We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous experience”

Review of Halsabol 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Grundarfjorour, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MichaelAu...
Augsburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gorgeous experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here only one night but would recommend to stay longer (3 nights or so). Great location, hot pot, BBQ grill, terrace and a gorgeous view to the sea and the countryside. We were absolutely impressed by the site.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind words Michael. Good that you enjoyed :)
Have a nice day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourWorld...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Hidden Secret Cottage”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

This is the most ideal place to stay for photographers. I picked this because of its prime location directly on the base of the famous Mt Kirkjufell.

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the cottage and its cooking facilities. The price was very reasonable compared to the many others in other areas (mainly south outside of this West area). There are 2 bedrooms and we occupied both. We used the stove for cooking and the oven as well. The kettle helps with boiling water faster than the stove. The living room was ideal for us all to enjoy and there were even some DVDs for us to watch.

The scenery was lovely and most importantly, you can climb out before sunrise and take a 10min walk opposite to get to the famous photo spot for all photographers. This is the most ideal for a photographer aiming for good sunrise / aurora shots of Kirkjufell. I will not hesitate to return however this cabin is large for 4 at least so if it’s just a couple, you might not find it as good value because you pay more for 2 persons only. Great place to stay with free parking just outside your cabin.

We had no problem with shower and it was all good. The shower in Iceland is quite modern with temperature control selection dial right down to the degree of hotness you like. We stocked up on groceries but you can take a short drive to the nearest town to get some extras. Food is expensive in Iceland so watch out for meat like chicken wings on offer in the supermarket. We got lucky and bought some chicken wings and cooked a nice meal there.

Heater works very well throughout the house. Just be mindful about cooking inside if it is grilling as it may trigger the smoke alarm. Just open the windows when you cook.

There is a hot tub outside which you can enjoy in the coolness of the air. We had some trouble locking the door initially but the men in our group figured it out and managed to lock the doors when we went out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbestpal...
Algonquin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend - Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here with 4 people a few days ago. We loved it! The location is absolutely wonderful, right on the mountain side in a picturesque location! The space felt cozy and inviting. It was very clean and could easily and comfortably fit 6 people. There is also a hot tub right outside the side and spent a few hours in it! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHS10
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with 5 family members on a holiday in Iceland. The lodge is comfortable, but basic- 2 bunk beds, doubles with singles above. It offers spectacular views of Mount kirkjufell and the surrounding area.
We had two fantastic nights, sitting under the stars in the hot tub and had an incredible view of the Northern Lights.
The place itself is very remote- we found a lovely eatery near the sea, but is mainly for those who want to experience a relaxing retreat.
I would definitely recommend this place for those visiting Western Iceland… hopefully to enjoy a once in lifetime experience, of the Aurora dancing across the night sky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views
Liked least: The sleeping arrangements
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker_7D
Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing