We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
233
411
242
129
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
411
242
129
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar fort royal pizza dinner buffet tennis courts beach front paninis main building basse terre rented a car water sports beautiful beach sea view bungalow english speaking staff local staff big hotel brie
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Just creepy. the interior hasn't been attended to for some time. Run-down furniture, No more working fan. Unadjusted comments by staff as inadequacies were being reported. Location itself is beautiful.
Only approx 50 min car drive from airport. But nevertheless I wont return there. Note that restaurant service is done by students and not by well trained staff. Pricing for meals over the average.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank yellowman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Director of Sales at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Yellowman,

Thank you for your feedback, We are happy that you appreciate our unique location on the caribeean sea. We would like to appologize as our furnitures are beeing replaced. Order have been placed and arriving very soon, but most of our rooms are in good state. Same for the Beach Bar and pool all fournitures are now brand new. Regarding our roof fans, they are in the bungalow for decoration purposes and air conditionning is provided in all rooms and bungalows.
Please note our staff is part local and part international, and at Langley we value training and learning from experience. Therefore we do have young staff and also experienced staff both friendly and trying to serve you the best they can, We will continue our efforts in the coming few months so our staff can give you the best service and experience onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We came here for a quick overnight with convenient shuttle and rental car pick up the first night of our trip. Those aspects worked perfectly and we would highly recommend for that purpose - our shuttle driver was waiting for us right as we exited customs and we were able to head immediately to the hotel, and got checked in quickly.

From there on the experience was mostly lacking, though the hotel staff were very kind and efficient.

We arrived at 9:30pm and were lead to believe there would be food available until 10:00, but as they were under-attended for the day they had shut down the kitchen at 9:00 and couldn't even offer pizza. We had popsicles for dinner and leftover airport snacks.

The hotel is large and feels somewhat abandoned/deserted. There is an energy conserving feature with the lights in the interior hallways where they are motion-triggered. They turn off very quickly, and have a lag to turn back on and there are no windows so it can be pitch black for several feet each time you move from one lighted zone to another. And it is just creepy.

The interior hasn't been attended to for some time - empty planters, run-down seating areas - stairways that lead to rotting exterior concrete "roof decks". The room was sparse and crowded, though we appreciated that it had a full-sized bed and two twins set up for our party.

The beach was WAY to choppy the days we were there to even dream of swimming - it was uncharacteristically breezy for the island on that day. There also just isn't much of a "beach" at all.

The pros:

- The view from our room was amazing, of a deserted beach with crashing waves.
- The included breakfast buffet was pretty extensive with lots of interesting choices.
- We were able to get our rental car and zip over to Petite Anse for some good beach time and return to pack up all before check-out in the morning.
- As mentioned above the staff were pleasant and efficient. The welcome drink was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank memcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, General Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. Here at the hotel, we aim to do our best for every guest. Please take note that we have taken your points for improvement and also that we have started to improve the service, facilities and interior, by e.g. renewing seating areas and decks. During the course of the coming months, the interior of the rooms and bungalows will be also renewed. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Langley which we first saw on a popular British tv mystery series. What a great choice! The hotel sits on a spit of land jutting into the ocean which guarantees great views from all of the rooms. The right side rooms face a beach which is restricted as a turtle sanctuary and the left side faces the hotel beach. The hotel front side staff is by and large European with perfect English skills. The buffet style restaurant is very clean and features a large selection of entrees, salad items and French inspired baked goods. Seems a little pricy for dinner but comparable to what we paid for dinners off resort. A local band plays several evenings per week at the beach bar. The beach was clean and well maintained. No jelly fish or spiny sea urchins as far as we could tell. The surf can be a little rough. A big pool right at the beach was clean and many chairs were available. The hotel parking lot is a couple hundred yards from the front desk and the hotel building, if you have a lot of luggage, ask the front gate guard to let you drive into the main hotel area. There is limited handicapped parking available right in front of the hotel building.

Nearby horse back riding was a highlight, including some time at the beach with the horses, who loved to roll around in the sand! A number of local outfitters offer scuba and snorkel trips, we loved swimming above the sea turtles. You may need a car to get to the boats, not sure any picked up at the resort.

Deshaies is a ten minute drive with lots of restaurant choices. Shops are open on an irregular schedule. Deschaies has the closest supermarket to the hotel.

We hiked up the Soufriere volcano. It’s about a two hour drive to get there, go early before the parking fills and the rain starts. No need for a guide, just follow the well marked trail. The top of the volcano is high enough that you may feel lightheaded from the altitude change, bring plenty of water and snacks, there are no services on the trail.

We rented a car at the airport which was a good choice, local roads were well maintained and marked. There seemed to be a small car rental agency office right outside the hotel grounds. Local taxis take cash only, I think, be prepared. No ATM at the hotel to my memory. We used Waze to get around, it was faultless. On the way back to the airport for an early morning Norwegian flight we encountered really heavy unexpected traffic, allow plenty of time for this leg of your journey. Norwegian flies from the regional terminal, follow the painted foot steps on the sidewalk.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Director of Sales at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review that sure will help others to choose their stay in Guadeloupe. We sit in one of the most natural and wild part of Guadeloupe, with beautiful landscapes and very nice surrounding areas. Deshaies is a jewell in the Caribbean, quiet and charming with plenty of activities arround: hiking, scuba diving, horse ridding, whale watching, kayaking, jet ski....just ask our Activity desk. We are delighted that you enjoyed the fabulous music and friendly atmosphere of our resort, For your information there is also a car rental company directly in the hotel, opened in the morning next to the reception area. We wish to see you soon once Norwegian flights are back. Delta is also operating in code chare with Air France.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Over the no, nil , nothing , zip Response from any management ! My friend and I stayed here and got eaten alive by bed bugs! My friend and I had over 100 bites!They acted like they didn’t know what it was and put us right back in same room to get bitten again ! Both badly bitten, they suggested we had the same food allergy ! Really two people with sand alkergy? We emailed them a couple times with totally no response !! I would not recommend this resort ! Plenty of other places to go !!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank 1971hippiebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

...unless you like chicken on your breakfast table having a go at your food... food is terrible, courtesy an unknown concept. The place is generally shabby, only acceptable aspect is the beach.
Oh, forgot about cups not having been washed for ages...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ada15764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews