We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a warm friendly welcome and great family atmosphere - this is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Australian Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gumly Gumly
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a warm friendly welcome and great family atmosphere - this is it!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband, myself and two boys (aged 9&12) stayed here on apr 6&7th 2012. We felt relaxed and at ease immediately. The owners are friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and their 9 yo daughter, welcomed our children and helped them burn some energy after our 16 hour drive from QLD.
The pool and jacuzzi were out of action on this weekend but when we asked management they informed us it was going through some overdue repairs and as the weather had started to cool, now was the time to get it fixed (so we'll enjoy that on our next visit).
The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy...we had only intended to stay one night but felt so relaxed and at ease that we stayed two!
We will be back to stay again soon, it is not often you can feel comfortable and relaxed away from home, like we did here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeeU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
28
24
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

After a big day traveling with a three year old that had been awake since 4.30am we were looking forward to a early nights sleep. At about 7pm we turned the lights out and tried to go to sleep, the owners kids however were taking joy rides on the 4 wheel motor bike up and down the front of our room (and it was dark). After half hour of this I went out and stopped the bike to find three young teenagers on it, (obviously dangerous and overloaded and not one of the kids had a helmet on). On a good note once I requested that they cease their activities, they did. That's when the neighbors dog started barking and kept barking until about 3am when it decided to have a rest.

The room was okay but the fly screens had holes in them so couldn't open up the windows and let any fresh air in. We were also looking forward to having a dip In the jacuzzi, however the pool was green and the jacuzzi was being used as a storage for old brooms etc.

In general the whole place looked like no one cared. It was cheap and it did offer cereal and toast for breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Snickers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumly Gumly hotels

Bonogin, QLD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Goodness, whatever you do, don't look at previous reviews. I spoke with owners it was about previous management:


Wow, there's so much to say about the Australian Homestead Motor Lodge and the proprietors and staff in general, but to sum it up - perfection they sure know how to treat a guest - it felt like a home away from home with good old fashioned hospitality!!!
The place is set outside of town, but not too far, enough to know you're in a gorgeous spot. The pool gives you respite in the heat, and from the kids :). The spa...ah, the spa, just wonderful for those tired travelling bones.
Although a slightly older style of accommodation, I'd prefer it over the ritz anyday - simply because the owners and family members are there running it and ensuring that you have the perfect stay. They even organised to pick us up from the airport free of charge!
It's everything you could want in holiday or business accommodation. It's very affordable, free continental breakfast. I got the 2 room apartment so my husband and I could have some privacy, our parents stayed in an adjoining room - just a great family fun packed weekend.
Karen, Will, Danni, Daniel were extremely polite, very clean, very accommodating and just genuine sweethearts. They know the area well and were able to point out some beautiful local spots for the children and some luscious scenery for a romantic get away. The meals at the restaurant were second to none.
Thanks guys, we will definitely be back, and this time without the kids :)

Room Tip: We used both the two room apartment and our elderly parents were comfortable in the 'standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

When I booked online, I expected that I would have to compromise on quality since it had the cheapest price I could find. However I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were very well kept and that a continental breakfast was included. The owners were delightful especially the lady who helped me hook up to the wifi. The only slight drawbacks as far as I was concerned were the location (about 5 mins out from the city center) and that there were quite a few bugs in the area and unfortunately some of them made it inside. Despite this, I would definitely stay again and recommend it to any of my friends and family.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of the BBQ area if you're travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We've travelled Australia extensively and that means we have a pretty good idea of what we're looking for in a motel. After some horror experiences with poor service, noisy guests and indifferent management, the Australian Homestead Motel came as a breath of fresh air.
Friendly, considerate owners, peaceful expansive grounds and clean rooms with caring cleaning staff combined to make our stay a relaxing break.
We'll most certainly be back for another stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cootamundra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Hey!!! I would like to let everyone know that the AUSTRALIAN HOMESTEAD is under new managment by KAREN & WILL FOSTER. They are a local family from wagga and strive to make each and everyones stay a brilliant stay. service very friendly & easy going. will go to great lenghts to make everything smooth.

EXELLENT!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in family room very qiet and lovely but not sure about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Lots of traffic noise and also from the people in the next room deciding to party at 2am. situated long the sturt highway. Nothing terrible but nothing special either

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumly Gumly
3.5 km away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#2 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.9 km away
Mercure Wagga Wagga
Mercure Wagga Wagga
#4 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Carriage House
Quality Inn Carriage House
#11 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Garden City Motor Inn
Garden City Motor Inn
#19 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.8 km away
Allonville Motel
Allonville Motel
#29 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.3 km away
The Club Motel and Apartments
The Club Motel and Apartments
#16 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australian Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australian Homestead

Property: Australian Homestead
Address: Sturt Highway, Gumly Gumly, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga > Gumly Gumly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gumly Gumly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Australian Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Australian Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing