Kinney

Room Tip: Don't go cliffside on the teepees if you are a light sleeper. The trains will keep you awake al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agassiz
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was a first time adventure for the whole family and some of us were a little apprehensive. However, by the time we got our pfd's on and had our safety message they were feeling a little better. But the big change came after we went through the first rapids and LOVED IT. The rest of the trip just got better and better. Our guide, Andrew, is a teller of tall tales extraordinaire! His knowledge of the area is very good and it took a while to notice when he would switch to fantasy with a perfectly straight face. Our lunch was very good and they went out of their way to accommodate those with special dietary needs. All in all it was a fabulous day and a trip I definitely want to make again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My family and I had an absolutely amazing day power-rafting at Kumsheen! The trip and the lunch were wonderful! To make a wonderful trip even better, our guide Andy was the funnest by far! We were the wettest boat at the end, which only proved the fun we had. I would love to go again and will for sure be suggesting Kumsheen rafting to anyone looking for a good time!
Danielle Dziuba

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderhoof
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just came off another outstanding four day raft trip down the Thompson with some old friends. The river was higher than normal this year but the scenery was still world class. Speaking of world class the new chef at the Cutting Board Restaurant deserves high praise indeed. His three course meal was over the top for price ($30) AND quality. Probabably the best Ceasar salad north of Vancouver, a PERFECTLY cooked steak and a dessert menu to die for. Once the news of this restaurant gets out it will be filled with travellers driving south as well as gourmands driving up from the Lower Mainland. Superb hire Braden! What a great way to add value to the Kumsheen experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laslomas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytton
4.7 km away
Totem Motel
Totem Motel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
49 reviews
30.3 km away
REO Rafting Resort
REO Rafting Resort
#1 of 1 in North Bend
204 reviews
39.1 km away
Canyon Alpine Motel
Canyon Alpine Motel
#1 of 1 in North Bend
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
The Inn at Spences Bridge
The Inn at Spences Bridge
#1 of 2 in Spences Bridge
41 reviews
22.7 km away
Baits Motel
Baits Motel
#2 of 2 in Spences Bridge
6 reviews
4.7 km away
Rest Inn Lytton
Rest Inn Lytton
#2 of 2 in Lytton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumsheen Rafting Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumsheen Rafting Resort

Property: Kumsheen Rafting Resort
Address: 1345 Hwy 1, Lytton, British Columbia VOK 1Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Lytton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lytton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumsheen Rafting Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is perched above the Thompson River, across from spectacular White Canyon, near Lytton, BC. We offer unique accommodation options, a full-service restaurant, a beautiful pool and spa (complete with poolside beverage bar), in one of the most amazing areas of BC. We do rafting, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kumsheen Rafting Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing